We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel has the best location, near down Halifax. Beautiful enviroment with Lake Chocolate right at your step. Good for family vacation and worth the money.Easy access to all the landmarks in Halifax such as Citadel, Museum of Maritime etc. Rooms are clean and quiet. Parking is convenient, Close to major highways. Breakfast menu is good. Best of all, there is a convenient store just next door for your urgent needs. Stafff are friendly and floors are upkeep.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Chocolate Lake have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipc713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello philipc713 and thanks for the great review. At Chocolate Lake we strive to deliver great value, and we love to hear that we're succeeding! Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    479
    119
    40
    26
See reviews for
442
460
45
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Lovely room overlooking the lake but just above the central air conditioning for the hotel and very noisy. I would stay here again but choose a room away from the very loud huge air conditioning system outside. Breakfast choices were excellent and overall a very nice place to stay. Just choose a room away from those huge systems.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Therese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello Therese R and my apologies for the AC units. On your next visit, we'll get you a room near the top floors where the view is spectacular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Reasonably priced, great location and friendly staff. Breakfast was plentiful, warm and attentively monitored. Check in was easy and staff were helpful with directions. We loved that it's location made it easy to cruise down the south shore and up the eastern shore. Traffic was minimal, compared to similar locations in other cities. It was in a neighborhood, not what I had expected, but relaxed the city atmosphere. Beaches close by.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandJNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Good Day BandJNh, and thanks for the great feedback. We have to admit that our location can't be beat. Peaceful lakeside setting, yet close to everything. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The location on Chocolate lake was a surprise to us. Finding a full-service hotel in a park-like location was a big bonus. The included full breakfast was fully satisfying. Free parking is another plus rarely found today.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello Robert A and thanks for pointing out our awesome features! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Came in late, reception was friendly and considerate, and got us checked in a to the room in no time. We had a beautiful view, they were very pet friendly, room was really clean, and the bed was sooo comfy. Awesome.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you Linda C for your wonderful feedback. I also think our beds are really comfy, so much so, that I bought one for myself at home! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Excellent choice for a budget stay in Halifax. Mins of driving/taxi (up to $15) to downtown. Clean, comfortable. Very friendly staff. For dog lovers Coco is a very unusual and very nice "feature" of the hotel. Nearby lake makes the stay very pleasant: all our meals in the hotel restaurant we got on the terrace overseeing the lake. Restaurant menu is very reasonably priced and very well prepared. We stayed with 2 of our kids (12 and 18 years old). All of us loved the stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Igor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello IgorV and thanks for the great review. Eating out on the deck overlooking Chocolate Lake seems to be the most popular spot in the hotel these days! Come back soon:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great hotel with a great view the wife and I were in Nova Scotia for a wedding and this was our first and last stop the only complaint was the satellite service was cutting out for a second continuously

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello James H and we're so glad that you and your bride enjoyed your time with us.
Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Comfort Inn Halifax
#21 of 28 in Halifax
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Address: 20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing