We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and Predictable Best Western Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgay, Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basic and Predictable Best Western Hotel”
Reviewed 22 July 2010

What sets apart this Best Western from the rest is it's nice location. Best Western Chocolate Lake, as the name implies, backs onto Chocolate Lake. Be sure to ask for a lake view when you're booking - it's worth it!
The room itself was great - simply decorated and clean, as by Best Western Standards. Our sleep was slightly sploiled, however, by the loud airconditioner positioned a few floors down from our room.
The internet was fast, and of course free, and not password protected so essentially very easy to acess.
I would recommend this to people who are used to Best Western Standards and don't mind the predictable.
Don't forget to say hello to the most popular staff member - Cocoa the dog!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanie217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    455
    115
    37
    26
See reviews for
414
437
44
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, VA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Rooms are spotless, fully rennovated, and comfortable. Free wifi, in room coffee and view of the lake are a definite plus. Bathrooms are somewhat tight and would be difficult to maneuver in for someone slightly handicapped. Staff is great and most accomodating. When given a choice, we tend to prefer this hotel chain, and this one is by far the best of the lot. I would also rank it in the top ten hotels I've ever stayed in (which is a lot). Don't plan to eat here. Meals are mediocre and staffing seems light for the pressure mid-week. Breakfast was ok, we opted out for dinner. Besides, there are a ton of really good restaurants in Halifax.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowAvoiderSalem_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Stayed 4 days and 3 nights. Very nice. Chocolate Lake behind the hotel, great view. Dining room on site. Staff very helpful with information about Halifax and how to get around. Coco the lab dog lives in the hotel and swims in the lake. Very clean room, etc. Enjoyed the pool. Bus stop right outside the hotel. Quiet residenual neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I stayed for 2 nights in a King room with a waterview on the top floor. The room was small-ish but very clean and comfortable. It was stylishly decorated and had definitely been recently updated. The bathroom was also very nice and clean.

My only complaint would be that service at breakfast was slower than I would expect - they seemed to be understaffed. The food however was very good. The restaurant has a lovely patio overlooking the lake and it was a great way to start the day.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EllaCat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Wonderful on all counts - overlooking Chocolate Lake. Friendly, helpful staff; newly appointed rooms w/ great beds and view. Complete w/ resident chocolate lab (dog)! Dog friendly. May be a little "out" of Halifax downtown but that is another reason why we actually liked it.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalGal52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

This hotel has been renovated and is like new. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Although there is no beach the lawn goes right to the water's edge. My wife and I went for a swim in the afternoon and again the next morning. We had breakfast on the patio adjoining the dining room. It is a short drive from the hotel to all of the downtown areas. Although the Armdale rotary is a little nerve racking for the unprepared. We were prechecked into a room on the street side of the hotel. We asked if we could be switched to a room with a view of the lake. That was no problem at all but there was an aditional fee of $10.00. So I guess it's important to get these things straightened out when you register. When we got to our room on the 9th floor the view was worth the extra charge. Not only did we have a view of the lake, which is pretty small, we could also see the North West Arm, the yacht club and the Dingle. We will stay at this hotel again I'm sure.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zola9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2010

When we arrived on the East Coast, we spent the first night at Econo Lodge (which was the worst of the bunch) in PEI, followed by the Delta in Halifax (second worst) and spent the remainder of the trip at the Best Western on Chocolate Lake (which was the best).

Nights spent: 5 consecutive.

Pros:
- Free internet for wired or wireless clients (the auth page is Win and Mac compatible)
- Great view of Chocolate Lake
- Handy Restaurant with decent prices (and pancakes)
- Good staff (when we asked for more coffee they gave us a bunch)
- Cute chocolate coloured lab at the doorway
- Rooms were in great repair

Cons:
- Hard to find any...
- Girls (18-20) at the front desk were usually in a group of three and fairly snobby to deal with for the most part.
- You know that little hole in the sink to prevent overflows? That looked gross. But thats not easy to clean either
- The 'privacy' notification for the door swings to 'needs servicing' when you close the door (because the handles are a circular bar)

Recommendation:
Stay here. Really. We tried a lot of places, this was the best for us. It was quiet and beautiful. The cons were mild and the stay was great.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_Summers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Address: 20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing