We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irresistable Chocolate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Qualicum Beach, Canada
2 reviews
“Irresistable Chocolate”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

This hotel is perched beside a lovely small lake, opposite a sand swimming beach, centrally located in Halifax, minutes from downtown and about a half-hour from Stanfield Airport. I checked in late in the evening and was greeted by cheerful, friendly and efficient desk staff and the hotel's chocolate Lab, Cocoa. The chocolate theme continues on the staff name tags, with the name of their favourite chocolate bar printed below their names! The room was spotless, modern, quiet and comfortable, and provided a view of the lake; I had a great sleep! Although I did not have a meal there, the restaurant serves breakfast from 0630, and is open until late in the evening. The next day the desk staff were helpful in providing driving directions, and the check-out process was just as efficient as the check-in. The overall experience at Chocolate Lake was excellent and the staff members I met all had customer service as their priority. I would absolutely recommend this hotel for visitors to Halifax.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyj44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    469
    116
    38
    26
See reviews for
423
446
45
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

The hotel was not as nice as we expected, if we went back to Halifax we would stay somewhere else. Salt water pool with lots of Chlorine. For the price I would expect more.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tencom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2010

A recently remodeled Best Western Hotel on the edge of a lake. The rooms were nicely done, bathroom small but clean, efficient and attractive. The staff was friendly, dinner at the hotel was wonderful and although it's a short car ride into town , it's a great deal for the price. Coco, the resident chocolate lab, greets you in the front lobby- always a welcoming sign!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pecaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyendinaga Mohawk Territory, ON
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

My son and I stayed here for three nights in June 2010. Planning a similar trip next year and will stay here again.

Rooms were extremely clean, comfortable and nicely decorated as was the whole hotel. My son enjoyed the games room (air hockey, PS3) and pool and hot tub area. Hotel staff was friendly, welcoming and provided trip assistance. Had to use hard wire connection for internet as wireless didn't work - minor set back. Restaurant on site – a little pricey but food was good. It would have been nice if this Best Western included breakfast in room rates as do other Best Westerns.

Well worth staying here with nice view of Chocolate Lake and an extremely short drive downtown, rather than pay the prices of the harbour front hotels.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Very relaxing stay at a good rate, 8 minutes from the waterfront. Without charge, they upgraded us to a top-floor room overlooking the small lake. Very clean, quiet, and comfortable room. A sweet chocolate Lab greets visitors in the lobby in between swims in the lake.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LoveMyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgay, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

What sets apart this Best Western from the rest is it's nice location. Best Western Chocolate Lake, as the name implies, backs onto Chocolate Lake. Be sure to ask for a lake view when you're booking - it's worth it!
The room itself was great - simply decorated and clean, as by Best Western Standards. Our sleep was slightly sploiled, however, by the loud airconditioner positioned a few floors down from our room.
The internet was fast, and of course free, and not password protected so essentially very easy to acess.
I would recommend this to people who are used to Best Western Standards and don't mind the predictable.
Don't forget to say hello to the most popular staff member - Cocoa the dog!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanie217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, VA
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Rooms are spotless, fully rennovated, and comfortable. Free wifi, in room coffee and view of the lake are a definite plus. Bathrooms are somewhat tight and would be difficult to maneuver in for someone slightly handicapped. Staff is great and most accomodating. When given a choice, we tend to prefer this hotel chain, and this one is by far the best of the lot. I would also rank it in the top ten hotels I've ever stayed in (which is a lot). Don't plan to eat here. Meals are mediocre and staffing seems light for the pressure mid-week. Breakfast was ok, we opted out for dinner. Besides, there are a ton of really good restaurants in Halifax.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowAvoiderSalem_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Comfort Inn Halifax
#20 of 28 in Halifax
245 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Address: 20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing