We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fresh Local Food Excellently Prepared”

Chives Canadian Bistro
Ranked #7 of 720 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
Cross street: Blowers and Salter
Description: Casual upscale, farm to table, chef inspired dinning.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
160 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Local Food Excellently Prepared”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place has a good local reputation so we wanted to check it out. Reservations are required. The decore is eclectic and the service friendly and knowledgeable. I had mussels, which most places it the Maritimes are just steamed. These were prepared what I since learned was Basque style with onions, garlic and wine, delicious. For a main I had halibut, again delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PanamaGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    151
    57
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arkona, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Place is one of the BEST”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went here after touring the island of Cape Breton and in Halifax to fly home. Read previous reviews on trip advisor and decided to check it out. Easily one of the best dining experience my wife and I have had.
Chatted with the co-owner who served our meals. Great atmosphere, friendly staff and the food
really is exceptional. I would HIGHLY recommend this place for anyone looking to have a fabulous meal in the great city of Halifax. Safe travels, CHEERS!!
Ps the place gets busy and booked up fast so go early (or late) or make reservations

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmySarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
339 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Another great visit”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Chef Flynn continues to put out some of the best food in the city. Please go and buy his cookbook, very easy to duplicate at home. well written!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The food and service lived up to its reputation. The meal started with fresh biscuits, butter and molasses and was wonderful to the end.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwyn, PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An Excellent Choice”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I dined here in July. We were given a lovely table on the second floor. The menu is somewhat limited in choices but we found enough variety.

Local sourced food is highlighted. Our waitress was very personable and did a fine job. Cocktails were well prepared and the wine list was good.

I had the tartlet which was very good and my wife had the market salad which was just OK. For mains, my wife had the Cod and I had the special (Halibut). Both were excellent.

We passed on dessert. Chives is an excellent choice when dining in Halifax.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillyfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chives Canadian Bistro also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Chives Canadian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing