We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baan Thai”
Review of Baan Thai

Baan Thai
Ranked #177 of 733 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
Gander, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Baan Thai”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We went on the recommendation from a friend.
Waitress was great.
Food was good.
They have a number of different specials on selected nights - e.g Saturday night buffet.
Seating filled up after 630pm.
A couple of window tables overlooking Blowers as the restaurant is on the 2nd story.
Will return again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    39
    15
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Huge menu, outstanding service”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were in town on business and went for dinner with a gang of friends as we had heard the food was terrific and their rating on the Urban Spoon was very high. We weren't disappointed in the least. To begin with, the waitress was fantastic, responsive, knowledgeable, able to suggest wine pairing options at a Thai restaurant (a first for me) and she was bang on! We shared amongst the gang, samples so many different plates and every single one was delicious. A definite place to return to next time I'm in town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiscoverAndEnjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Halifax”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I love eating at Baan Thai! My wife and I went there for the first time back in 2005 when they were located on Dresden Row and it became one of our go to restaurants in Halifax. We have since moved away from the city but we eat here almost every time we make a trip to Halifax. The cashew chicken is one of my favourite dishes I have had at any restaurant anywhere. You won't be disappointed. Poor student tip: come after 9pm for lower prices :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drummondville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Went to Baan Thai for dinner on March 18 and it was one of the best Thai meals I've ever had. The cashew tofu was wonderful and the service was impeccable: lightning quick and very friendly. There was absolutely nothing to dislike, including the price. I will surely return on every trip to Halifax.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
“excellent”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We just came by by chance and really enjoyed our dinner! Great service, clean place and authentic thai food for a really good price. Can definitely recommend it!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 391lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baan Thai also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing