We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem”
Review of Cabin Coffee

Cabin Coffee
Ranked #1 of 29 Coffee & Tea in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
Toronto
Level Contributor
299 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We loved this place for breakfast. It's right across from the Four Points by Sheraton hotel. The breakfast bun (a bun with egg, cheese and bacon or ham) & coffee combo is great value (< $5) and they make some wonderful cinnamon buns. The service was excellent and it's so quaint inside -- just like a cottage. This is a keeper!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    82
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing spot!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Across from the hotel where I was staying so I decided to walk over for breakfast. Had a breakfast sandwich, scone, and a coffee. All great, especially the blueberry cranberry scone. Very comfortable and relaxing spot to sit and enjoy a coffee. Love the decor, log cabin with comfy leather furniture. Very inexpensive. So worth a stop in!

Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Simulacra”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

If you're into fake-real cabins, this is a charming coffee shop. I don't expect cabin in downtown Halifax, so I found it more amusing than calming. The coffee was really good, but the service was so-so when we went. However, if you like to avoid chains, and your hotel is nearby, try here. I preferred the Wired Monk, so if it's just as close, go there instead.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Decor puts the Cabin ahead of the others”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The decor is what makes this café stand out. Rustic, warm, cozy and obviously, very cabin-chalet-ski lodge like. The café is extremely comfortable and a great place to stop. Apart from the impressive look, baked goods were merely average, and the drink prices were on par with that of Starbucks. Getting our order of scones and bagels took a bit of time as well, but we still got smiles from our server

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R_26C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Its just ok”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The decor makes this a unique place to stop for a coffee, but I found the service slow and lacking. The prices were similar to Starbucks but the coffee and baked goods weren't as good. Personally I'd keep walking up the street and grab a Starbucks next time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LLamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cabin Coffee also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Cabin Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing