We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond”

Curry Village Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 737 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Above and beyond”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We recently had a family birthday outing at Curry Village in Halifax - our first visit! Our group was mixed - some never had curry, some like it hot, some don't but the owner of the restaurant was completely understanding and prepared amazing dishes which were perfect for everyone. The attention to our needs and humor, coupled with the cozy atmosphere of the restaurant made this a special evening that we will remember and hope soon to repeat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    51
    20
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I had; papadam, onion bhaji, chicken madras, plain naan and pilau rice.

Pap and onion bhaji were very good. Naan was ok, rice too greasy. The chicken was burn your mouth hot surrounded by some yellowish sauce.

The main came too fast, I was not finished the entree. There was barely anyone there so...

It's not the UK...

Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quebec
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible tasteless food”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Longing for curry, visiting Halifax, on the recommendation of the hotel and in spite of the warning from an unknown stranger from whom I asked directions, I ventured into the alley, through the side door and up the stairs to this Indian restaurant. The decor was tacky in a not great way and lacked the sparkling cleanliness that I associate with good curry houses. The food was bland as if the cook had not meant that the vegetables and meat were meant to be cooked in the sauces. The rice was tastless cheap white rice cooked in the Chinese style. The samosas were heavy and flavourless. Altogether this was a disappointing waste of money and time. I urge you to avoid Curry Village.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank qcquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shubenacadie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Distinctly average with questionable authenticity...”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The chicken dahnsak was the most convincing dish served during our visit to Curry Village. The pilau rice was average, as was the naan bread, but the chicken korma which I ordered for my girlfriend (her first curry) was awful. It was essentially chicken in a tomato puré with some bizarre accompanying flavours that I can't seem to describe, there wasn't even the slightest hint of the rich coconut or creaminess that most would expect from this dish. The other major complaint would be the lack of popadoms or dips which are traditionally offered upon arrival, if not served without request.
To summarise, if you're looking for somewhere to eat, with no particular kind of cuisine in mind, then I'm sure Curry Village would serve a purpose, after all, the quantity was ample. However, if you have a hankering for authentic Indian flavours, then there is a strong possibility you may be disappointed. I will continue my search for a quality Indian restaurant in the area, and report on tripadvisor if/when I find one...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dafs82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
“Great food, Great experience!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I have been here multiple times and have enjoyed the food every single time. The food tastes great, is authentic and ranges from mildly spicy to very spicy depending on your preference. I would recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NehaB20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Curry Village Restaurant also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Curry Village Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing