We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you must eat at Gio”
Review of Gio

Gio
Ranked #4 of 742 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had a wonderful time. The staff is so professional and knowledgeable about the menu and the wine. The food was so delicious and the atmosphere comfortable.

Thank denysed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Gio, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

We agree - everyone should eat at Gio! Thanks for posting such a great review - realize it was back in November that you visited and we very much hope to see you again in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Gio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 263 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

We ate there on a Sunday night when the restaurant was open for hotel guests only. The young lady that was hostess/waitress/bartender did an amazing job on what was a busy night. There was someone on stand by that would come out to assist once in a while when it was hectic to keep things smooth and trouble free. Amazing!

Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Gio, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Realize it was back in November when you last dined in Gio, but we did want to thank you so much for posting a review. Many thanks for the kind compliments on the service you received and we do hope that our restaurant will remain a favourite in Halifax!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We only had an hour to spare before a fundraiser and made a reservation at Gio. They were fantastic with their quick service and very helpful with the menu as some of us had allergies. They also brought over a Chef's selection of small treats to make the dining experience an experience.

I had the Prime Rib and it was cooked perfectly. My friend had the salmon and she said it was delish.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bluewater08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Gio, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Gio is a great spot to relax and unwind after an event (like a fundraiser!). So glad that you enjoyed the experience and very much hope that you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Me and my wife had probably the best dining experience at Gio that we ever had, It was very busy but our waitress made us feel like we were the only ones in the room, top notch service and the food was to die for.
Everything we ordered was beautifully plated and tasted like it could have came from any Michelin star restaurant! we were so impressed we will be back often!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Gio, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thanks for the great review and for mentioning the excellent service you experienced. Very pleased to hear that Gio will become one of your top choices!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The food, what we did get, was very good. However, they get confused if you order various small plates and ask for them as 1st, 2nd, 3rd servings. We did make it to the salad for my wife and I, plus a 1st plate for one brother, but my other brother & sister-in-law waited and waited ... 2 hrs (1 bottle of wine later) before our waitress realized we were annoyed. Plus nothing else came for the rest of us. We ended up canceling the rest of the meal and left. My sis-in-law was starving. Not worth going there for the price. Many other option available close by.

2  Thank Scubaskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Gio, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

We were very sorry to learn of the slow service you experienced - and thanks for bringing this to our attention. It's certainly not our usual standard and we are very concerned that you left with a less than positive impression. And certainly apologies are in order to your sister in law. Any chance you may be coming this way again Scubaskier? We'd love a second chance to make this up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gio also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Gio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing