We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good!”

McKelvie's Delishes Fishes Dishes
Ranked #10 of 742 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
Cross street: Bedford Row and Prince
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Had an excellent experience here. The atmosphere was just perfect for surf and turf. The steak was a little too spicy with the peppercorn but other than that it was good. The lobster was tender and nice as well. Would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Five_Aces_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at McKelvie's Delishes Fishes Dishes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Surf and Turf! Great choice! I'm glad you enjoyed your meal and thank you for the kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

663 - 667 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Was so hopeful of some great seafood in this maritime city and the Nova Scotia area in general, famous for it's fresh produce, so was very disappointed with the expensive dry fisherman's plate dished up here. Dry lobster (where was the thermidor sauce?) rancid tasting butter. Rubbery scallops. Sliver of salmon was passable. The dish was clearly kept in a warmer or under lights...waiter looked suitably surprised when I commented, my drink was refunded but that's it. Really hoping the rest of Nova Scotia can deliver some of the great seafood it's known for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank aussiegril1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at McKelvie's Delishes Fishes Dishes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant and apologies that you had a bad experience. None of our dishes are kept in warmers or under lights, they are cooked fresh and bought out to guests immediately. I will pass on the comments to the kitchen as something obviously wasn't right with your meal and hopefully you will give us another chance in the future as this is not what we're about!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We had a delicious dinner there - excellent calamari and bacon wrapped scallops! Very accommodating with a gluten allergy!

Thank NL_Apps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at McKelvie's Delishes Fishes Dishes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Glad you liked our gluten free options! Come back and sample some more of them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My wife and I went there for lunch. She had a 1/2 doz Oysters to start and said they were excellent, nice and plump. the raisin bread was very fresh, I had a Bowl of Chowder and it was soooo very good. I rate it the best of the 6 I've had here. She had the Thai Shrimp pasta. I had 2 Keith's IPAs and she had a Penfold Chard after her Frozen Diaquary. Our waitress, Jennifer was extremely helpful in recommending some choices for Italian. She got a map and provided 3 different choices. The bill came to $88.41 CDN before tip. We had gone in a couple of days ago just for drinks and the young lady at the bar recognized us and came over to say hello.
I'd go back again if time permits.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jerry5567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at McKelvie's Delishes Fishes Dishes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thanks for the kind review and for returning for food! Glad you enjoyed your experience and hopefully you can squeeze one more visit in before you leave us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had Dinner here this evening with a party of 6 and the service and food were good. They specialize in fresh seafood and there is also beef and lamb on the menu for those who prefer not to have seafood. They run a couple of specials nightly and the biggest problem is trying to decide what to order off the menu as everything sound so good. Everyone had seafood and between us we covered off crab, lobster, scallops, halibut, seafood chowder, Haddock and crab cakes. There was nary a complaint from the table which is quite the feat. Pleasant atmosphere with the tables spaced so that you are not crowded upon other diners. They can accommodate large groups of intimate tables for 2. A very nice place to take visitors to introduce them to the seafood of Atlantic Canada. The server was attentive without being intrusive and very knowledgeable about the dishes and the origin of the ingredients. My only slight complaint was that some of the fresh vegetables were slightly overdone but then again I like them Al-detente but others like them more well done so it may simply be a matter of personal preference.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hanthonythomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at McKelvie's Delishes Fishes Dishes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thanks for your very detailed review of our establishment. Deciding what to order is a conundrum sometimes but you can always come back and sample more of our dishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McKelvie's Delishes Fishes Dishes also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to McKelvie's Delishes Fishes Dishes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing