We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers!”

Darrell's Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 737 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South End
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great burgers!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

-Buy one burger get one free on Mondays
-Really good atmosphere
-The PB burger is different, but good!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    57
    25
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
659 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Best Burger Joint”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

There's a good reason why this place wins so many Coast Magazine Awards and has been around for decades. Although their burgers are as varied as they are delicious, feel free to try the wraps or other items on the menu. They won't disappoint. I recommend the Darrel Fries with your meal and try one of their homemade milkshakes.

Service is friendly, attentive and quick. They have an outdoor patio in the summer that is nice to sit on. Restaurant is two floors and you can enter from either floor.

Décor is run down.The place could use a freshening up. And it is a bit out of the way unless you live in the neighbourhood, But, it is a short drive from Spring Garden Road and the best bet for supper before seeing Shakespeare by the Sea.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tshep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but over-rated burgers”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Nice little place. Like the atmosphere and service, but if I can do better at something, it's not worth my time. The burgers, I found, were actually pretty mundane. Not rubbish like take out. They were good, solid burgers, but they were not full of the flavour I was expecting. I have been there several times, hoping I was missing something, but I think I will stick to my awesome burgers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PubGatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox Valley, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hen 'den' burger”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Love this place! Atmosphere is great, people are great!! Food is delicious!! I had the hen 'den' burger and it was delicious! Big burger with and egg on it! Fresh ingredients. If you love burgers, hit this place up...you'll be glad you did!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We loved Darrell's!!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Nacho burger, peanut butter burger(!), turkey burger and fajita chicken burger all were absolutely delicious. Plus the salads were surprisingly large, fresh and tasty. Good beer and good service made this a great experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drcatherine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darrell's Restaurant also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Darrell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing