We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super dinner”

Stories Fine Dining
Reserve with OpenTable
Stories Fine Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 732 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super dinner”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Loved the wine and the delicious meal. Great not to travel far for a superb dinner. The staff were attentive and accommodating.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    28
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Satisfaction”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Decided to try this restaurant based on the reviews and left it fully satisfied. It was very tasty!!! Meat was done perfect, as i requested, nice beer and friendly service. Maybe not too big size, but comfortable. You should try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dsulejmanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We were greeted by Neil and from there the experience only got better. A table for two by the window surrounded by candles. Neil our server was so professional yet friendly that we immediately felt at ease yet knew that we were being served by a real professional. We ordered an Australian Chardonney and an Italian Pinot Grigio by the glass. I had their absolutely amazzing soup of the day, a chowder but not your standard creamy brew but the most tasty chowder that I have ever had. Every last bit I soaked up with their fresh baked bread. My wife had the salmon and I had the bison and boar dish. They were both fantastic. What a fantastic find only a block away from our fabulous Waverley Inn. We loved them both!!!

Do not miss this fantastic experience of something truely different and dilicious. Thank you Neil, you were great.....Ron and Bonnie on vacation from Burlington, ON

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Worth moving to Halifax just to eat here”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Not wanting to walk the streets looking for somewhere to eat on our one night in Halifax I booked a reservation at Stories a few days before we arrived mostly because it was next door to The Haliburton Inn where we were staying and partly by the good reviews. I very wisely booked the chefs dinner so we did not even have the task of deciding what we wanted to eat, or which wine to drink. What a fabulous experience. Almost 3 hours of un-rushed service where we tasted incredible dishes prepared by a very talented and creative chef. Our server, Neil took the time to explain each dish and the accompanying wine that came with each course. Seven wonderful courses which included, fresh scallops, lobster, the best barely seared Ahi tuna I have ever tasted, the freshest local organic vegetables, wonderful duck, braised pork, artisan cheeses and lastly a killer desert plate. Without doubt perhaps the best meal we have ever had and while not cheap at $100 a head it left us wishing we didn't live 1,800 kms away.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brownbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Really good service and a delicious meal. Would recommend the scallops.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ChloeHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stories Fine Dining also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Stories Fine Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing