We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food,slow service”

The Old Triangle Irish Ale House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Triangle Irish Ale House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 715 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food,slow service”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The food is typical Irish pub food - decent food at reasonable prices. But if you are in a hurry (i.e. on your lunch break from work) don't expect to get out in a hurry. A typical lunch visit takes more than an hour, which means we don't go here for lunch very often.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    401
    79
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Pub Lunch”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I've eaten at the Old Triangle many times at lunch. Service is always adequate for busy lunch time. Food arrives within reasonable amount of time to return to work. Good choice of food on the menu. Fish cakes are excellent choice. Club sandwich and salad are very fresh and reliable.

A good choice while in Halifax for lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maclean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food, great entertainment, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Living in Halifax there are alot of places to choose from, but we always go back to the Old Triangle for the sure thing. Food is always great, love the atmosphere and it's close to everything in the downtown core. A must place to go.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great spot for a private party”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We attended a private function in the back of the Old Triangle. The young man who waited on our group of about 25 people was amazing at keeping all the orders straight. The pub type food that we all enjoyed was very good. An excellent cake was served for desert.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Passage, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great once again!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Had a great lunch with a friend today - I ordered a cheeseburger with no bun and green salad with ranch dressing. Server didn't bat an eye when I asked for no bun but did offer me a gluten free bun which was nice anyway. My friend ordered the mushroom omelet but did not want spuds or toast, server ended up giving her a nice little side of fruit instead - very thoughtful.

My food was delicious!!!!!! Then we stayed for tea and coffee, I had a nice french press of coffee brought to me which was very very good.

I had no complaints, this is a great place to bring people. :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Triangle Irish Ale House also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Old Triangle Irish Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing