We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Halifax”

The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 737 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$36
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Grand Parade & City Hall
Description: The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, is one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures dating back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat, game and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate. Enjoy a vast selection of fine wines and world- class cocktails. Please note that due to our liquor conversion license, minors cannot be in the dining room past 9pm.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Halifax”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was one of the best restaurants in Halifax. Our party of 4 was given the best table in the restaurant (the round one in the front window). The food was tasty and the server made sure to accommodate our dietary needs (celiac disease & 1 with a corn allergy). That said, my gf cod was a bit dried out, but my friend, who ordered the exact same, said his was absolutely perfect. This restaurant has a great vibe, good food, and great service. And the bathrooms are spotless.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Me00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    155
    50
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We visited here as a family of 4 adults. As we entered we were met with the most amazing live jazz music, played and sung perfectly for a relaxed, inviting atmosphere. As this is the oldest building in Halifax you can appreciate the decor and setting to transport you back in time. Seated swiftly and attended to by a very friendly server. An extensive menu selection to whet your appetite and delicious wines to compliment your meal. Everything we had was cooked to perfection and deliciously fresh. My daughter and son in law opted for "the drill" which comprises 4 courses of a surprise menu which the chef prepares there and then. This included everything from smoked salmon,clams and lobster to fillet steak and a trio of desserts with a palette cleanser midway. All presented beautifully and if I'm right cost was in the region of C$125 pp. Olde Worlde charm, delicious food and live music..........we will definitely return on our next visit. Keep up the good work and keep smiling as it did make us feel very welcome. Thank you for a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mouseybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun night”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Only had the baked oyster and crab cake apies at the bar but they were great along with the local beer, a dark and stormy rum drink and a fun trio playing a funky jazz.
Will go back for dinner, based on it was packed, the service was great and the building is just so cool and interesting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dp1474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Upscale with Old World Charm”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have been here twice. Once as a Dinner and Show Package with Neptune Theatre. We had a limited menu but food was delicious, staff were exemplary, atmosphere perfect.

Then we went last fall for our anniversary. We did not hold back, and enjoyed all we wanted off the menus. It was not a cheap night to be certain. But it was a celebration and worth every penny.

The building is very old and the interior maintains much of the dark wood atmosphere but marries it with elegant menus and wines, live jazz bands and top notch wait staff.

My only issue with the Pressgang is that I cannot go daily! Oh but one can dream!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tableforfourplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must in Halifax”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I would first like to start off by stating that I don't usually post reviews on a restaurant, but I felt that The Press Gang was worth mentioning for outstanding service, amazing food, and a beautiful historical dining. We arrived in town on Sunday(yesterday), and the concierge recommended The Press Gang. We entered The Press Gang, and it was like you were stepping back in time. This is a very old historical building with a lot of character. Our server was extremely knowledgable about the history of the building and loved to share her haunted experiences within the dining room. I love history with a twist. We started off our meal with raw oysters, which were so fresh, and we tried several different kinds with the Blackpoints being our favourite. We asked for a suggestion of wine pairing to go with the oysters, and she recommended the Tidal Bay. This is a local wine that is made in the Annapolis Valley, in fact several vineyards make the Tidal Bay. What a great recommendation, and went extremely well with the oysters. We sat back and listened to the music in the other room for awhile before ordering. Great music, but maybe a bit too loud for a laid back Sunday evening. We then proceeded to order our main courses. Since we had such great suggestions with the first course, we asked her opinion on the mains. We knew we would be eating a lot of seafood this week, so we decided to have the tenderloin with a hint of seafood(lobster mac and cheese). Best of both worlds. She suggested the Hahn Cabernet to go with our dinner, and why not, all of our servers suggestions were bang on. I love to be able to go to a restaurant and let the server steer me in the right direction for both food and wine pairings. Job well done. We opted out of dessert, too full, but they did look delicious as they were being served at other tables. Overall, this was a fantastic dining experience, and can't wait to return on a Friday night for dinner. Thank you Press Gang.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing