We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT FISH AND FRIES”

Fredies Fantastic Fishhouse
Ranked #1 of 742 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Fredies Fantastic Fishhouse is a small diner located in Bayers Lake Park. We specialize in Fresh Fish and hand cut Fries, Chowder, Fresh Whole Clams, Digby Scallops and Pure Lobster Rolls. We are passionate about providing our Customers with the best service and freshest seafood that Nova Scotia has to offer.
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband loves good fish and chips and he certainly gave these a top rating. On the other hand I do not like fried fish in any form and had read that the chowder was good. Granted there is lots of fish in the chowder but it is absolutely flavorless and thin with a generic roll on the side. Perhaps if this chowder was a bit more interesting we might go back but otherwise no.

Certainly needs improvement and also a few more choices for a couple where only 1 eats fish and chips.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wayne359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredie657, Owner at Fredies Fantastic Fishhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your review! We are delighted your Husband enjoyed our Fish and Chips. We are so very sorry you didn't have the same experience with our Seafood Chowder. We would love the opportunity to serve you again. Our Seafood Chowder is my Mom's recipe. We make it from scratch every day. It's intended to be a light cream broth.... we use several different herbs and spices for natural flavour. Our Seafood Chowder usually requires two hours to set before serving.. it sounds like we may have served it too early and that might explain why it was flavourless, and too light. We hope you will give us another chance to correct your experience with us.

We value your business! We are nothing without you!

Tammy Frederick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Fredies Fantastic Fishhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 341 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a small place, with only a few stools inside, and tables outside. They only do fried seafood, but they do it well. Mom loved the scallops, the fish and chips were good, nice and crispy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank E V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredie657, Owner at Fredies Fantastic Fishhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for our review! We appreciate you taking time to write about us! We truly love our Customers! Making you and your Mom happy is the greatest feeling to us. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Tammy Frederick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

...Fish and chips for Friday night supper!!
Is it the best I've ever had? I don't know that, but it is really good and we enjoy it! The value for your money is great and we always have great service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredie657, Owner at Fredies Fantastic Fishhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you Michelle! your review has brighten our day! We are truly thank full that you choose our diner for supper on a Friday night! You could have gone anywhere, but you didn't... you came to us and allowed us to serve you! It means so much to us! We hope to see you again!

Thank you for supporting our little diner!

Tammy Frederick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I had read online that this place was rated number two by Coast magazine for the best fried clams in Halifax. I was not disappointed. I ordered a large order with French fries and it was so large the clams and fries had to come on separate plates. They were golden brown and delicious. Many ask how to eat fried clams. Many eat them with tartar sauce, many with ketchup. I prefer ketchup and I enhance it by dousing the clams in vinegar. This enhances the ketchup and mixes well with the golden batter of these east coast delicacies. Loved it. Hope you do as well. Enjoy!

1  Thank JandLfromRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredie657, Owner at Fredies Fantastic Fishhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for your beautiful review! Our Fresh Whole Clams are one of our Customers favorite menu items... and we are so happy you enjoyed them as well! We will continue to provide you and all our amazing customers fresh local seafood! We look forward to serving you soon!

Tammy Frederick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I always go for the Seafood Sampler for one when that urge for deep fried food hits and really it never misses .Share it with my girlfriend and really its just the right amount for two .As stated those home cut fries are delicious and made fresh.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredie657, Owner at Fredies Fantastic Fishhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you John! We appreciate you taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor! We are delighted you enjoyed our Popular Seafood Sampler! It's a favorite for couples who want to try a little of everything. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Fredies is nothing without you!

Tammy Frederick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fredies Fantastic Fishhouse also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Fredies Fantastic Fishhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing