We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast on Budget”
Review of The Maxwell's Plum

The Maxwell's Plum
Ranked #102 of 720 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast on Budget”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Visited for 3.99 breakfast special after trip to Farmers Market. It was great 3 eggs, 5 pieces of bacon,toast,fries.You have to buy a drink to get this price we both had juice, it came to 13.66, $5.00 for server, great for under 20.00. They also have a Thursday night steak deal that we will check out soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnsurette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    96
    50
    28
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not what we expected!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After taking in the sights of the harbourfront, on a 2 day visit to Halifax, My family decided to try this restaurant, which had been recommended by friends who visited a year ago. They had raved about this deep fried pepperoni. We walked into the bar at 8:40 p.m.. We were just getting drinks & the deep fried pepperoni. The waitress brought over the menus, when we told we would just be getting an appitizer and drinks. She took our drink order & did not return until 8:54- at which point, she said, because our son who is 17 yrs old, we could not be here after 9:00 p.m. I asked about takeout at which point she said "no, you have to leave". Very poor service & rude. We had never been asked to leave a restaurant before. We are from Ontario & if a minor is with you.. as long as you order before 9:00 you may stay until you finish your meal. Needless to say we will not be trying the Nova Scotian treat!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyMartin5107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tourist trap. Avoid.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Tourist trap. Avoid. The $2.99 mussel deal is just a sucker draw. Overpriced drinks and they wouldn't let me use phone for local call to my hotel. My friendly server saved the day and offered up her cell phone which was very nice. Without her, the place is a one star.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banning, Ca
Level Contributor
697 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Plumed the Depth of Maxwell's”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal here of Steak and Lobster roll. Great service from staff. Food served hot where needed and cold where needed. Fries were good also. Priced correctly, not just a place to drink.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Perkadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent spot”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Traditional pub style atmosphere and environment. If this is what you want, then...

Great food, great selection of beers, and great service.

Great specials every day of the week - food and drinks.

What can I say, great all around.

If anyone ranked it less than a 5, don't believe them!

Helpful?
1 Thank apshawnhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Maxwell's Plum also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Maxwell's Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing