We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of home”
Review of Fries & Co

Fries & Co
Ranked #124 of 736 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A taste of home”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Having been in Halifax for 10months (moved from nNrthern Ireland) we have been searching for a taste of home since we arrived and only wish we had tried this place sooner. My husband and I ordered the 2 piece fish and chips each and we could not finish all of it. The fish was a mild flavor which suited me with a light crispy batter. The chips where frshly fried and cut from real potaoes, none of the frozen fries we seem to encounter everywhere we go. My daughter had the childrens burger which was a real meat/butchers burger and she too got a huge portion of chips with it. We had a tub of curry sauce which was TO DIE FOR up until now I was convinced nowhere in Halifax could do a good spicy curry chip. Would def recommend this restaurant especially if you are from the UK

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Fries & Co in Halifax, Nova Scotia is just as the title says a hidden gem! Its the perfect little restaurant for anytime of the day! The food is delicious and the staff very kind. Personally I don't believe the outside of the restaurant does it justice... The price is crazy for how cheap it is but the food is worth every cent!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iTechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good old-fashioned fish and chips”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The food is traditional style fish and chip shop fare. Very modest place, but I have never had a bad meal and I love fish and chips and am fussy about how they should be. Here the fish is fresh, the chips made from fresh potatoes.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

the food was great very tasty well presented the staff was friendly and very polite the restaurant was very clean and I would be very proud to take and or recommend this eatery to my family and friends

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the Place it used to be”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

There has been a change of ownership of this place and it shows in the food. The fish and chips I had were not good. Fish was dry and overcooked to the point of tasteless. Not recommended by me anymore.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Easterner_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fries & Co also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Fries & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing