We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn in the "Birthplace of New Scotland"”
Review of The Lionstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lionstone Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Charm is the definitive word to describe The Lionstone Inn in Pictou. With attention to the little details rarely found in most small motels, the only thing to outshine the charm, is the cleanliness and friendliness of the staff. The location couldn't be more convenient to all the "must do's" when visiting the northern part of the province: the town of Pictou itself, the beautiful beaches along the Sunrise Trail, or catching the ferry to beautiful Prince Edward Island. What could be better than spending the day sightseeing and coming back to a comfortable cozy room at the Ironstone and a budget friendly place at that! A perfect spot when visiting "the Birthplace of new Scotland."

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfraser2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for The Lionstone Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

The Lionstone is a nice and small motel which is very easy to find. Upon entering the town of Pictou it is hard to miss it, just after the round about. Reception is friendly and the rooms are spotlessly clean. The price charged is reasonable. The motel is in walking distance from the town center. Although being very close to the main road, the rooms are very quiet during the night. I would not have minded to stay there longer and would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bonairetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionstone, Owner at The Lionstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you so much for the kind words.

We have spent considerable time and effort over the past few years, having purchased the property four years ago, upgrading and repairing our little motel, and are always pleased when travellers recognize the value for the dollar and notice how much effort everyone puts in to make your stay as memorable as we can.

Best wishes and many happy journeys ahead.


Dennis and Preston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My family was travelling through Pictou and we stayed at the Lionstone Inn for two days. We really enjoyed the area and this wonderful Inn. The owners were really great and as friendly as anyone I have ever met. The rooms were very clean and the property is well kept. I'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tbritt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I cannot say enough about this place. We were scheduled to stay at another establishment in town however when we opened the door to our room our bed was unmade and there was a rather odd smell to the room. We immediately checked out and found the Lionstone Inn and it was piece of heaven. The rooms were cozy and quiet, the staff were hospitable and our trip was saved!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionstone, Owner at The Lionstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Thank you so much for the kind words. We have spent a lot of time and money over the past few years trying to make your stay memorable and it's great to see someone is noticing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The owners of the Lionstone Inn are very friendly and are there when you need help.
The outside property is well kept and its beautiful setting. Staff is friendly and keeps well cleaned rooms. Very pleased with the motel.

Room Tip: If your planning to visit around Pictou County book a room at The Lionstone Inn
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ida181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionstone, Owner at The Lionstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Thanks for kind words and noticing how hard our staff work to keep our rooms spotless--something we regard as of utmost importance, especially to our budget conscious customers who sometimes worry that quality suffers.

Our goal is to give everyone a clean, quiet and comfortable place to stay and although we might miss the mark sometimes, it appears as though we met your needs.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We'd been travelling across Canada and discovered a hidden gem in Pictou County, Nova Scotia. The Lionstone Inn.
Having stayed at a number of establishments during our travels, we encountered a variety of oddities with some places we stayed. Staying at the Lionstone was a breath of fresh air. We were so tired from the previous night's location that was so noisy. We got to the Lionstone and discovered the peaceful environment we were looking for. The hosts were very friendly and run a "no-nonsense" establishment. The other people staying there were enjoying themselves but without the "out of control" parties we'd previously encountered at other places. Also, I cannot stress enough how clean and well maintained the Lionstone was. Bedding, towels, the rooms themselves were excellent! The grounds were immaculate and the rooms exquisitely clean and comfortable.
The location is perfect - close to the Northumberland Ferries access and at the rotary leading to the surrounding communities. Right next to grocery store, coffee shop, and more. Pictou is a quaint, delightful town. I was amazed considering all we got out of our stay, how inexpensive the rooms are. I slept like a baby!
We will return to the Lionstone again and again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pambi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This buisness trip was made extra special with the great atmosphere at this hotel,I was treated like family from the staff.The owners and the maids were great people,always making sure I haad what I needed.We'll be back to stay for sure

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
8.5 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
98 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
1.0 mi away
The Pictou Puffin Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Dolan's Inn and Suites
Dolan's Inn and Suites
#6 of 12 in Pictou
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lionstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lionstone Inn

Address: 241 West River Road, Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Price Range: £51 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lionstone Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run business. Well maintained drive up motel units with a focus on cleanliness and value for the dollar.Several housekeeping cottages also on the property dating back to the 50's, most of which have been modernized and renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lionstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lionstone Inn Pictou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing