We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stopover.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lionstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lionstone Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Manchester
Level Contributor
198 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good stopover.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a mid 50's motel in reasonably good shape. The rooms are comfortably sized and clean. We stayed in the building to the left of the office, which is set back a bit. Other rooms are adjacent to the office and right on the road. There are a number of cabins behind the office. In all fairness, there wasn't a lot of traffic at night. A few trucks went by early in the morning. We found Pictou ito be a convenient place to stop on the way to Cape Breton and this motel was well suited to our needs. There were a number of other motorcyclists staying the night, as well. The motel is within walking distance of a Tim Horton's, a super market and liquor store. We met of dinner needs at the latter two.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the building to the left of the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLM1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    24
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
29
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

You might be tempted to drive right by this little Inn - it looks like your typical roadside motel - but the rooms have been renovated and are large, airy and very clean. Friendly, helpful staff and upgraded amenities like a huge jacuzzi in the bathroom plus parking right outside your door made this a welcome choice for a reasonable price - great stop-over choice on your way through Pictou.

Room Tip: ask for the end unit with the Jacuzzi in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sistersofhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

The Lionstone in Pictou was a fabulous place to stay. The location was perfect for our adventure home base. We wanted a location we could stay that was affordable yet located so that we could take day trips around the county and surrounding areas and return to room at night. The Lionstone fit the bill perfectly! Located at the rotary in Pictou, it was easy access to all routes extending out to New Glasgow, the ferry to PEI, and the other outlying areas we wanted to explore. Dennis and Preston were wonderful hosts who provided great tourism suggestions and friendly tips. The accommodations and property were immaculately clean, comfortable and affordable. I slept like a baby! It's situated close to the visitor center, fast food options, Sobey's grocery and Tim Horton's. We had everything we could possibly need. It was a fantastic vacation and i know we'll return again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sept Iles, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

The Lionstonne Inn, in Pictou, is located close to the old town and close to the highway as well, but it's a quiet place close to the woods. It wasn't noisy at all, I had a great sleep there and wasn't bug by no one. There even are green spaces outside and picnic areas. You will be able to park your vehicle for free in front of your unit.

Cleanliness : nothing to say about that, it was neat clean, from top to bottom including the sheets, and I am a cleaning freak. Still never find nothing to say.

We rented 2 cabins that are, let's be honest, old but very comfortable. The decoration is kinda looking like it's from your grandmother tea room but really, who cares ?

They both have 2 bedrooms with comfy beds, fully equiped bathroom, and a functionnal kitchen with propane stoves. They are both equiped with TVs as well and one even have a fireplace. There is no air conditioning but all the windows open and there are fans. The place could use some repairs, but it's not expensive and if you're not too fancy, you will love it. I enjoyed spending time outside and the staff at the front desk - well, the cute young fella working the evening shift anyway - is very kind, helpfull, talkative and funny.

If you are looking for a good and afordable place to stay in Pictou and enjoy your stay as well as to have a good time, you got the wright place, it definitely is a great value !

Room Tip: Choose a cabin over a unit, they are lovely :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EliiMaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Lionstone Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thanks so much for the very kind and generous review. We appreciate the time and thoughtfulness you put into it.

You've discovered what most of our repeat guests already know---Our top priorities here at the Lionstone Inn are cleanliness and friendliness.

Over the past few years and into future years, as time and money allows, we are always improving our facilities and furnishings. Having said that, our quaint cottages have a huge following and are highly sought after by those looking for a unique and historic Nova Scotian experience. Some of these gems are 80 plus years old!

Our motel units, which are very sought after at our price point, have been remodelled and all furnishings are on par with some of the bigger names in the business.

I trust we will see you again and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

By the way, for those travellers wanting high end comfort and space, with flair and all the tech toys, check out our unit number 27...which many of our guests claim is the nicest room they have ever stayed in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed here August 2011. This is a wonderful place to stay. It is comprised of both a motel and cottage sections. We stayed in two cottages while there. Actually we ended up on their doorstep suddenly when our other prior accommodation went south. Dennis was gracious and kind, he booked us into one of the older cottages and then into the newest one once it was available. Both units had two bedrooms and had kitchens that my wife made great use of. The older cottage was clean, hospitable and looked renovated. We enjoyed our time there including the covered porch which allowed us to sit outside while it rained. The wireless router would not reach to our cottage. The newest cottage was a knockout. Modern kitchen, top flight bathroom and hardwood floors throughout. Sitting room with flat screen TV, DVD and electric fireplace. Wireless router was located here, and reception was perfect. We would stay there anytime and we will. Dennis is a gem. We did not expect rain and so didn't pack coats. Dennis lent us each a coat for the duration of our stay. This was not the level of care we would have gotten at any other establishment. "Thank-you Dennis and staff".

Room Tip: I can't say anything about the motel rooms. The older cottages I believe are open summer only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionstone, Owner at The Lionstone Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Thanks so much for the generous words. You were both a pleasure to have as guests and are welcome here anytime. The baked goods were awesome by the way. Thanks from all the staff for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

I found this little motel about 3 years ago and have used it whenever I'm in Pictou. This place is excellent value for your dollar with tastefully decorated rooms and those little extras you'd expect in higher priced accommodations. The ;location is excellent, an easy stroll from the supermarket and morning coffee. Pictou itself is a delightful little town, with a beautiful harbour and many tributes to the early Scottish settlers. For the traveller, It is unfortunate that a paper mill is located on the opposite side of the harbour. But it is an economic fact of life for this rural area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowbirdincostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

- best location
- amazing owners and staff
- quiet, cozy Rooms
- incredibly friendly
- fantastic service
- best trip to Pictou so far!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madigirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
8.5 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
0.5 mi away
Willow House Inn
Willow House Inn
#2 of 12 in Pictou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Customs House Inn
Customs House Inn
#7 of 12 in Pictou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lionstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lionstone Inn

Property: The Lionstone Inn
Address: 241 West River Road, Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lionstone Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run business. Well maintained drive up motel units with a focus on cleanliness and value for the dollar.Several housekeeping cottages also on the property dating back to the 50's, most of which have been modernized and renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Lionstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lionstone Inn Pictou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing