We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but clean and good value”
Review of The Lionstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lionstone Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic, but clean and good value”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

If you just want an inexpensive, clean place to stay for the night, this is perfect. The bed was comfortable and whilst the facilities were somewhat dated and limited, for a one night stay that was fine. Nice to have the option of a cottage with 2 rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pebblebeach531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    26
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
33
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Our stay there was very pleasant. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were well equipped and very clean. The rooms are a decent price and it's a nice place to stay while visiting beautiful Pictou County!

Room Tip: Room number #1 is nice with the jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We (2 couples) stayed in the duplex cottages #25/26. These are very 50's in decor and fixture, and sloping floors, but we were warm and comfortable and the price was reasonable. The only complaint we would make is that only one of the rooms had a decent t.v.(flat screen) while the other had a very old poor tube set that was difficult to watch. We bothered the staff a few times for directions to eateries, scenary and the beach as well as more towels and pillows and all of our requests were met with helpful advice and a smile.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WesRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The staff are super friendly and the room is basic but clean. Great value for your dollar and if you are looking for a clean, friendly place to stay in Pictou this is definitely a great place to stay. Pillows were comfy, beds were comfy and staff is great and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frosty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisPreston, Owner at The Lionstone Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Lovely place to stay, was there March 2013, rented unit 27 cottage, was nice and modern, electric Fireplace, flat screen tv, nice and warm and cozy for March winter month, close to sobeys and Tim Hortons and liquor store all within walking distance. Had a great stay, staff very friendly and curtiouse would recommend to anyone. Good price for amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darrylbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed there in October, 2012. It is very well equiped with a comfortable bed, cable TV nice kitchen and Very, very clean! The cleanliness really stood out over other places we've stayed.
We would stay there again anytime. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The location is very handy as well only a half a block to a liquor store and a Sobey's grocery store

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exavious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
199 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a mid 50's motel in reasonably good shape. The rooms are comfortably sized and clean. We stayed in the building to the left of the office, which is set back a bit. Other rooms are adjacent to the office and right on the road. There are a number of cabins behind the office. In all fairness, there wasn't a lot of traffic at night. A few trucks went by early in the morning. We found Pictou ito be a convenient place to stop on the way to Cape Breton and this motel was well suited to our needs. There were a number of other motorcyclists staying the night, as well. The motel is within walking distance of a Tim Horton's, a super market and liquor store. We met of dinner needs at the latter two.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the building to the left of the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLM1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
8.5 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
90 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Willow House Inn
Willow House Inn
#2 of 12 in Pictou
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lionstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lionstone Inn

Property: The Lionstone Inn
Address: 241 West River Road, Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lionstone Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run business. Well maintained drive up motel units with a focus on cleanliness and value for the dollar.Several housekeeping cottages also on the property dating back to the 50's, most of which have been modernized and renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Lionstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lionstone Inn Pictou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing