We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural, Isolated and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterview Rooms & Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 12 Pictou B&B and Inns
Venice, FL
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Rural, Isolated and Comfortable”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I write this review with mixed emotions -- on the one hand the Austrian owners were great hosts and we had an enjoyable stay and a great nights sleep. On the other hand, the isolated location and appearance of the property leave a lot to be desired. Because the restaurant on the property is now closed, you have to drive 25 minutes into Pictou to eat. While the property itself does not give a good first impression (abandoned cars, piles of gravel and logs and assorted junk) our large king bed room was modern, clean and very comfortable -- there's just nothing like sleeping in the country with open windows. And Gabriella serves a great cooked- to-order breakfast in the now-closed restaurant. There is a very nice and uncrowded brown-sand beach only a couple miles away and the property is only a 10 minute drive to the PEI ferry. If you like the peaceful quiet of a rural location and aren't hung up on cosmetics, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for one night and wished it was more. Gerhardt and Gabriela are wonderful hosts - very welcoming and friendly, but let us do our thing. Since it was our anniversary, we booked a romantic dinner package, and it was fantastic. Delicious Austrian schnitzel and a perfect bottle of Austrian wine were the highlights. We didn't have room for dessert, but we were able to take the strudel back to the room (which had a refrigerator!) to enjoy later. The king size bed was ridiculously comfortable, and the room overall was nicely decorated and clean, with a large tub in case you want to take a bath. This grounds aren't perfectly manicured like some larger B&Bs, but the rooms are their own little world and the view from the restaurant is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessinVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was a nice and quite place for a perfect getaway. The hosts were very welcoming and always smiling. Even though the road was under construction, we still managed to find and enjoy the close by long sand beaches of Northumberland strait.
In the evening a delicious Austrian Schnitzel and an apple strudel for desert were waiting for us at the conveniently located Cafe Europe.
We will definitely go back there again! Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbinaZi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at this charming B&B near Pictou for the last night of our vacation. Dinner at the Resto, Café Europa was a delicious authentic Austrian schnitzel and homemade spaetzle. We can imagine the fireplace would be cozy in winter but didn't need it while we were there. The bridge construction has caused some worrisome "detour" signs but just ignore them and follow the local traffic route for a charming place to stay.

Room Tip: We had the Tirol - with a lovely King bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrwillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot Lake, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We should have stayed 2 nights but unfortunately our flight got delayed so we were only able to stay 1 night. What wonderful people who looked after our every need. So relaxing and the room had everything we needed. The view was very relaxing. We had supper in their restaurant which was very enjoyable. Breakfast was also great.
We would definitely plan to go back and visit.

Room Tip: We had the Vienna Room and it had a private deck to sit out on
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We ate at this restaurant [Cafe Europa], while passing through. Its truly like a trip to Austria
with great ambience and traditional music. There is also the lovely Caribou river view .
The food is good, the Cafe Europa Schnitzel was delicious, with the best Spaetzli we have had, and we have had lots. The Hungarian goulash my husband had was good, but could have been better with red cabbage or some addition.
We took the apple strudel with us , and cooked it later. It was quite good.
Service was very prompt, we were there around 5.30 pm. the restaurant is not very easy to find,
opens at 5.30 pm and is closed on Wed. Definitely worth a detour.

Room Tip: We did not stay here so can't rate the rooms,only the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbrigidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western Newfoundland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The Waterview is a hidden gem in a very quiet setting . Our stay was a wonderful way to end our vacation. The room was well decorated and it felt like a mini chalet in the Alps. Gabriela's wonderful food ( we had the schnitzel and homemade spätzle) combined with Gerhard's attentive hosting made for a wonderful evening. We highly recommend a meal at the cafe followed by a stay at the Waterview.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
6.4 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
5.3 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Scotsman Inn
The Scotsman Inn
#4 of 12 in Pictou
39 reviews
6.0 mi away
Customs House Inn
Customs House Inn
#10 of 12 in Pictou
61 reviews
5.8 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterview Rooms & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterview Rooms & Restaurant

Property: Waterview Rooms & Restaurant
Address: 1338 Shore Rd, Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pictou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterview Rooms & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is 8min from the PEI Ferry, we offering breakfast and dinner in our restaurant Cafe Europe. From our rooms and restaurant you can overlook the water and you can also see the PEI ferry. We are 2 min from the Caribou beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Waterview Rooms & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterview Rooms & Restaurant Pictou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing