We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful night in Pictou” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Braeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Braeside Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Pictou B&B and Inns
Stony Plain, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restful night in Pictou”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a quiet and comfortable night at this inn. It was early season and we were the only guests but all amenities were available to us. As long as you can handle some stairs this is a fine place for the weary traveller. With a continental breakfast as early as 7:30 we were well on our way by 8:15.
G. Clark from Alberta

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    27
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
17
41
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights with our 2 year old son. Overall we were very satisfied. As we were looking for a place to stay and form which to go to PEI for a day we did not expect to stay long in the Inn nor Pictou. Bad things: dated decor (a bit smelly rooms, this smell of "old"); smelly chimneys over Pictou harbour (but there is nothing the Inn keepers can do about it). Good things: charming, warm welcome (upon arrival and when they saw us with our kid, they upgraded our room for free, without us asking them for it); patience of all the staff with our quite active toddler; a VERY good dinner (we arrived late, and yet they accommodated us; I expected some average hotel food, instead we had the best chowder we had on our trip - and mind you, my husband is a seasoned French chef...); parking; a big room. Definitely more good things than bad ... If ever again in Pictou, I will come back.

Room Tip: the higher, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamanta_PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We arrived on a rainy night to find that we were the only guests booked for the entire Inn that night. First impressions were disappointing. The decor was very dated. A mishmash of decorating styles: Asian, 80s decor, English country house, etc. The worst though was the Creepy Clown sitting in the chair.

The Innkeepers, Anne and Mike, were friendly enough. They immediately gave us a free upgrade to a Queen Bed. And suggested places to eat. The restaurant is not running at this time due to lack of clients. We had a nice conversation with them about traveling and TV shows.

The room was clean enough, but it had a musty, unused odour that was a little off-putting.

The "breakfast" in the morning was basically a continental breakfast. And we felt a little uncomfortable with Mike popping in and out as he wasn't checking to see if we needed anything; it felt more like he was checking how fast we'd be leaving!

My honest recommendation is for the Inn to be updated and properly advertised to maximize its potential! It's a large property with on-site ballroom and commercial kitchen. Perfect for weddings, business meetings, etc. But it doesn't seem like this is advertised!?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelscarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights over a period of 2 weeks using Braeside as sort of a home-base while we toured on our motorcycles, leaving our truck & trailer there. Anne & Mike were more than accommodating & we really enjoyed our stay at this lovely quaint inn.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PiperMom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Frankly, Pictou is hardly the garden spot of Nova Scotia particularly with the large pulp factory across the water spewing enormous amounts of smoke and pollutants into the air. We understand that when the wind is just so, the smoke comes over the town and is quite terrible.I am sure that the pollutants are a potential or actual health issue. Town residents confided that the area does have a higher than average cancer rate. Pictou is close to the ferry to Prince Edward Island; I can think of no other reason to stay there. Drive to the confederation bridge instead. As to the Inn, being waterside it once may have had its day. Nearby is a smallish but interesting museum centered on the ship that brought the original settlers to the area. (Navigation wasn't so good in those days) The older couple who own and run the Inn were there, so to speak, but we think would entertain any offer to sell the place. The rooms were neat and clean though spartan. The lobby is a trip to the past with thingees collected many moons ago. We did not stay for breakfast as there is a wonderful little coffee shop just down the street. The Inn was fairly cheap if that is a factor in your planning.

Room Tip: Use a different waypoint in your planning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prostho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pictou, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was the place we picked to stay for our honeymoon night. Aug. 3rd. MISTAKE. The owner was not at all pleasant- the room was terrible, and DIRTY and the inn was terribly NOISY. We left our 2 dogs in the car, as we planned to leave early in the morning. As it was- when I found a large long hair (which wasn't mine) on the bath mat- that was it. We just packed up and left at midnight. Worst mistake ever-I can allow an old inn it's charm, but not dirt.
I used to run a small motel- so I know this doesn't have to be the standard. I'd pull the license so fast it would make your head spin. Wish we'd at least complained, but we left at midnight. Don't waste your money- go somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pictou hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This sweet, older but charming hostelry saved our necks by being able to provide us a corner room on a moment's notice on this past Labour Day weekend. This cute place is simply a throwback to an old wooden small-town hotel and must be experienced. It's comfy, warm, quiet, private and has large (but austere) good private washrooms. Beds are truly OK and the entire place is very clean. The breakfast is a bit plain but plentiful and the prices are quite reasonable ($90.00 for a Queen corner room including breakfast). It's pointless to crab about the wretched pulp mill - on a bad day, the smell permeates the entire countryside around Pictou, an otherwise charming and interesting little town.

Anne and Mike who run this little gem are "young at heart" seniors who have been trying to retire for years and, eventually, the place will be sold.

Stay there NOW while this couple are still there - it's a treat.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are really nice. There is no elevator 9lift) so go for a second-floor room (one flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beavertail65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
4.1 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Customs House Inn
Customs House Inn
#7 of 12 in Pictou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pictou Puffin Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Inn

Property: Braeside Inn
Address: 126 Front St., Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pictou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Braeside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18 A/c rooms, most with Harbor view. Continental breakfast included. Guests Laundry facilities. Motor Cycle Wash Station. Guests sitting room with high speed internet. WiFi throughout property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Braeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeside Inn Pictou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing