We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place but the staff was not focus on the visitors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed in one of the cottages for 4 days for a large family group. The setting was beautiful and the lake with the paddle boats and canoes was such a nice touch. The firepit on the beach was well set up. The kids really enjoyed the pool. The restaurant was not accessible due to a fire that happened earlier in the summer, yet they said there would be a complementary breakfast in a makeshift tent, yet it was really disorganized and from day to day you did not know if it was running or not. We found it difficult to get supplies such as toilet paper for the staff. We were down to allocating minimum squares to each member of the family.

Room Tip: Check to see if they have repaired their restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeannieSmallTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights at this resort to attend a wedding, which was held at the resort as well. We were both impressed with the location, the value and the service. We stayed in the standard hotel room, which was very clean and sufficiently spacious, however we did have the opportunity to view the 2-story cottages which were beautifully appointed. We will definitely consider staying there once again when visiting family in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingvan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We decided at the last minute to visit Nova Scotia and spend a night in Pictou. I found this place on the internet and was delighted with it when we put our key in the lock. This place has many amenities, including a heated outdoor pool plus a private beach. There is a life-sized checker board and activities for kids, too, making it a destination in itself. The restaurant was too pricey for us, and did not really appear to be suitable for my bunch of kids, but the girl at reception was kind enough to point me to the perfect place for us to have supper. I was also able to enjoy a beer and watch the kids while they scavenged the beach for souvenir seashells. I would definitely, definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This place is a gem. Very beautiful location. Nice small beach for beach combing, pond for paddling, warm swimming pool that the kids loved and Adirondack chairs for relaxing.

The lodge for meals is gorgeous - old log building with a soaring ceiling and lots of atmosphere. Nice food, including a kids menu. Warm service.

Also neat to see photos of the Condoleeza Rice and Peter MacKay visit of 2006.

We stayed in the executive chalets. New, nicely decorated. Only comment is that the lower units suffer from hearing footsteps in the unit above. Hence, recommend the 3 bedroom units in the top floor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaileaPalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

There are many cabins some with kitchen facilities, 1-3 bedroom facilities, very clean, excellent cuisine, an outdoor swimming pool. All the staff were very pleasant & helpful!
The hall was easily able to accomodate 130-140 people & very attractive with beautiful beams in the vaulted ceiling. The room was airconditioned & had a large deck attached to the hall. The main lodge was log as were most of the rooms which were also airconditioned.
The view was tremendous, as we were directly on the ocean. The lodge is situated app 1 1/2 hrs from Halifax with beautiful highways. The last km is on a well-maintained dirt road.
We plan to return as we enjoyed our stay and it has close access to the ferry to Prince Edward Island.

Room Tip: not all cabins are on the ocean so specify if you wish to be oceanside,also some cabins have barbec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mijolebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Lots of places may claim to be Oceanside but Pictou Lodge really is just steps away. That alone makes it desirable but there's much more to love about this 85-year old lodge. Many activities, from canoeing, paddle boating, putting, or volleyball, to bocci ball, horseshoes and biking are free. Most amazing of all is that despite a kitchen fire less than two months ago, the dining room continues to serve tasty breakfasts, lunches and dinners, while hosting a number of weddings during the summer. The pleasant town of Pictou boasts a revamped waterfront but you might not want--or need--to leave the property.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We booked an executive chalet and it was really nice particularly as it was over looking the water. Very peaceful with a small private beach. The restaurant kitchen was badly damaged in a fire 3 weeks ago and they are using a mobile kitchen with a limited menu. We tried it out and had to wait over hour and a half for 2 kids meals, a plate of mussels and a salmon dish. The waitress completely avoided answering my question about when the food arrive. When it did it proved to be not very good adding more insult to injury as it was very pricey. Whilst they did not charge us for the food we didn't eat it was small compensation. Perhaps try it when the kitchen is up and ready but be prepared for big prices and small portions.

Room Tip: If you are booking the higher priced chalets don't be afraid to ask for a discount. It worked fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLBR, General Manager at Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Thank you for your comments. We are working diligently during this trying time for the Lodge to alleviate any concerns from our valued guests. Our kitchen rebuild and planning is moving along very well. The Management and Staff would like to thank all of our guest for the understanding and concern shown by our guests daily. We truly are blessed to have such wonderful people visiting us here at Pictou Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
10.2 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
105 reviews
3.8 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
259 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Pictou Puffin Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort

Address: 172 Lodge Road | PO Box 1539, Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Price Range: £106 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nova Scotia Beach Resort - Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort Atlantic Canada Premier Vacation DestinationPictou Lodge Resort, Nova Scotia is just minutes from both Pictou, home of the Ship Hector, and the PEI ferry. Our Nova Scotia oceanside resort features log cottages, private beaches and natural family recreation activities. Experience renowned Taste of Nova Scotia seafood dining and a famous Sunday brunch in our fireside dining room and Oceanview Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Hotel Pictou
Pictou Hotel
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing