We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Well it started from the moment of check in. Requested an early check in (2:00pm) which we knew was not a guarantee however was told a note was on the profile. We arrived at 2,the room was not ready and was told to come back at 3pm. We had 2 dogs so got them out of the hot car and sat outside our room for an hour with no sign of cleaning staff. Checked back in at 3pm room is still not ready so asked for another. When we went to the room there was a staffer there so asked if the first room had been cleaned she said yes. There had been no one go into that room for at least an hour so was always ready but the front desk was not aware. Went back to get original room. At that point we asked about dinner and was told to make reservations, asked for 6:00pm and was told the earliest was 7:30.....two teenagers good thing for lots of snacks! Went to dinner for 7:30pm .....now food was very good however did not get our food until 9:00pm. Crazy! Earlier we had asked if room service was available thinking we would have received food before 7:30 but was told you can order for 6pm but won't receive it until 7:30pm. It gets better , tried to order mussels and was told they were out due to a wedding the day before, ordered a corona and was told the same. This was repeated the next day as well. Now this was a long weekend and perhaps they had several weddings booked but poor planning to the extreme. Day 2 presented another set of frustrations. A wedding took place directly outside our door, fine we can accomodate that but when the reception moved even closer to our door it became a bit uncomfortable and frustrating. We proceeded to go to the bar to have a cocktail to allow the wedding party to move to their reception room and give us our space back. Surprise....the bar was not opened but the dining room receptionist tried to assist. No rum and no corona again. Had something else and water, returned to our room to find people sitting on our doorstep from the wedding. Crazy. No staff around supervising at all. You would think staff would have directed people to the reception but instead we see drinks and food being served (not to us mind you). Finally we put the dogs out in hopes of moving the party along. Have to say the beach was great and the water warm. Thank heavens we had beautiful weather otherwise I think we would have left. Nick at the front desk was great but his supervisor was not. Dorothy did everything to avoid serving us from the start and offered no help just excuses. Upon check out we were not asked how our stay was which was probably to their advantage as they would have received an earful! I will not return and suggest you take some pointers from the staff and management of White Point as they know what they are doing and how to make an unforgettable experience ! The only thing Pictou Lodge has is the view and this was created by Mother Nature not management.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have very loud air conditioners
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear Susan N,

Thank you for your feedback and we do apologize for your poor experience here at the Lodge. It looks like you were stuck between two large wedding groups and your experience definitely lacked because of this.
Our management team have read your comments and discussed amongst ourselves in hopes that this does not occur again in future.
Unfortunately our check in time is 3PM and check out time is 11AM and we can not be flexible here as you may have seen in previous reviews. We have many requests for late checkouts and early check ins and we simply cannot accommodate them all. Historically this has been an issue for our guests who like to fully enjoy all amenities here, but unfortunately we are unable to move on this policy in order to have rooms properly cleaned to meet the 3PM check in time.
Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    76
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
78
115
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
pictou
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Just came from celebrating my birthday at the Lodge. What a wonderful meal presented by a charming server.Wow is all we can say...the menu is great and our meals were delicious. We have been going to the Lodge periodically for 25 years and enjoyed it immensly. The last few years however there seemed to be something amiss...quality was down and prices were up. Well tonight reversed that statement. Thanks alaine and welcome back to the Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caribou24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Beautiful Sandy Beach, and I loved going down to the beach in the evening and they already have the Fire Pit ready with logs on the fire and the Hot Dog Sticks are provided. The pool is not crowded during the day. The Food is fantastic. An awesome vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water, and if there are any mid week deals etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had been to the lodge about ten years ago and visited again. We had a lovely stay. The room was rustic but well appointed. We had a fabulous dinner in the dining room and enjoyed a liqueur on the porch. The staff were very friendly and even lit candles and started a fire in the fireplace for us to enjoy. We had a truly relaxing evening and will be back again soon. Great value for your money. Thank you to the staff at Pictou Lodge.

Room Tip: Get a room with an unobstructed water view from your front porch.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ravendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We had high hopes for this resort, but it was a bit disappointing. First, check-in wasn't available until after 3:00 and we were then presented with a notice that check-out after 11:00 would result in an extra $50 charge and after noon another day would be added. The room was large and pleasant, but like many cottages, it had a persistent slightly musty smell. The beachfront is fairly narrow and rocky in many places.
The greatest disappointment was the restaurant at dinner. The dining room is lovely and the service was good, but the food, especially my halibut special, was badly overcooked. When he saw my uneaten fish and vegetables, the waiter offered to remove the charge, but there was no point because the meal was included in the room package. Dessert was good and breakfast the next day was also good, but we won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TourerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed in the motel style "Birches". The room was clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable. We were disappointed that our room faced the road so we didn't get the view of the beautiful location and wished that we had been offered a room with a view since the resort didn't seem that busy since it was mid-week. We were awakened early by a loud motorcycle that was parked in front of our door.
The restaurant was very good. We each had a good sized lobster with a bowl of mussels for $29.
A great deal! The service was excellent.
The location and the beach is breath taking!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the water.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Me and my wife spent 2 nights here on our trip round Nova Scotia, the accomodation was really nice and cosy, and the view of the ocean from our room was just spectacular.
The grounds were well maintained and the guys at the front desk were great.
Will definetely return!
Thank you everyone at The Lodge for making our stay so special

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernesto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
10.2 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.8 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
4.3 mi away
Customs House Inn
Customs House Inn
#7 of 12 in Pictou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort

Property: Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
Address: 172 Lodge Road | PO Box 1539, Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nova Scotia Beach Resort - Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort Atlantic Canada Premier Vacation DestinationPictou Lodge Resort, Nova Scotia is just minutes from both Pictou, home of the Ship Hector, and the PEI ferry. Our Nova Scotia oceanside resort features log cottages, private beaches and natural family recreation activities. Experience renowned Taste of Nova Scotia seafood dining and a famous Sunday brunch in our fireside dining room and Oceanview Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Hotel Pictou
Pictou Hotel
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing