We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodge with good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Great spot with a short season on the Pictou County shore. Originally a Railway Hotel it has been completely modernized and expanded. It has recovered from a kitchen fire three years ago to its original elegance. The food is marvelous and the view of the Northumberland Strait unequaled. On a clear day PEI can be seen and the ferries followed shore to shore.

Don't forget to reserve for Sunday Brunch...it is unequaled in Nova Scotia.

Room Tip: Rooms are individual cottages. They all have full amenities...some are closer to the restaurant and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canuck33907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

My wife and I decided to go for a drive and ended up at the Lodge in Pictou. We had never been there before and were pleasantly surprised. The grounds were very well kept and the beach very nice. We had a nice dinner in the restaurant with an amazing view of the ocean. We stayed in one of the newer cottages and it was very nice, rustic.

Room Tip: we didnt see any room besides the newer cottage we stayed in. If we were to go back I would ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellsey60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The atmosphere is beyond words. Your room looks over the Northumberland Strait with a resident bald eagle happy to perch to get his picture taken. Despite the rain it was a memorable stay, The food was "to die for" - mussels, oysters and local lobster were prepared perfectly. Jill was a great waitress - made us feel like we were friends the minute she came to the table. The beach is long and great for kids. Would I come back? You bet

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This beautiful location on the shores of the Northumberland Strait offers cozy rustic accomodations and more upscale cottages. The log structures take you back to days gone by when life was not as hectic or plugged in. Very relaxing. What is missing, the expected level of service and quality of food that is part of that resort experience. I recently spent several days at 'the lodge' and found there was an obvious lack of customer service at the check in desk and dining room, more of a sense of 'oh, you would like something?' The gorgeous view of the sea made for an enjoyable dining experience, the food not so much. Presentation lovely, lamb ordered medium, served well done, seafood chowder, cream with bits of seafood, the heavy cream overpowered any flavor of the seafood. At resort pricing I had expected a higher level of service and more enjoyable dining experience. That being said the property itself is very enjoyable and relaxing. Beds very comfortable and who wouldn't relax looking out over the calm waters.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alikat1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Pictou Lodge has been in business since 1926 and the location is so wonderful right on the Northumberland Strait. The family stayed in a cabin in 1985 and we loved it. This time we (just my husband and I) thought we had booked a cabin but when we got there the cabins were being renovated so it was disappointing to be in the motel section. Had it been our honeymoon we would have been really disappointed as most of the accomodation is for families and retreats for large groups and not much romantic going on there.
Food wise - it used to be in Where to Eat in Canada, and although the fish cakes and lobster Benedict were lovely - the supper was a bit lackluster and tasteless. And being by the water, I was puzzled why there was only a choice of lobster or salmon for dinner and about 8 choices of beef. I also wondered what a vegetarian would do with the menu. Hmm. A bit extra oomph with spices would have made it more memorable as well - even some wasabi or horseradish in the mashed potatoes would have helped.
All that being said we still rate it as good and staff were wonderful. Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryBethC786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I attended a weekend retreat at the Pictou Lodge in the spring, which was wonderful. The facilities were good, the food better! and the staff excellent.
Loved the early morning walk on the beach, and the later evening sitting at the lookout with a glass of wine. The cottages looked wonderful, however I was in one of the rooms, which was average. No problems, but nothing outstanding either.
In the main lodge : loved the small bar and the fireplaces...very cozy for the evening.

Room Tip: Pick one of the oceanview rooms, or cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KreaHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We arrived on a beautiful summer day to lovely beachside resort!
The front desk staff were friendly and informed. They handed us the Bride & Groom to be arrival bags and directed us to our cottage!
Our cottage was clean and comfortable.
The dining room food was excellent!
The wedding setup was superb-overlooking the ocean!
Her wedding decorator did a super job of the dining room setup!!
Our wedding meal was tasty!
Then there was other activities (swimming, biking, etc.) available to get involved in before and after the wedding!
Just a super place with lovely weather and great facilities for the occasion!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RETIREDTRAVELLER06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
10 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
4.8 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
263 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Scotsman Inn
The Scotsman Inn
#3 of 12 in Pictou
50 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Pictou Puffin Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort

Address: 172 Lodge Road | PO Box 1539, Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Price Range: £104 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nova Scotia Beach Resort - Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort Atlantic Canada Premier Vacation DestinationPictou Lodge Resort, Nova Scotia is just minutes from both Pictou, home of the Ship Hector, and the PEI ferry. Our Nova Scotia oceanside resort features log cottages, private beaches and natural family recreation activities. Experience renowned Taste of Nova Scotia seafood dining and a famous Sunday brunch in our fireside dining room and Oceanview Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Hotel Pictou
Pictou Hotel
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing