We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and lovely hosts”
Review of Willow House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Willow House Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Pictou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fernie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value for money and lovely hosts”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Enjoyed 2 nights in this lovely B&B. While the standards are not for everyone -furnishings need some updating (older, worn carpets and wallpaper) the linens were new and clean, and the towels were huge, fluffy and plentiful. The way I saw it, it was like staying at Auntie Debby and Uncle Jamie's- friendly, warm, inviting and a little worn around the edges. I liked the fact that it didn't feel like a Marriot. And at $60/night in July, I liked that it wasn't priced like a Marriot either. I enjoyed relaxing with a beer (which my hosts kindly chilled for me) in the lounge with the owners after I arrived, they shared lots of local info and stories. Both are from the area and full of useful details and suggestions and are delightfully honest and friendly.

My room on the 3rd floor shared a recently renovated bathroom with my neighbours and had a lovely big comfy bed. The A/C unit was mercifully quiet enough to leave on all night on the fan setting, which was essential on the insanely humid days I was there. TV was small but worked fine. There's also a huge selection of 'take-a-book-leave-a-book' which is great on a long visit.

Breakfast includes tasty homebaking and a single hot option as well as toast, coffee and juice & a selection of home-made spreads. (and possibly cereals, not sure about this) I'm not at my most chatty first thing in the morning and prefer a quiet breakfast with my book, so when I opted not to squeeze myself into the one remaining set place at the 'family' table with 7 pairs of eyes watched my every move ready to grill me with the usual 'where-are-you-from-where-have-you-been-where-are-you-going-how-long-are-you-here', the hosts graciously reset a place for me at the other table.

Room Tip: Rooms with shared bathrooms are excellent value if you don't mind 2 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    30
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
60
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miramichi, Nb. Canada
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We recently return from a road trip through Nova Scotia...and our last night we had the pleasure of staying at Willow House B & B.
We don't usually stay at B & B's..but after this experience.. we are going to be making it a habit...and great price...
The home is old..but in good repair..and well done..We stayed in The King Room....with ensuite...very nice & large..
Jamie & Deb are a delight...perfect for being hosts of a B & B....
Breakfast was delight...and plentiful...
Would we stay there again...Definitely..
Pictou..is also a place you should see..so much History...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I had a book at another Inn in town who were most boorish and I left in disgust. The owners of this in came to the rescue. The bed was comfortable, the AC worked and the price was right. It is however dated but some like that charm like a massive claw foot tub. I have no complaints

Room Tip: They will accept Pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

wonderful place. very reasonably priced. We sat with Debby and Jamie in the evening and had a nice time. The room was huge. Breakfast was done very well. Not a lot to do in town in the pouring rain. We did find Carvers at Jamies suggestion. It was a nice local time. Drank and played trivia. What a hoot!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2d. It was a huge room with a king bed. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phraater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was our first visit to Pictou and I do not think we will go back. The Breakfast was good the host were friendly (a bit to OTT for me) sadly the rooms need a bit of TLC the decor look very tired, the bed was clean but have slept in much better ones. It did not help that Pictou seemed to close at 6pm except Shelias Diner, So to eat at somewhere other thean Shelias you had to go out of Pictou.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crankyveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was our favourite B&B of our 3 week trip.Wish we could have stayed longer. Jamie the host was just a pleasure. You felt so welcome. The rooms were beautiful, the blue floral wallpaper in my Mother's room was perfect while my husband and I enjoyed the King suite in green tones, so appropriate for the age of the home. Breakfast was a delight and thoughtfully presented. Enjoyed every minute.

Room Tip: perfect rooms, perfect charm, perfect hosts, you can do no better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leer850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

In a quaint little fishing village we found this wonderful B&B. The owner, Jamie, was very welcoming and helpful. The room was large, nicely decorated, king bed comfortable and ensuite bath very nice. You can walk to the waterfront, pubs and restaurants easily. You won't find a better value. The breakfast was really good and plentiful and offered a variety i.e. cereals, fresh fruit and cooked dishes. We loved staying at the Willow House.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
0.8 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Pictou Puffin Bed and Breakfast
4.6 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
0.4 mi away
Customs House Inn
Customs House Inn
#9 of 12 in Pictou
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow House Inn

Property: Willow House Inn
Address: 11 Willow Street, Pictou, Nova Scotia, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pictou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Willow House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome our guests with warm Maritime hospitality. A registered Historic property with spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. A short walk from downtown, the waterfront, restaurants, entertainment and across the street from a very nice walking trail.We are famous for our breakfasts and homemade jams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Willow House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willow House Inn Pictou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing