We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing sweet or 'suite' about the third floor. It's horrible.”
Review of Willow House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Willow House Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Pictou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing sweet or 'suite' about the third floor. It's horrible.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We reserved this B&B last minute while on the 8pm ferry from PEI to NS. To secure a room (with less than 2h arrival time) we had to leave our credit card details, which we did. The B&B was easy to find and nearby the ferry, which was nice for the late arrival. Unfortunately, our prepaid reserve put us up in the tight quarters of the space restricted third floor. Poorly hung wallpaper, thrift store quality furniture, uncomfortable beds and pillows were all still present further to the terrible review from November 2010 (“Only slightly better than sleeping on a park bench...”). I kept my shoes on in the bedroom and the bath as old buckled carpet looked and felt dirty underfoot.
We are avid travellers and have stayed in many european B&B's, this being one the first Canadian B&B's for us. Jamie and Debbie represented as friendly hosts, but I can confidently say this is one of the worst kept places I have ever stayed. I would never ask someone to stay in conditions we paid for (I can't believe I didn't walk out), and it concerns me that it is okay to them to offer customers such grim accommodation. I don't know what standard Canada Select is using, but I will be reporting the conditions we experienced to that entity.

Room Tip: Don't stay here until they spend some money and fix the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lvs_t_trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    29
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
19
60
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freeland, MI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The couple who own this B & B welcome you into their home as though you were old friends. For the first time, I even went downstairs after dinner to enjoy the homey atmosphere with other guests and looked forward to seeing them at breakfast. We had a suite of 2 rooms and our own bathroom on the 3rd floor with privacy, quiet, clean surroundings, and charming decorating. We hated to leave the next morning - would have like more nights here. What better rating is there?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at the Willow House Inn the night before taking the ferry to Prince Edward Island. It was very convenient to catch the first morning ferry from there, and we had plenty of time to enjoy the delicious breakfast before we left. The hosts were very helpful, and the food was excellent. Although the house was clean and comfortable, it is not decorated in period pieces and needs some updating. It is within walking distance of downtown shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We spent two nights at Willow House Inn in July and loved it and the town of Pictou. Don't hurry to or from the ferry but stay at Willow House to enjoy the hospitality of Debby and Jamie, their delicious breakfast and friendly conversation and advice. We enjoyed sitting on their porch in the evening speaking and drinking a complimentary glass of wine. Tdhe Inn is right in town and a few minutes walk from the harbor. The town is very pretty, especially in the evening and around sunset. Using Pictou as a base we spent a day driving west on route 6 stopping off to visit such places as the Seafoam Lavender Farm, the Lismore Sheep Farm, the town of Tatamagouche with its Creamery and Train Station Inn and restaurant and went on the tour of the local Jost winery, all fun things to do and get a chance to see an untouristed part of the island. On the way back we stopped at Waterside beach. From Pictou the ferry to P.E.I. is a short drive away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyc44831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We first came across the Willow House Inn by accident, and frankly it was the best accident to have happened to us. We have now stayed there 5 times over the past 2 years and NEVER had reason to be unhappy with the service, accommodation or the breakfasts.
Ahh breakfast, the most important meal of the day is just that at the Willow House with gourmet food freshly cooked every morning and home made jams you want to sneak into your luggage to take home. The rooms are wonderfully furnished and there is ample parking for all the rooms.
Always a welcoming smile, and knowledge about the area if you are touring.

Room Tip: Ask for the Princess Room (smile)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We rent a room at the Willow House in Pictou and we had only good things to say about our night. Our host Jamie greet us and after noticing how desperate we where for a cold drink after a hot day on the motorcycle offer us two cold beers, we where very gratefull. The place is really nice if you like historical home, situation is perfect and the room was perfect. Great evening on the lawn with others guest and breakfast was excellent considering the numbers of guests.
Highly recommend...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWPrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We visited a friend who lives nearby and booked directly at the Willow House. Offers and e-mail were quick and straightforward. Since we were a party of three, we booked the two bedroom suite, which turned out was just perfect for us.
The rooms are small as the house is very old, but in good shape. Everything was in working order and the whole building has a charm only old and genuine building can have. The staircase is very narrow and steep.
The hosts were very friendly and letting feel us welcome. Not to speak of the freshly cooked breakfast that you don't get in any motel or hotel. Delicious.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 448rf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
0.8 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
238 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Pictou Puffin Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Customs House Inn
Customs House Inn
#11 of 12 in Pictou
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow House Inn

Property: Willow House Inn
Address: 11 Willow Street, Pictou, Nova Scotia, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pictou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Willow House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome our guests with warm Maritime hospitality. A registered Historic property with spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. A short walk from downtown, the waterfront, restaurants, entertainment and across the street from a very nice walking trail.We are famous for our breakfasts and homemade jams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Willow House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willow House Inn Pictou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing