We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebration”

Settlers Saltwater Cafe
Ranked #12 of 40 Restaurants in Pictou
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We invited about 50 people and had appetizers and drinks all evening. The food was served hot and was very tasty. Owner and staff were very accommodating and friendly. A grand time was had by all. Plan your next get together here! We were all inside but they also have a nice deck with seating that is right on the water. Have a Blueberry Grunt; they are exceptional.

Helpful?
1 Thank Visitvango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    36
    18
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a late lunch yesterday at this restaurant. I had the angus burger (homemade, not frozen) and my husband had the fish and chips. We both enjoyed our meals immensely; they were piping hot and reasonably priced. We sat on screened in deck overlooking the water. There were about 5 other tables of diners, service was great. We were concerned that we would run late for the ferry back to PEI, but service was very quick. Will definitely go here again, the next time we are in Pictou. This place is not fine dining, but very good for pub-style restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Maybe a bad night”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Overpriced lobster special, overpriced and overcooked snow crab leg special, they ran out of wine coolers, they ran out of Jameson whiskey, they ran out of mashed potatoes, the chowder was not up to par. And this was a Friday night. I wonder if they had any supplies left by the end of the weekend.

Service was very good but it seems like management is lacking. Atmosphere is a nice pub style. I was really looking towards a good Nova Scotia seafood meal but it did not happen. And really how can you over steam crab legs but they did.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GoDolphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pub Seafood! yum”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A nice pub seafood place on the ocean..what better can you get. The seafood was amazing..when I asked to have it cooked a certain way..they said no problem. The whole experience was amazing.. fresh food. great service from Kathy and all the staff. I would definitely recommend this to someone who wants a cold drink and fresh chowder(seafood) yummy

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have eaten here several times and have not been disappointed. On this visit we had our young granddaughters with us. We were a little concerned because our youngest has a fish allergy, but after speaking to the waitress we knew what to order for her to insure that she didn't have any fish contact.
The food was hot and served quickly even though it was one of the busiest weekends in Pictou, Lobster Carnival. The servers were very nice and friendly. They have a good variety of beers on tap also. Sitting on the screened patio is great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gjsamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Settlers Saltwater Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Settlers Saltwater Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing