We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our second visit here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Castello

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Novello
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Al Castello
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Novello
Certificate of Excellence
tigliole, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our second visit here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

While the rooms are not luxurious, you have to remember that you are sleeping in an ancient castle that has been redone and opened to the public.

Beds are comfortable and the rooms has most amenities.

Breakfast is surpassed only by a hotel we stayed at in Istanbul

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: all very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pratomorone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Situated on a hilltop in a small village near Cuneo, this castle is almost surrealistic in its appearance. It is one of the most romantic places I ever stayed. The rooms are not luxurious, but very atmospheric and there is an enormous terras with a unique view of the sourroundings, the village and the distant Alps. We had no opportunity to try the food as the kitchen was closed that day, but had a really wonderful meal at a restaurant in the village itself. In spring, summer or fall, this place is more than special and certainly worth the detour when you are visiting Piemonte!

Room Tip: Ask for a room adjoining the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights this past November. At the far edge of a very small but charming town, it was a beautiful castle. Our room was on the top floor (2nd floor) a suite with a large terrace past the bathroom. It was very large and decorated with seemingly antique wooden furniture.

I would definitely recommend this place for its reasonable price, friendly staff and the views from the terrace.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiffysPillowBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This place is wonderful in so many ways. Run by italians, you get embraced by italian hospitality. The chef and his wife who run the restaurant are so wonderful - the food is amazing and she is full of wine recommendations! ask for a tour of the cellar in the basement. I hesitate to recommend this place because I want to keep it a secret - we travel to the region a lot and this is by far one of our favourite places, if not THE favourite. Location is wonderful - the view from the balcony is to die for. The walls are a bit thin, but the rest of the place is so wonderful, this is just a minor detail.

Room Tip: go for a suite! not that much more expensive and truly CHARMING
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mad2live482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

It's gothic and awesome and a great value. Sit in a swing on the extremely large upper terrace with tremendous views of the entire valley and town. The food is 5 star! There are snacks and drinks available all day. The suites are really large and very comfortable and have their own sitting area in the turrets. It's charming and clean and the hosts and staff are very nice. Have you ever had your own key to a castle? I would also say this is a perfect place for a destination wedding. The little town is so quaint. It's just perfect. Yes, you could say we enjoyed our stay. June 2012.

Room Tip: Choose a suite. Why not? It's affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Gorgeous facilities! Their web site does not do the castello justice - we stayed in the Rosa Suite, expecting an extra-large room, but it turned out to be an actual 2-bedroom suite with anteroom, bathroom and a huge patio with vineyard and mountain views. The staff was super kind and accommodating. We thought this was an great value and would come back here for our next trip exploring Barolo and Barbaresco.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tchfunkta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed in the castel twice: one in the amazing baldacchino suite, which is worth every cent and gives you the feeling of being a royal family and the second time in a standard room, which has the bathroom in the tower and a very large terasse... really nice. Great location near to La Morra, Alba and Barolo. Friendly staff. Good breakfast in the cavalery room: home made cakes, honey, truffle cheese, salami, biscuits, etc. The castle is spectacular from the outside as well as all the internal rooms. We can highly recommend it. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BB_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novello
11.7 mi away
Castello di Guarene
Castello di Guarene
#1 of 3 in Guarene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Torri - Hotel
Le Torri - Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castiglione Falletto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antico Borgo Monchiero
Antico Borgo Monchiero
#1 of 1 in Monchiero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Somaschi Hotel
Somaschi Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cherasco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
3.4 mi away
Corte Gondina Boutique Hotel
4.8 mi away
Hotel Castello di Sinio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Castello

Property: Al Castello
Address: Piazza Guglielmo Marconi 4, 12060 Novello, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Novello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Novello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novello Castle is an original neo-Gothic building standing on the remains of a medieval area. Once it belonged to the "Del Carretto" marquisate and later to the "Oreglia" marquisate. Some of the original remains are still emerging from the old manor-house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing