We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality in great location & dog friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Novello
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Azienda Agricola Stra
Basel
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality in great location & dog friendly”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Wonderful stay for my family including the dog who played happily with the owners dogs while we tasted the local wines and ate local hazlenuts infront of a roaring fire. In October it was a bit too cold for the children to venture into the pool but they did enjoy the breakfasts, with fresh bread brought to the room, the overflowing baskets of fruit, and the comforable beds. We emjoyed chatting to the very warm and friendly owner ( English no problem) and strolling down a good network of footpaths to neighbouring villages like Barolo.

Room Tip: Ask for family apartment if travelling wiht children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Fantastic stay !!! my first contact with italian agroturismo... and I am now a great fan !

Many many thanks for the memorable stay, even for only one night. The family is nery kind and nice, they show me the winery, wineyard, and the fantastic area around the farm. I never saw somebody speaking with so much love and passion about grapes and wine.

The accomodation was a big appartement wiith all comfort, full equiped kitchen, bath, everything. No TV in the badroom, i dindt missed it :-) Modern and big bathroom.

Mini bar content (soft drinks and water) for free, one bottle of high class housewine for free, breakfast for free (fresh bred, lokal bio food like ham, salami, cheese, butter). Everything prepaired with very much love :-)

Free use of a lounge with cigars and drinks, free wine tasting, free WIFI

fresh clean air, quiet envirement and nature pure

Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulwien1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Yes, Maresa can read the ideas. And she did it extremely good. If you want to relax and enjoy a heartful host. You are at the right spot here. It starts with a wonderful breakfast, bread in a basket, two homemade cheeses...sitting outside on the balcony and observing the spot. You feel like the king of the wines at the STRA Winery.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHEWFAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We discovered Stra through friends who have been there and we found perfect hosts who strive to make your stay very pleasant.
They are really pleased to welcome their guests. They propose a nice free wine tasting of wines of their own vineyard that are very good. The rooms are very spacious, confortable and nicely decorated. We had fresh roses in our room. Everything is very clean. There are nice sitting area adjacent to each rooms.
They offer a fantastic breakfast in your own well equipped small kltchen :eggs, cheeses of the region, salami, fruits of the farm, jam, honey, bread, cake, butter and Illy coffee.
You can relax in the garden with a magnificient view over Barolo country side.
If you want to hike in the vineyards, there are walks starting from there.
There are nice restaurants in Novello and Baralo nearby.
We highly recommand this Agriturismo.
Lise-Anne Desjardins

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULGRANDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

For wine country lovers or wine connoisseurs alike, this is an absolutely beautiful place to relax at.
In the mids of the Barolo wine region the Stra family certainly knows how to welcome guests and make them feel right at home. We had the rare opportunity travelling with my brother and his spouse to the Torino area ans ultimately to this lovely winery. They had been there a few times before and could not have suggested a better place to spend a few days. Impeccable accommodations with nothing amiss. A city hotel would have a hard time providing the same level of service as the Stra family provided. Upon arrival there was a bottle of there wine opened as a welcome drink along with some freshly baked hazelnut chocolate sweets and bread sticks. Maresa and Roberto along with there son Paulo and Grandma where such welcoming people,
it seemed like we had known them for ages, so warm and welcoming. I like to mention that they do not have just a room to put you up in....they're all apartments! Very comfortable and great views of there winyards.and surrounding areas. It' s my understanding that in the fall when the skies are a bit more clear, one can see the Alps in the distance.
The apartment also has a well stocked kitchen if one wants to make use of cooking for themselves. As is customary in Italy, a complimentary breakfast is always included. Every day fresh rolls and breads where delivered and the fridge always has fresh cheeses,salami, butter, farmfresh eggs, preserves, honey and juices, coffee and milk/ cream, etc. , fresh fruits right from there garden. It just does not get any better.
They also have a pool available for some much needed kick back time with a bottle of there wines.
Delicious...!
Do explore the surrounding areas and towns, very picturest. About a kilometer or so away is a couple of good restaurants we like to recommend. The Barabuc Hotel/ Restaurant and L'Angola di Rosina. Both are very good, just bring a good appetite, since one will sample several courses of there fine cuisines. And yes the prices are very reasonable. Yes we like to return some day, this a place that grows on you in a heartbeat.
La dolce vita !

Room Tip: Ask for the Apartment with the two bedrooms above the wine cellar if you travel with family members...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Last year, we visited the winery of the Stra family for a wine tasting and found Maresa so welcoming that we decided to come back and stay at the Azienda for a few days. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. Each room has an ensuite bathroom and a separate kitchen and living space. All rooms have their own outside sitting area, lit up by large candles in the evening. They fridge is stocked with local cheeses, salami, jams, milk and juice for your self-service breakfast. There is also fresh fruit from from the farm garden. Fresh bread arrives in a lovely basket in the morning. There is also a communal outside area with comfortable chairs and sombreros overlooking the rolling hills of the Barolo region. Wine-tastings take place in a vaulted room in the old part of the house where Maresa explains about the different vines grown in the area and presents the wines grown and bottled on their estate. The tasting culminates in a sampling of their majestic Barolo wine. Next door to the wine tasting room, there is a guest lounge with easy chairs and a fireplace. There is a whole range of Grappas and liqueurs to sample as 'digestivo'. When sitting in the lounge, you will almost certainly be joined by the two friendly farmdogs, Dino, a Jack Russel and Tobia, who looks like an Italian version of a Welsh sheepdog.
Roberto is passionate about his wine and is very happy to take you on a guided tour through the cellars or show you the vinyards. They are a wonderful family and make you feel so welcome. Nothing is too much trouble.
The Azienda Agricola Stra is located on the Barolo footpath. In the evenings, we walked on the path for 20 minutes to the restaurants in Novello. The way back was magical because our way was lit by fireflies!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristaJos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We had a fabulous time staying at Stra! There was a warm welcome from this family-run wine farm and agriturismo where Maresa stocks up the fridge with top quality edible treats, bread arrives in a basket outside the falt every morning. The wines from the farm are available to taste and buy, and there is a super drawaing room with digestifs laid-out at guests disposal.

A real gem, I can't recommend it highly enough for people who want a low-key, agriturismo experience in the wine country. We visited with our 9-month old baby and she was accommodated brilliantly with high chair, cot and typical Italian warmth and smiles!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novello
2.3 mi away
Corte Gondina Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Green Guesthouse Affittacamere
0.9 mi away
La Rosa Gialla
La Rosa Gialla
#1 of 11 in Barolo
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Giolitta Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Hotel Barolo
Hotel Barolo
#8 of 11 in Barolo
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rosso di Sera
Rosso di Sera
#1 of 5 in Novello
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azienda Agricola Stra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azienda Agricola Stra

Property: Azienda Agricola Stra
Address: Localita Ciocchini 5, 12060 Novello, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Novello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Novello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For five generations, in our wine estate we have lived and worked according to remarkably effective yet simple methods; we have combined today’s indispensable technological innovations to the love of our forefathers for this land, its fruits and the job itself. And it is perhaps this genuineness that gives our wines a true and sensitive soul.Spending a few days in our farmhouse means sharing with us the joy of a simple way of life and paying special attention to the quality of every single thing. This is an aim we want to convey to every new guest so that we can feel, from the very beginning, among old friends.The apartments are comfortable although they are not luxurious, just as it should be in a typical country dwelling. Every apartment is composed by a double room, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, towel heater, daily cleaning service, living room with equipped kitchen. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing