We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairly quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Libano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan de la Maguana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel El Libano
South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fairly quiet location”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Good value away from loud music. Double room $40 US. Wifi worked. Beds fine. The bar upstairs closes early. Nice sitting area in lobby for relaxing. Cold water coolers in hall. Near the catholic cathedral and park. Easy walk from Carib bus stop.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SCDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
3
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I've stayed here several times over the last fews years and have always found it to be clean and the owners are trying to improve the hotel all the time.Granted its not a resort and not quite what we might expect in America.That said I brought a group of 20 including wife and daughter and everything was good.The roof top restaurant and its owner Jesus gave us excellent food and the views are great.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We had a group of 11 here for a week in Dec 2012 and found the hotel to be clean, with a good supply of hot water, decent food, nice cold beer and friendly enough staff. Fantastic panoramic view from three sides of the top floor restaurant and a seating area on the adjacent roof. No trouble with the plumbing as long as toilet paper goes in the basket, not in the toilet, as is the standard in Latin America.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

In an attempt to write a well-rounded review, I will begin with the good.
GOOD
The hotel is located in the center of the main part of town and is near a few restaurants and a Bon heladeria. There is a small local gym as well as a few playing fields near by. There is wi-fi that only reaches only a few rooms above and below the 2nd floor lobby area. There are water coolers located on each floor. The overall common areas are fairly clean and neutrally decorated. One big plus is the top floor common area that features a pool table, dominoes, bar, tv's, and restaurant. They can provide meals, drinks, etc. for a large group to meet which makes for a nice meeting area. It is open late and they will allow you to pay for items at a later time. The rooms have queen sized beds and featured AC, fans, and cable television. Most rooms have a window, which is a must, and good sized showers.
THE BAD
The owner seems to be unresponsive to the needs of his guests. During a weeklong stay with a large group, one room was infested with bed bugs. The guests were allowed to switch rooms, but the manager and owner were very non chalant about responding in a prompt manner. The switch was made around 9 pm and the owner had already gone home for the evening. When dealing with bed bugs, the best thing to do is quarantine all potentially affected items and wash/dry them as soon as possible. We alerted the owner of this remedy, yet he would not drive back to his business to deal with our requests. His reply was to arrive early in the morning to allow us to use the laundry services of the hotel. Yet he did not seek us out in the morning, nor allow us to use the washer/drier. We were able to convince the restaurant staff to allow us to use the machines and two hours later, the owner was still nowhere to be found. The owner later put blame on us for possibly bringing the bugs to his hotel and did not console either guests for the obvious bites that each person was dealing with.
THE BED BUGS were alive and walking on the mattress on that final night of stay in room 28. Please look up bed bug signs before staying here so that you know what to look for.
The owner is also owner of the store below and only offered a minimal discount of $3 for the temporary replacement luggage we had to buy. His unresponsiveness and dismissive attitude are not what many travelers have become accustomed to when dealing with hotel management in the United States. He was very defensive and did not take simple steps to assure the guests that he was doing everything he could to make our stay a pleasant one.

I would not recommend anyone to stay in this hotel until the owner can display a notice from the Public Department of Health. He promised to confer with them to talk about the infestation of bed bugs. I would also not recommend anyone to pay for their room until they visually inspect the mattress that they are staying on because we saw the room attendant in room 28 making up the bed as if nothing ever happened.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank habitatbuilder2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan de la Maguana hotels

Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
255 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Center city old San Juan is not so picturesque, and the hotel truly reflects this sentiment. Old, dated, dirty, and major issue with sewage. Shower when scheduled or else tomorrow... don't flush when told not to or else... Now I would have given the hotel a terrible rating, but when there is nothing else, what am I to say? Maybe you should just avoid this region entirely?

Not for me!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monmouthprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jaun De la maguana, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Rooms decent size, hot shower with an abundance of hot water, bottled water provided. Food adequate. Roof top resturaunt/bar friendly service. Safe section of town.

Not a resort hotel or anything like that. Clean and safe place to stay when you happen to be in this part of the world

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Griffingoalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan de la Maguana
42.6 mi away
Hotel Guarocuya
Hotel Guarocuya
#6 of 6 in Barahona
23 reviews
49.9 mi away
Casa del Mar Lodge
Casa del Mar Lodge
#1 of 6 in Barahona
113 reviews
42.4 mi away
Hotel Loro Tuerto
Hotel Loro Tuerto
#3 of 14 in Barahona
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Mar
Hotel Monte Mar
#1 of 1 in Azua
10 reviews
33.5 mi away
Altocerro Villas, Hotel & Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Libano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Libano

Property: Hotel El Libano
Address: Trinitaria 33, San Juan de la Maguana, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Juan Province > San Juan de la Maguana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan de la Maguana
Also Known As:
Hotel El Libano San Juan De La Maguana, San Juan, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing