We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Never disappointed here. Clean tidy and well maintained. When we stayed it was a sold out weekend and thankfully we had booked long in advance.

The ladies who do the breakfasts are amazing. They keep the food stocked and warm right up to the last minute! I even saw one of them going around to tables with kids with a toy basket.

Our room was small, but it suited our needs with a fold out couch and a king bed. We only needed a place to lay our heads for 2 nights while attending a family function.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kikisweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

My boyfriend and I drove 5 hours to Barrie for a concert. We were stuck in bumper to bumper traffic the whole way there and couldn't wait to finally get to the hotel to relax. When we arrived at our room, we were very disappointed. The "suite" was like a regular room with a microwave. The rugs and couch were dingy and gross and the bathroom was tiny. We overlooked all of the filth because we were eager to rest before the concert. When we arrived back to the hotel after the concert our room was very warm, so we turned on the air conditioning. It was incredibly loud. There was ticking and clanking sounds coming from the vent which made for a difficult night sleep. At around 6 a.m., we were woken by a loud bang noise that continued every few minutes. I thought that maybe it was the maid banging stuff around and that it would stop shortly. After ten minutes, I looked into the hall and determined that it was actually the door to the stairs that was slamming shut as people made their way to the lobby. The walls were so paper thin, that we could also hear every word our fellow guests were saying as they made their way downstairs. I am normally a VERY heavy sleeper but the noise was so loud that sleep was impossible.

You can imagine our disappointment and frustration after such a long day of driving, to have such a restless night sleep, and such an early morning. Not a good place to go if you are looking to relax and unwind. Hopefully they will fix the slamming door situation ASAP.

Room Tip: The walls in this hotel are paper thin!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Lauren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarrieManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us.

I am very sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your visit, resulting in a less than satisfactory stay for you. Our goal is to ensure every guest has a warm, welcoming and comfortable experience and we didn't meet that goal with your stay.

I do appreciate your comments and we will certainly look into the issues you expereinced so we may correct it going forward.

I hope we are able to welcome you back for another visit so you may experience the great service and facility we are best known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Room was great...I wish my own home was as nice... Breakfast set me up for most of the day...lots of choice and good enough to make me want to overeat. The bed was so comfortable my wife had to pry me out.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarrieManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for choosing us for your trip to Barrie and for taking the time to post a review.
We appreciate your comments and are so pleased we were able to play a park in making your stay so comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Barrie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Upside: Booked a Queen Suite and had lots of room. Kids loved pool. Great hotel. Free Financial Post was nice. Coffee was superb and readily available. Downside: Scrambled eggs for breakfast seemed to be made of powder.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarrieManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to post a review about your stay with us.

Thank you also for your comments about the eggs. Hilton has a new and improved egg offering for our breakfast buffets and is in the process of rolling them out area by area.

We appreciate you choosing us to accommodate you and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Loved the spacious rooms and excellent service. The only downfall was that the breakfast area was packed and we didn't get a chance to eat there. Other than that, very comfy stay. The only downfall is the taps. I hate spray taps. Every hotel should have an option.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank mightysergei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarrieManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed such a positive experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Excellent hotel! The front desk (Autumn) was terrific to deal with after a long drive. Her bright personality and helpfulness was most certainly a bonus at a exceptionally clean and overall friendly hotel.
It is only minutes away from Dunlop St. which has food and entertainment to fit most any taste.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CTBlueS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarrieManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for such kind words about our hotel, staff and especially about Autumn!
We are pleased to hear you had such a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Barrie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for 6 nights, the rooms are spacious, beds are good and the bathrooms are huge. Very friendly and helpful staff, especially Brenda at the Breakfast Buffet - what a gem! Everyone should be so lucky to have an employee like her! Not as impressed with the Buffet itself - scrambled eggs have that weird "powdered egg" consistency - unless you can serve real eggs, don't bother - just a Continental would suffice. Coffee was good though! Also agree that a mini fridge would be nice - there is certainly space in the room. All in all the hotel was fine for what we needed. Think I would try a different hotel next time, just to compare.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarrieManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to post a review.

Brenda will be so happy to see your comments when we show her! She is a great asset to our team of caring staff.

The eggs are something Hilton has addressed and we are just waiting our turn for the new products to come our way. It is an item being introduced an area at a time.

Thank you again and we do hope to see you at the Hampton Inn again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
1.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
0.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
13.5 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie

Address: 74 Bryne Dr, Barrie, Ontario L4N 9Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range: £62 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly team at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton® Barrie wants you to feel right at home even before you make it to your spacious, comfortable room. Help yourself to a warm cup of coffee or tea as you check in and get your room key. Our lobby service is always fresh, 24 hours a day. After a fun-filled day of strolling along downtown Barrie or along the banks of Lake Simcoe, explore the options at our hotel in Barrie. A refreshing swim in our heated indoor Saltwater pool & hot tub or an invigorating workout in our exercise room may be just what you need to cap off the day. However if you’d simply rather stay in and relax, enjoy your complimentary in-room movie channel on a 37" HDTV flat-screen television, or rent a latest release pay-per-view movie. Begin each day with our delicious complimentary hot breakfast buffet with plenty of options or if your in a hurry take advantage of our breakfast-on-the-run bags. Email vacation photos to friends and family back home from the peaceful comfort of your room, which is equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access. Business or leisure, the Hampton Inn & Suites Barrie should be your next choice...we love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Barrie Hotel Barrie
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Barrie
Hampton Inn Barrie
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Barrie Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing