We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horseshoe Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barrie Motel(Barrie)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,154)
Filter reviews
1,154 results
Traveller rating
309
323
224
163
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
309
323
224
163
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrazy horsemini golfloft suitecopeland housetreetop trekkingrock climbingsnow tubingski hillmarch breakrecommend this resortnight skiinglift ticketssitting areaski tripnice resortoutdoor activitiesgreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
864 - 869 of 1,154 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Check in was quick, efficient and friendly. Thanks to Matt at the front desk and also Matt in reservations who answered my questions the week leading up to our getaway. The front desk solved our problems (no corkscrew!!) in record time. Our room was a standard 2 queen, loved the linens, and very clean and I'm very picky! The bathroom was again very clean and very spacious. We had a great time snowboarding and even managed to get a table at the Crazy Horse Restaurant in less than 5 minutes even though it was packed. Food was very tasty as was the beer! Enjoyed the hot tub, wasn't as peaceful since there were young families (we had left ours at home) but very understandable. All in all, we would definitely go again, but I would like to strongly recommend some kind of breakfast room service for those of us who have a spouse who likes to sleep in ;)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and for posting your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the Matt's so helpful. Your comments will be shared with them and we will ensure we reward them through our colleague recognition program.

We do hope to see you back - and do not hesitate to ask us about breakfast in your room. Although it is not a regular service, we certainly can pull it off!!

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were at the Horsehoe Resort February 14-15, 2014. We rented the two bedroom condo. We were extremely pleased with everything during our stay! Everyone from check-in thru lift operators were extremely efficient and friendly. We had purchased the ski & stay package, and found it very valuable. We had requested early check-in and were extremely pleased to find our room ready for our use upon our arrival. Thank-you Horsehoe Resort! We hope to be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for giving us a try!!

We are delighted you enjoyed the ski and stay packaging so much. We do attempt to use packages to drive the greatest value in all seasons. Thank you for pointing out the warm service you received and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

All the best,

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I went for our first two nights of our honeymoon to the loft suites at Horseshoe. Very beautifully laid out with a stunning loft and washroom!! The staff were super friendly and a big big thank you to George, one of the staff at front desk, who was amazing!

We will definitely recommend this place to our friends!!!

Michael

Room Tip: Get the loft suites
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael000001984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Congratulations on your marriage and thank you for choosing to spend time with us on such a special occasion!

George will be thrilled to see your comment and we will ensure he is recognized via our points program for colleagues. Very glad you enjoyed the recently renovated loft suite - they are perfect for a romantic getaway.

Many happy returns,

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

After reading many reviews on here, I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival how pleasant and helpful the staff was. We were fortunate to be able to check in early and received a beautifully renovated room with a fireplace. Although the fireplace was more for appearance and didn't seem to dry out our snowboarding gear, it was nice to look at.

Food:
We ate lunch at the Crazy horse, and had to wait to be seated for about 20 minutes even though there were plenty of free tables. The hostess seemed very overwhelmed and I am guessing they were short severs...which seems odd for a weekend. Food was tasty and delivered in a timely manner.

At around 845pm we headed to the Silks and was told they were closing early and that we would have to order in 2 minutes if we wanted to eat.

We went to the front desk to inquire about where we could buy some bottled water, and was told everything was closed. The little store in the main lobby closed very early.

We asked if there was a map of the resort, and what was provided was such poor quality it was useless. It would be nice to have known where all these dining options were, and other attractions, as we only found the hills, pools, silks and crazy horse.

Also, I guess they were trying to push timeshares, so upon arrival be prepared for someone to try and convince you to go to the time share meeting.

Overall we had a nice stay, the keurigs in the rooms were a nice touch. This resorts has a lot of potential but could use some minor changes.


Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelerReviews83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much for giving us a try and for taking the time to report out to the world on you experience.

Our staff really are warm and hospitable and they will be so pleased that you noticed! I thank you for the constructive hints. I will be sharing these with our leadership team immediately and working to support resolutions to these.

All the best,

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have been going for the annual moonlight cross country skiing for several years.
The quality of the experience was significantly degraded this year for the following reasons:

1. No fire and hot drinks at the Junction Point. The camp-fire in the middle of the trails was the main attraction and managements decision to remove it this year it very disappointing. Needless to say staff did not inform us about this change and we were very disappointed to find this out when we got to the middle of the trail.

2. Very poor trail lighting. In past years the trails were adequately lit using lanterns. This year there was about 3-5 lanterns along the trails. Again, felt very inadequate.

3. Rude staff. We were gathered by the fireplace near the rental house at the end of skiing and staff refused to server us hot drinks which we were lead to believe were included in the price of the activity. When inquired they simply said they 'ran out' and refused to provide any substitutes.
Also, when the event finished staff just started throwing snow and putting out the fire in very close proximity to where we were standing such that hot coals recoiled on one of our group. The staff member did not inform us that we should leave but just started throwing in snow into the fire.

Overall, I urge management to considerer the above points for the next run of this event.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Roman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you very much for your comments on the Moonlight skiing.

We will be reviewing the entire event in the context of both the positive feedback and the constructive feedback such as yours. Your review would imply that we made conscious decisions to omit certain elements or to run out of hot beverages. As 'management' I can assure you that no such decisions were made.

It is my hope that you would give the experience another try, perhaps as soon as the scheduled March 15th event.

Many thanks,

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews