We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, condo little dated, spa forgot to book me in!”
Review of Horseshoe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Horseshoe Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Sarnia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Fun place, condo little dated, spa forgot to book me in!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Rented the two bedroom condo for 4 nights. The kids had a blast at the Adventure Park, but I thought the passes were a bit pricey for the amount of time you get to use them. The park opens at 11:00 and closes at 6:00, so when we bought our tickets at 1:00 felt we had to race through the park to use up the pass because it would not be good the following day. My 6 and 4 year old quickly got exhausted and we did not get to use some of the attractions on the pass. Would have been nice to use the following day when the park opened to make up for the late start.
As for the condo. It was great for our family! Lots of room and we got lots of use out of the kitchen. Only complaint is that the room is a bit dated, could use a make over!
I was in a wedding on the Saturday and booked a full mani/pedi at 9am the day of the wedding. When I arrived for my appointment, I was not in the system despite my e-mail confirmation. They apologized and got me in for 10:00 for a quick color job as my nails were naked! When I finished they offered me a full treatment the next day, but when I told them I would not be able to use it as we had to pack up the room, and head to the wedding brunch for 11:ooam. With that being said, I still had to pay for my color treatment with no extra thought about my missed relaxation time away from the family, of which, I was truly looking forward to!

Room Tip: If you have a family, get the condo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review.

I was delighted to hear the kids had a blast in the adventure park and you found the condo unit to be comfortable & spacious for your family.

I understand you have been communicating with our Shizen Spa Manager and she has arranged for a complimentary visit for you to enjoy some relaxation time.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    263
    184
    146
    109
See reviews for
525
232
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We've stayed at Horseshoe for a long weekend each summer for the past few years to attend a baseball tournament in Orillia. It's a great place to turn the kids loose without worrying about their safety. It has everything the kids love, including indoor and outdoor pools and the Adventure Park. The rooms have been recently renovated and in general are decent, but this resort does not excel at the details. The air conditioning worked poorly - we had to have a fan brought in to cool the room down. But the in-room fridge kept the beverages nicely chilled. The food at the Crazy Horse is mediocre at best. Beyond the burgers there isn't anything I could recommend. And the prices are steep - there is no restaurant alternative within a 20 minute drive and the prices reflect this. The kids would give this place 5 stars, the parents closer to 2, so I'd saw it off at 3.5 out of 5. Just enough to keep us coming back for next year's tournament!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for posting your comments and feedback.

I am delighted the kids had such a great time with all of the activities, we really do appreciate that you return every year.

I was very disappointed to hear your comments on the Crazy Horse Restaurant and would like to turn your experience around when you do return.

Please feel free to give me a call in advance of your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterdown, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Went here with another family so 4 adults and 3 kids aged 11 and 12. Rooms were nice.First thing to know there are lots of great activities. Mini putt, climbing wall, Ogo ball (you only get 1 roll down the hill additional rolls are $7-SERIOUSLY) and ziplining plus other minor activities. Second to know, they don't open until 11AM and they close at 5PM. Short hours to get it all in and a late start for kids who are excited. Third to know, when you book only one night, you are only able to use the activities on ONE of those days. Important to know!! Another major issue was lack of knowledge. It seemed everyone we asked a question of, had a different answer. Lots of conflicting answers even from staff who were standing right next to each other. Very unprofessional, especially in a service industry. We wanted to do the The Tree Top Trekking. The hotel heavily advertises it on the website and with posters inside the hotel. When we checked in, our "service representative" told us we could book it through her. We came back approx an hour later and asked to do so and a different front desk girl told us that "They" have nothing to do with us you'll have to walk over and find out for yourself! We did just that and found they were much friendlier than the hotel staff. They didn't say much but there is clearly some sort of power struggle going on between the resort and the Trekking. For kids of a similar age, I would stay somewhere else as no breakfast was included and on site restaurants were expensive. If you stay at the hotel, get all of the details in an email prior to going as there is far too much contradicting going on at their desks. Definitely do the Tree Top Trekking. Takes approximately 3 hours and is great exercise and fun!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review.

I was disappointed to read of your experience and I want to sincerely apologize for any miscommunication.

I was happy to hear you found Treetop Trekking to be great exercise and a lot of fun. TreeTop is one of our 3rd party partners in which we have a wonderful working relationship with.

Please feel free to contact me at the resort to discuss your experience.

Thank you,
Lisa Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We spent 2 nights 3 days at Horseshoe with our 3 kids and a friend of one of our boys, ages 3, 11 &13.

There was something for everyone at the Adventure Park. The pools were great and the Mountain Bike Trails were perfect for first timers through advanced.

We stayed in the condos; the unit was just renovated. Great product. The full kitchen was an added benefit.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: There seemed to be a great selection of rooms. The lofts looked great but the new Condo was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripFAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for posting your "Great Active Family Getaway" review.

Happy to hear your family enjoyed all of our adventures and activities and our newly renovated condo suites.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Horseshoe Resort was a great resort to stay at. There are many activities for the whole family to enjoy, the rooms were flawless and the service, overall, was the best we've ever seen in many years of staying at different resorts and hotels.The condo unit that my family stayed is very nice newly renovated its like a brand new unit. Ivan the Front Office Manager and all the Front desk people are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I have forwarded your comments and feedback to the entire Horseshoe Team including our Front Desk staff.

I was very happy to hear how much your family enjoyed our new renovated condo suites and how pleased you were with the overall service at the resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have just returned from a two-night stay in a slope-side condo booked with a WagJag Jaunt offer.
A few weeks before our stay, when we read some of the negative reviews about these rooms on this very website, we asked the resort if we could be lodged in one of the renovated condo suites in the same building, only to be told that we would need to pay $60 to guarantee what the resort called an "upgrade". We took our chances but were not provided a renovated room.
As a result, we were very disappointed with our accommodations. While the condo we stayed in was spacious, it was in serious need of updating. The room smelled musty, even hours after opening the patio doors and windows. There were obvious repairs and clean-ups needed throughout the condo. Further, we were told upon check-in that there would be no housekeeping service in our building during our stay (no garbage removal, no replenishing of fresh towels, no maid service, etc.)
Having said that, we enjoyed our time in the resort's Adventure Park, but wish it opened much earlier than 11 a.m. There were countless families waiting to take part in the park's activities, which resulted in a crush of people in the Tack Shop when it finally opened.
Lunch at Crazy Horse was delicious and service was attentive.
We never did use the Shizen Spa, as we were never issued the $35 credit that was part of our WagJag package.
In the end, I wish the resort website provided more photos, and more accurate photos, of the rooms available, so that potential customers could make a more informed decision about their stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your time in the Adventure Park and Lunch at the Crazy Horse Restaurant.

The two bedroom condos are very spacious and we have been making consistent investments in the resort as we continue to renovate and improve.

The $35.00 credit at the Shizen Spa is issued post treatment upon paying for your services, please feel free to contact me regarding this.

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barrie hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have no words to thank Ivan -Front Office Manager and Kimberly - Front desk for the best customer service we have ever received at a hotel ( and we have traveled a lot all over the world!!!). They went above and beyond to assist us with a couple of issues we had with Tree Top Trekking ( a different company from Horseshoe Resort). We had an amazing weekend filled with laughs and fun. The Adventure park is amazing and my little guy enjoyed every second of it. There are tons of activities for adults and kids. This is a great resort to bring your family for a quick getaway or even longer if you can; you won't get bored. Thank you Ivan!! You are a great professional and very knowledgeable!! You guys were a big part of a wonderful weekend!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 751Adriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to post your comments and feedback on your "Fantastic Get away".

I will share your review with the rest of the Horseshoe Team specifically our Front Desk management team and the Adventure Park Staff.

I was delighted to hear both the adults and the little one enjoyed the Adventure Park with all of the activities and adventures.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Thank you!
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrie hotels
13.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
11.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
13.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
12.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
9.4 mi away
Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Resort

Property: Horseshoe Resort
Address: 1101 Horseshoe Valley Rd W, Barrie, Ontario L4M 4Y8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Horseshoe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's 4 seasons of adventure waiting for you at Horseshoe Resort, only one hour north of Toronto. Whether you're here for family fun, an inspired meeting at our Conference Centre or a romantic getaway, there's a whole world of things to do. Imagine 26 Alpine ski and snowboard runs, 35 kms of groomed double track set Nordic trails, terrain park with over 20 features, two full championship golf courses, three restaurants, Amba Spa, hot tubs, saunas, Segway Off-road Adventures, Yamaha Riding Adventures, Advenuture Buggie Tours, Treetop Trekking, Horseback riding, Hummer Tours, indoor and outdoor pool, fitness facilities and weekly classes, hiking and biking trails through the breathtaking Copeland Forest, Kids Korral and Slopeside Adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horseshoe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Hotel Barrie
Horseshoe Resort Barrie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing