We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barrie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriage Hills Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have stayed at this resort twice now and both times were great. Room is very clean and stocked with everything you would need for a weeks stay. The staff are very helpful and there when you need them. The rooms are very large with a Jacuzzi tub and vanity off the bedroom and a glass shower in the bathroom. Fridge, stove, microwave and dishwasher are included in the kitchen. The only down fall was the Wi-Fi is terribly slow but who needs to bring electronics on holidays anyway! :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Tom B,
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay. We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed your vacation at the resort for a second time. We apologize for the slow wifi service however pleased you found you enjoyed your condo-suite and found our staff helpful.
We hope you will return again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to share comments.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    144
    39
    22
    28
See reviews for
160
113
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Carriage Hills is a great resort, found in the Blue Mountain Area in Oro; north of Barrie.

The great appeal of this resort is the opportunity it provides guests to make themselves at home.

You are essentially renting an apartment, not a hotel room; and as such; you find yourself with great space to live in.

The units are generally very well taken care of and offer all the amenities you'd expect to find at home. Ownership is consistently upgrading the fixtures in all rooms, in order to keep all units modern and up to date.

The pool is located in the Carriage House, and offers great indoor and outdoor swimming from the same pool.

You'll generally find that the guests are friendly and are happy to engage in conversation about the area, their stay and just about anything in general.

Tips:
- Buy your groceries in Barrie or Orillia. The Foodland on Horseshoe Valley Road is very expensive.
- Remember the staples; butter, oil and a BBQ lighter

Room Tip: Lower floors have better wi-fi coverage.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank OntarioKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear OntarioKK,
We are delighted to read your review and we appreciate the time you took to share comments about your stay. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your condo-suite accommodation and pool. Thank you for sharing insight into your experience with our associates and adding 'tips' for future guests.
Again, thank you for posting comments and for being our guest.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed at Carriage Hills for 2 nights. The 1 bedroom suite was large and well appointed. The bathroom had two vanities and a separate shower. Adjacent to the bedroom was a large whirlpool tub. The bed was king size and comfortable. The staff at this resort are knowledgeable and offer assistance whenever you need it. There is an indoor outdoor pool which is much better than the pool at Carriage Ridge. There is hot tub and a large seating area outside. The upper floor has a work out area. The property is right beside Horseshoe Resort. You can play golf at their two courses in the summer or use the ski hills in the winter. Settlers Ghost golf course is only a mile away as well. Horseshoe has many activities and you can buy a day card and use all of them. Carriage Hills also has planed activities throughout the week for kids and adults.
You are very close to Orillia from here and can walk along the water front park, get groceries, a good lunch or visit the Stephen Leacock property that is very beautiful.
A half hour drive takes you to Wasaga the best beach on all the Great Lakes. A little further down and you will be in Collingwood a quaint little town with nice shops and good places to eat. Blue Mountain is just a bit further. It is full of activities and has a village modeled after the Village in Whistler. Beautiful place to just walk around.
If your from outside Canada or Ontario - the resort has day trips to various areas like Toronto and Niagara.
If you plan well this is a great resort to stay at with many different things around you.

Room Tip: Try to get an Upper Floor Room - Balcony is more private and it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello robert s,
We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the condo-suite, resort pool and amenities. It seems you located many of the best places to visit in the area including Wasaga beach. Your review is sure to help future guests with their vacation plans.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Lovely property and a delightful get away. The units are large, well equipped and very clean. However, the wifi was veeeeeeeeerrrrrrry sssssssslllllllllooooooowwwwwww. I was getting up early in the morning hoping that would help with the connection, but can't say that it really made much difference.

Room Tip: our room was at the end of the property; perhaps that is why the wifi was so slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Kay B,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are sorry the wifi service was poor and we are working on solutions in the coming year.
It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the unit and the resort. Thank you again for your comments and please visit again soon.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a perfect unit (downstairs and facing the woods). Everything on the inside was immaculate when we checked in with all furnishings in great shape.

The only suggestions are that the patio railings are in need of paint as ours (2110) was peeling and since many units have 4 people occupying them, there should be more than 2 patio chairs instead of having to drag two of the dining chairs outside.

I am so glad our unit faced the woods and not the parking lot!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the woods are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocky0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear rocky0424,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay and the condition of your condo-suite. After a long winter the balconies need fresh paint and look forward to taking care of them this year.
We appreciate the time you took to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We used Interval International to exchange for a studio. The area is beautiful, peaceful, and relaxing. The indoor/outdoor pools/hot tubs were great. The staff was helpful. The environs were interesting. The food in Barrie was great. We visited the longest freshwater beach in the world, took a tour of their 30,000 lakes in Georgian Bay, and ate at two excellent raw restaurants, one in Barrie and one in Collingswood. The studio was comfortable inside. Sadly, the tiny 6'x6' deck was in need of repair and, interestingly enough, part of the deck was used by the air conditioner unit which blew hot air across the deck. Not that pleasant, we had to turn the A/C off to use the deck. The free wi-fi was sooooooo sloooooow as to be unusable, but hey, no email is not a bad thing.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for ground floor if you need it, there are no elevators to the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello Cliff R,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your condo-unit, on site pool and area attractions including Wasaga Beach. We look forward to improving the condition of the balconies this year with fresh paint and we are always seeking ways to provide more consistent wifi service. Thank you for sharing your comments and tips. We look forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have stayed here often as owners. Staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are large and have fireplaces and large whirlpool bathtubs. You can use just a small unit though with a partial kitchen -it depends on your needs. It is generally very quiet and the trees offer privacy as well as the impression of being in the forest when you look out your window if in the right unit. We like being on the top floor so we do not hear anyone walking above us - this is the one area the units are a little weak, especially if there are children in the unit above you.
There is a golf course across the street and of course, Horseshoe Valley below with their course as well as numerous others close by. The place has a pool that is indoor and outdoor and a nice size hot tub. Games are available as well as DVDs for rent.

Room Tip: We like the top floor so no one walks above your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDL999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello BDL999_12,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay and highlighting the peaceful surroundings and nearby golf. It looks like you enjoyed your time at the pool and hot tub and thank you for noting the games and DVD's that are available.
We appreciate you as an owner and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrie hotels
10.6 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#6 of 19 in Barrie
929 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
4.3 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
1,123 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Hills Resort

Property: Carriage Hills Resort
Address: 90 Highland Dr | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Condo-Suites only 1 hour north of Toronto only minutes north of Barrie. Family vacations, golf & ski getaways, romantic retreats, excellent nightly rates and more! Oversized Studio suites (400 sq ft) with private balcony and kitchenette. 1- and 2-Bedroom suites (800-1200 sq ft) with fireplace, jetted tub, balcony, laundry. On site pool, hot tub, kids pool, fitness room and activities program 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage Hills Hotel Barrie
Carriage Hills Barrie
Carriage Hills Resort Barrie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing