We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We were attending a concert at the Barrie Molson Centre and this Holiday Inn Express was really close by. Located off Hwy. 400 (Mapleview exit), this hotel is also conveniently located to many places to eat and shop. We had a very friendly check-in and were given bottled water and granola bars at check-in (this may have been because we are Priority Club members). Our room was quite spacious and had a small fridge, microwave, and in-room coffee. Everything was very clean. Breakfast was provided and hot items were also available. Plenty of free parking. No complaints!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nickelcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate your wonderful review and are happy to hear you are a Priority Club Member. Our program has recently been renamed IHG Rewards! Our guests enjoy the convenience of the mini fridge and microwave in every guestroom! Many guests comment on the wonderful location our property has to offer with easy access to Highway 400 and the number of restaurants and shopping within walking distance. We certainly look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    67
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
46
44
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We found this Holiday Inn to be in the right location for what we wanted. We attended a show at Casino Rama, and the distance was about 20 minutes away. Also the price was reasonable and included an express breakfast which was nice. Also the front desk gave us a voucher for the OLGA in Barrie. When we used it we received a nice gift on behalf of the hotel and $10.00 in vouchers to use at the Barrie casino. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelica527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind remarks. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We certainly agree that the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie has an extremely convenient location and is very close to shopping, restaurants, entertainment and OLG Slots at Georgian Downs. We are happy you were able to take advantage of our free hotel guest gaming package! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We booked this hotel last minute because we had a change in plans. Great location. Front desk staff were helpful with directions.

Generally speaking, though, if a hotel room is clean, the bed is reasonably comfy, and the tv works, I'm happy. Folks that complain about stained carpets and noise in the hallways are unrealistic.....hello, it's a hotel!!!!!

Anyway, we loved this hotel and would returen.

Room Tip: If you have kids and can afford it, get a room with the second queen bed in the separate room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your great comments! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Many of our guests appreciate our great location for shopping, a variety of restaurants and easy access to Hwy #400. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Expedia and Super 8 had a miscommunication which left us without a room even though it was paid form confirmed with numbers and shown on credit card statements (The night portion). Holiday Express (which is the day portion of this review to be written shortly), and they accommodated us with cordiality and flexibility. The staff at the Holiday Inn were pleasant and kind enough to offer us a very nice room. They were keen to assist us after being so mistreated at the super 8 down the street. I recommend this hotel to people who like to be treated nicely.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobalbertca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to share your wonderful comments about the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We will definitely pass along your comments to our staff. We strive to give all of our guests exceptional service and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

This hotel is great, the customer service personnel are friendly and will do anything they need to do to make your stay pleasurable. The breakfast is great and has a wide variety of selections. The pool is nice. The rooms and spacious and clean. Will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldantimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Your comments are appreciated! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. Our Hot Express Start Breakfast is complimentary and a favourite for our guests. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on December 15th to visit family for an early Christmas dinner. Wonderful staff on check in, made us feel very welcome. Great location and will recommend to all of our friends.

Room Tip: King with living room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin Greard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your last family visit to Barrie. We do our best to ensure all of our guests receive the best possible service. Our guests love our convenient location and we appreciate you recommending our property to your friends. We will be sure to share your comments with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We were recently in Barrie for a hockey tournament and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. The custormer service was superior. The staff was courteous and friendly. The rooms were clean. The hot breakfast was perfect for our players and parents. In the evening, the staff put of signs requesting that guests be quiet in the hallways. By 10 pm all was quiet. Great weekend. We'll definately staff at the Holiday Inn Express again. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your review reflects our staff's dedication to providing excellent service to our guests. We are happy you were pleased with the guestrooms and our Hot Express Start Breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Barrie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
1,107 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
1.6 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Barrie

Property: Holiday Inn Express Barrie
Address: 506 Bryne Dr, Barrie, Ontario L4N 9P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Superior Comfort in Barrie, Ontario For the comfort and amenities you deserve, reserve a room at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Barrie, Ontario. Our hotel is convenient to Highway 400 to keep you connected to the attractions and businesses of downtown Barrie. Lodging here puts you minutes from exciting attractions, like a Colts game at the Barrie Molson Centre or a shopping trip Park Place, Tanger Outlets or to the 400 Market. For an exciting night out, you can visit one of the restaurants or other entertainment in the area or ask us about our free gaming package! In Barrie, you'll also find numerous outdoor attractions, such as the Georgian Downs Racetrack or fishing at Lake Simcoe. Are you traveling on business to Barrie, Ontario? Our hotel is convenient to many corporations, such as Mueller Canada Inc., Canplas Industries Ltd., Royal Victoria Hospital, Georgian College, YOM, Wolf Steel, and Can-Save. You are invited to use the computer and copy, fax and print services in the 24-hour Business Centre near our hotel's lobby. Barrie, Ontario's growing tourism calls for a versatile hotel like ours. We meet the needs of travelers by offering spacious rooms and with triple-sheeted bedding, microwaves, mini-fridges, Flat Screen Televisions and work areas with free high-speed Internet access to keep you connected while traveling in Barrie. Our hotel's Fitness Ctr, indoor pool and whirlpool ensure that you'll enjoy a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Hotel Barrie
Holiday Inn Barrie
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing