We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The rooms were OK and clean. The breakfast was also OK with a few warm items. While we were there the hot tub next to the pool was emptied and was cordoned off with yellow caution tape. I think a kid playing at the pool could have fallen in and gotten hurt.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daytonengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for your concerns. We did have the hot tub closed for a short period while general maintenance was being completed. The maintenance was completed on a weekday to ensure there was less traffic in the pool area. We did our best to finish this task as quickly as possible and took the precaution of cordoning off the area. We did keep the swimming pool open for our guests as children must be supervised at all times.

We take great pride in our property and appreciate your positive comments regarding the cleanliness of our guestrooms! As well, our Hot Express Start Breakfast is a favorite with many of our guests. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit to Barrie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

While traveling home from northern to southern Ontario at the end of our weeks vacation on July 7/13, my partner and I had to make an unexpected stop in Barrie due to car troubles. It was a Sunday and the car repair involved waiting for a part to be delivered from Toronto the next day, so we had to stay overnight. The Holiday Inn Express on Bryne Drive was close in proximity, so we checked in once they confirmed they would welcome our two larger dogs - each weighing 72 pounds. We were given a room on the first floor that was clean and well maintained, with a fridge and microwave and two very comfortable queen size beds. The management was also kind enough to allow us to store two coolers full of frozen meat (that we were transporting south with us) in their Breakfast Room freezer overnight, thus saving the meat from spoiling before we made it home. The breakfast they offered the next morning was a nice surprise; scrambled and hard boiled eggs, bacon, toast, pancakes, muffins, pastries and fruit were all available. We didn't have a chance to use the pool or exercise room but other guests were definitely making use of these amenities. Although not a planned stop over, the staff in this hotel certainly helped make an overnight travel delay far more pleasurable and less of a headache! We are very grateful for the high level of customer service they provided.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dovecote27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind remarks! We strive to provide excellent customer service to all of our guests including our furry friends! We are happy we were able to lend you the support you required with your unexpected stop in Barrie. We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast as it is favourite with our guests! Your comments about our staff's high level of customer service will be passed along to them! We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

A convenient, clean and quiet place to stay if you are shopping at the Cookstown outlet stores. The room was had a fridge and microwave. It was cool and comfortable. We had a ground floor room as we were travelling with a small dog. Recommended for those travelling with their pet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lafleurfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive comments about our hotel! We have wonderful housekeeping staff that work hard to provide clean rooms for our guests. It sounds like you had a great shopping trip to Tanger Outlets in Cookstown and we are very excited they will be expanding over the next year! Many of our guests enjoy the convenience of the mini fridge and microwave in each guestroom. We look forward to your next visit to Barrie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Friendly staff at the front desk.
Convenient location.
Easy access from the HWY400.
It was just a "pit stop" and we did not take the time to use a lot of their aminities but bed was very comfortable and the hotel was quiet.
The area has a lot of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooseJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review and great comments about our friendly staff! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is definitely a favourite with our guests with the choice of great restaurants, shopping and entertainment! We hope on your next visit to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie you will have more time to enjoy the rest of our amenities!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We were attending a concert at the Barrie Molson Centre and this Holiday Inn Express was really close by. Located off Hwy. 400 (Mapleview exit), this hotel is also conveniently located to many places to eat and shop. We had a very friendly check-in and were given bottled water and granola bars at check-in (this may have been because we are Priority Club members). Our room was quite spacious and had a small fridge, microwave, and in-room coffee. Everything was very clean. Breakfast was provided and hot items were also available. Plenty of free parking. No complaints!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank nickelcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate your wonderful review and are happy to hear you are a Priority Club Member. Our program has recently been renamed IHG Rewards! Our guests enjoy the convenience of the mini fridge and microwave in every guestroom! Many guests comment on the wonderful location our property has to offer with easy access to Highway 400 and the number of restaurants and shopping within walking distance. We certainly look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We found this Holiday Inn to be in the right location for what we wanted. We attended a show at Casino Rama, and the distance was about 20 minutes away. Also the price was reasonable and included an express breakfast which was nice. Also the front desk gave us a voucher for the OLGA in Barrie. When we used it we received a nice gift on behalf of the hotel and $10.00 in vouchers to use at the Barrie casino. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelica527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind remarks. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We certainly agree that the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie has an extremely convenient location and is very close to shopping, restaurants, entertainment and OLG Slots at Georgian Downs. We are happy you were able to take advantage of our free hotel guest gaming package! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We booked this hotel last minute because we had a change in plans. Great location. Front desk staff were helpful with directions.

Generally speaking, though, if a hotel room is clean, the bed is reasonably comfy, and the tv works, I'm happy. Folks that complain about stained carpets and noise in the hallways are unrealistic.....hello, it's a hotel!!!!!

Anyway, we loved this hotel and would returen.

Room Tip: If you have kids and can afford it, get a room with the second queen bed in the separate room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your great comments! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Many of our guests appreciate our great location for shopping, a variety of restaurants and easy access to Hwy #400. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
1,161 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
1.6 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie

Address: 506 Bryne Dr, Barrie, Ontario L4N 9P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range: £79 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Superior Comfort in Barrie, Ontario For the comfort and amenities you deserve, reserve a room at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Barrie, Ontario. Our hotel is convenient to Highway 400 to keep you connected to the attractions and businesses of downtown Barrie. Lodging here puts you minutes from exciting attractions, like a Colts game at the Barrie Molson Centre or a shopping trip Park Place, Tanger Outlets or to the 400 Market. For an exciting night out, you can visit one of the restaurants or other entertainment in the area or ask us about our free gaming package! In Barrie, you'll also find numerous outdoor attractions, such as the Georgian Downs Racetrack or fishing at Lake Simcoe. Are you traveling on business to Barrie, Ontario? Our hotel is convenient to many corporations, such as Mueller Canada Inc., Canplas Industries Ltd., Royal Victoria Hospital, Georgian College, YOM, Wolf Steel, and Can-Save. You are invited to use the computer and copy, fax and print services in the 24-hour Business Centre near our hotel's lobby. Barrie, Ontario's growing tourism calls for a versatile hotel like ours. We meet the needs of travelers by offering spacious rooms and with triple-sheeted bedding, microwaves, mini-fridges, Flat Screen Televisions and work areas with free high-speed Internet access to keep you connected while traveling in Barrie. Our hotel's Fitness Ctr, indoor pool and whirlpool ensure that you'll enjoy a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Hotel Barrie
Holiday Inn Barrie
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing