We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what i expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not what i expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

Checked in and left to go shopping. Came back to room tired and started to settle in only to find a pair of used womens underwear had been left on the footstool Complained to front desk and their first question was "Do you want us to remove them" NO i want a new room. They were good at getting us relocated to another room but it was after a long day already. Not the cleanest hotel i have been in for the money for sure. Getting back onto Hwy 400 is always a treat from this end of town as Barrie itself is not really set up to be driver friendly.
Check in staff and Peter on night staff were fantastic but their cleaning staff have ALOT to be desired. Temperature control is tough, the rooms were so hot we ended up running A/C on full on the 28th of December. Sons g/f would not walk in the hallway after running into an intoxicated guest wondering the hallways. Bathroom is dated and run down and the mattress has seen better days as it was very cupped to the middle. Pool looked good and we did not try the breakfast The one good thing about it was there was not a lot of hallway noise or outside noice. Lots of kids but none running the hallways which is great of the parents.
Not sure i would stay in this hotel again due to the cleanliness of it and we did end up with a lot of inconvenience to pay full rates

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crighton90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    65
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
46
41
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

We chose to stay at this hotel at the last minute when our preferred hotel could only provide a smoking room. I had seen this hotel from the outside and thought it would be an okay place to stay and a better alternative to a smoking room. While the hotel is only 6 or 7 years old, it looks and feels much older in it's guest rooms. The rooms are worn out looking with small bathrooms, cracked wallpaper, and old picture tube TV's.

The first room we were assigned was on the first floor and had a definite musty, moldy smell. When bringing this to the attention of the front desk we were offered a room that was on a higher floor. There was no smell in this room, but again, just a general feeling of being worn out and outdated. At a higher price than some other hotels in the area this was a disappointment and not evident at all from the outside of the building.

On the plus side, the complimentary breakfast in the morning was fine with hot and cold selections. The location is convenient with nice restaurants, shopping and a movie theatre in very close proximity.

However, I would rather face a smoking room at another, nicer and newer feeling hotel than stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uplandsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We booked this hotel for our hockey team,never again!!!!!.Adults sitting behind closed doors were harassed by security told to break it up.Security complained he was working too hard doing his job.No interaction between rooms was tolerated.The kids were looking forward to an enjoyable weeked but instead will remember the harassment and ignorance of hotel staff.
The hotel is overpriced at $110 a night,anyone with kids should never consider this mismanaged establishment.
I will be investigating a full refund!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottydog14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, On
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

My 3 friends and I stayed for 3 nights while attending a seminar. All of us have decided to book this hotel again next year. Our room was very spacious with a sliding door to an extra bedroom. The beds were wonderful. We appreciated the little "kitchenette" with microwave, fridge, coffemaker and an extra sink. It came in handy!
The breakfast bar surpassed our expectations, and the staff was super friendly and helpful.
We are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilla72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Hotel was a typical Holiday Inn. Very accomodating, but nothing out of the ordinary. Staff was extremely nice. Beds slept well.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

Clean hotel with comfortable bedding and a free breakfast that was more than I expected (scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage). Friendly front desk. Good location; close to nearby restaurants and the highway (400). Pool/jacuzzi is small but adequate when the hotel is isn't busy. My only complaint is that in-room internet access needs to be updated to wireless. There is a wireless signal only if you are in the lobby or nearby. About 10 minutes from the Barrie waterfront & Georgian College and 45 minutes from Canada's Wonderland.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotzasmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

We Booked a nights stay at this hotel due to an unusual overbooking situation for hotels in the Orillia area, and in doing so were treated to a very welcom suprise.

Our trip was not really about visiting Orillia or Barrie, but rather we had gone up to visit with family for the day and it is nice not to have to drive home after.

We arrived after 8:00 PM having previously reserving a suite. We had a little trepidation upon arrival seeing that the lengh of the hotel runs up a small incline and that the ground floor suites are in plain view to people walking by the window. We had that sinking feeling of You Know were gonna get one of those suites for arriving here at 8:00PM, and sure enough we did, and you know what they are actually pretty awesome.

We stayed in suite 113 which is on the parking lot side of the hotel and is about 1/2 of the way down the main 1st floor hallway. It is a Traditional 2 Queen Suite. Upon entering we first noticed that the ceiling on these ground floo rooms is a colossal 10 ro 12 feet, but once you settle in you forget how cavernous it is and if you don't look up you don't even think about the scale. The windows also have sun blocking and view blocking privacy curtains which we closed 5 minutes after entering.

The suite was not too large but there was enogh spacing between and beside the beds and at the window end there is a writeing desk with a swivel chair as well an easy chair.
When you first walki in their is a small counter and shelf area with a coffee maker, a microwave and a good size bar fridge. This is also where the ice bucket is located.

The bathroom to be honest felt cramped,, you either have to use it with the door closed or open, if someone is err, um occupided on the throne and someone else were to open the door to come in and wash up or use the mirror for applying make up etc. then the person on the throne would have to get their knees banged. There really is no way to fully open the bathroom door, or close it if someone is sitting there. Other than that the bahroom has an awsome comfortatble and quiet low flow toelet , single vanity counter running the length of the room and accross from that the shower with the curved shower curtain bar and the pressure is quite nice.

The TV is a traditional big Bulky CRT model but swivels nicely on a little tray that slides out a bit and is watchable from either bed. I would say that it was around 27 or 30 inches. It includes about 50 or 60 basc cable chanels as well as Movies, Adult Movies and Music on Demand for an additonal fee.Upon reading the guide to service in the room we found that one could call up and have the Adult content blocked until 12pm the following day on a day per day basis for your stay. Good for parents who want to avoid that right up front. The reception was good, and the Remote has a sleep function, as does the clock radio.

We swam, and found the pool refreshing, heated but not to hot, clorinated but not so much that it stung, the hot tub not to hot that it made your red. The only thing I would say is that it is a wee bit small, the whirlpool takes up 1./2 of the shallow end and the other half is the stair to get out. The deep end is only 5 feet and you can swim across it in about 10 strokes maximum. I know it looks smal in the pictures but it is actually even smaller when you are in it. That being said this is really first and foremost a travellers hotel and having a pool is a big plus, the families with younger kids certainily seemed to get good us out of it. For us it was just nice to be able to get wet and chill for a little bit.

There is a snack macihine in the pool lobby and we thought that it was cool that they sell boxes of condoms from it as well as pain killers. The hotel really caters to the tiered traveller who does not want to jump in the car and look for a drug store just because they forgot something. We read that we could get complimentary tolietries if we had forgot any.

If you need to pop online to check an email or get some sort of info the small single chaired business centre just off of the front desk is great and fairly private since you need to use your room key and there is just hte one computer, but still a big plus. We don't have a lap top but we did see the high speed ethernet port in our room, so you could also access the net there.

The beds were awesome and pillows are ample fromt he get go, we had 8 in total between the 2 beds and there are 4 soft and 4 firm pillows matched to pillow cases embroidered with SOFT and FIRM on the opening of the pillow casing.

Breakfast EPRESS is the real gem of the hotel, we have had some really abismal hotel breatkfasts in the past, but every thing shined here:

COFFEE wit TO GO LIDS
ORANGE, APPLE and at least one other JUICE dispenser
Fresh Fruit
Bread, Bagles, Crossaints and EGGO Wafffles to toast with jams and cream cheese
Danishes and Muffins
Scrambled Eggs, Sausage Paddies, Bcaon strips in a heatedt tray
Warmed Ciinomen buns
A ceral assortment
A fridge with 100ML yogarts, peeled hard boil eggs, full 250ML cartons of milk.

We were quite impressed, we had even bought milk at the 24 Walmart that is located in besied the Highway and only a 1 or 2 minute drive from the Hotel assuming from experience elsewhere that we may not find MILK on the menu in the breakfast nook and we wanted milk in our morning coffee.

I would recomend this hotel to weary travelers on thre raod who need to stay somewhere for the night and have the same expectations as us in levels of cleanliness, availabity if needed of addtional amentities such as a swin, a little jog, checking up someting on the net and not actaully ventruing into the city centre of Barried in ary way.
It's location is very convienient to all of the BIG box style stores you find pretty much in any built up urban area.

All in All big recomend.
I would recomend this hotel to my own MOTHER (says MR.)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alecandjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
3.4 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Barrie

Property: Holiday Inn Express Barrie
Address: 506 Bryne Dr, Barrie, Ontario L4N 9P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Superior Comfort in Barrie, Ontario For the comfort and amenities you deserve, reserve a room at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Barrie, Ontario. Our hotel is convenient to Highway 400 to keep you connected to the attractions and businesses of downtown Barrie. Lodging here puts you minutes from exciting attractions, like a Colts game at the Barrie Molson Centre or a shopping trip Park Place, Tanger Outlets or to the 400 Market. For an exciting night out, you can visit one of the restaurants or other entertainment in the area or ask us about our free gaming package! In Barrie, you'll also find numerous outdoor attractions, such as the Georgian Downs Racetrack or fishing at Lake Simcoe. Are you traveling on business to Barrie, Ontario? Our hotel is convenient to many corporations, such as Mueller Canada Inc., Canplas Industries Ltd., Royal Victoria Hospital, Georgian College, YOM, Wolf Steel, and Can-Save. You are invited to use the computer and copy, fax and print services in the 24-hour Business Centre near our hotel's lobby. Barrie, Ontario's growing tourism calls for a versatile hotel like ours. We meet the needs of travelers by offering spacious rooms and with triple-sheeted bedding, microwaves, mini-fridges, Flat Screen Televisions and work areas with free high-speed Internet access to keep you connected while traveling in Barrie. Our hotel's Fitness Ctr, indoor pool and whirlpool ensure that you'll enjoy a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Hotel Barrie
Holiday Inn Barrie
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing