We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clarkson Pub - CLOSED

The Clarkson Pub
Price range: US$7 - US$23
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Seating
Description: The building was built in 1870 and opened as the Clarkson House. It became a notorious spot for vacationers to stop by and enjoy the beautiful view of the water. It is also known that for some time, the Hotel was a one-dollar hot/cold bathhouse, with a gentlemen’s only lounge. The Clarkson was a local favorite place to drink and socialize in Barrie. The business had a name change in the early 1980’s and remained under a different moniker until we re-opened as the Clarkson Pub on June 25th, 2012.The pub has been completely updated, while maintaining the building’s history. Although things have changed greatly since The Clarkson House was first opened so many years ago, the pub continues its well-known tradition of excellent service, fine pub fare, and welcoming atmosphere. We are located at the busy intersection of Dunlop and Mulcaster Streets in downtown Barrie. We are a full service gastro pub, open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. We have strong intentions on becoming one of the leading live entertainment venues north of Toronto, with an emphasis on promoting local acts as well as nationally renowned musicians. We are a licensed establishment with an interior capacity for 161 guests and an exterior capacity for 118 guests. We have two stages at the Clarkson, one inside in the West wing and one outside in our heated and enclosed patio as well as an in-house PA/Sound System.
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Walked in. There were these wonderful friendly people who joked with us and made us feel thoroughly welcome. But that does not sell a restaurant. The food was great. The server guided us through the experience. They recommended a new draft beer to my partner "Keith's Cascade" and went out of their way to provide a sample taste. Had fish, lightly battered & chips. Asked for my chips to be crispy...not a problem and they were! Had a great time. Returned a couple of days later & had their omlette with greens. Great salad dressing. Huge 3 egg omlette. Ceasar cocktail very tastey. Just a friendly, wonderful experience. Good job folks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoSER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penetanguishene, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just a pub? Not on your life.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Walking along Dunlop St on a sunny afternoon, we came across the Clarkson Pub. It was recommended on T.A. so we stopped in for lunch. For some reason we were the only customers and naturally service was excellent.
Bar staff were talking about a new draft beer, Keith's Cascade and gave us a sample taste.
Then we ordered the fish and chip special of the day, at a very low price. Glass of wine and a pint of this Cascade draft. Everything was wonderful. The fish was haddock, done perfectly, flaky and delicious, chips were crisp, not soft and soggy, and the beer was delightful with a hint of grapefruit flavour.
We returned 2 days later, again, alone in the premise. We had an omellete for early lunch. Came with garden salad of spring greens or a Caesar. We had one of each and the serving was extra generous. The Sunday special was $3.50 for a Caesar cocktail
We enjoyed both visits thoroughly and would certainly return if we visit Barrie again. A great experience, more than just a pub. And did I mention the service and friendliness? Simply terriffic.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, Good drinks, Good atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Been to the Clarkson a few times when I am in town. I enjoy it. Its a great place to relax and enjoy reasonable, quality food. A lot is locally sourced. Service has been really good. If I had one complaint I would say that the booth seats are not very comfortable! Maybe grab a table or a seat up at the bar if you can!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innisfil, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Pub Atomosphere in Barrie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

From the minute we walked in you felt relaxed and comfortable. The people working there make you feel at home. The food is awesome and a good quantity for the price. With their daily specials its hard not to keep going back. Would highly recommend it to anyone in and around Barrie.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RNSEnterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algonquin Park
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Prices are reasonable, food quantity and quality was good, a good place for a dinner out.

Only complaint on our visit, the background music was reasonable but karaoke was on as well and both music sources were irritating.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nagagamisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clarkson Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing