We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Barrie”
Review of Pho Mekong

Pho Mekong
Ranked #31 of 507 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Barrie”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Pho always delivers great food at exceptional value. The restaurant is tasteful and clean. The staff is very friendly and it is impossible to leave hungry. Portions are large, especially in the soups. There is no way to finish the finish the large on your own! This is our go-to place in Barrie when we are looking for quick, charming and delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flingwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very clean and excellent Thai cuisine”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed this cute clean Thai restaurant. The service was friendly like another reviewer said they aren't at the table asking if all is good constantly. The food was soo fresh & very tasty. We had pho beef soup and vermicelli bun with chicken...really yummy! the bubble tea was also good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank olivebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great price, slightly awkward (but friendly) atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Pho Mekong is very close to me, so I knew that I had to try it to support a local business. For a place that already has another Asian restaurant in the same plaza (and some of the same dishes on the menu), this one really holds its own.

I love that there are booths for more comfortable seating.

The portions are HUGE, so be ready to bring some home for lunch the next day. The flavours are amazing and the ingredients are very fresh.

The weird thing is that when you look at the menu, they just give you the ticket so that you fill in the foods that you want, so that they can bring it to the chef. You have to write out your options like a server normally would in another restaurant. That's a bit awkward. At the same time, everybody there is very friendly, so it makes up for it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious every time”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I love the staff and delicious pho. I lunch there almost every week now.

Very clean, and fresh food, great prices - can't ask for more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great find for Vietnamese”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Went for lunch last week, had cold salad rolls and Tom Yum Noodle soup. Food was fast, fresh, and tasted great! Service was friendly. Will definitely be back soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KrisB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pho Mekong also viewed

 
Barrie, Ontario
Barrie, Ontario
 

Been to Pho Mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing