We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They got it right - cozy, comfy and great coffee”

Barrie Bean Counter
Ranked #1 of 14 Coffee & Tea in Barrie
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Penetanguishene, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“They got it right - cozy, comfy and great coffee”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have been to hundreds of coffee shops and cafes around the world and this place has all the makings of one of the better ones. The décor has the right mix to create a cozy ambience to enjoy a great cup of coffee. We tried the iced coffee and it was rich in flavour. Even the washroom plays up the décor with coffee bean printed paper. The baked goods were too hard to resist so we had date square which was not too sweet. We will return to enjoy the atmosphere. The window table would be a great spot to enjoy people watching.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Coffee makes my world go round”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I love this place. I visit BBC when I want a great cup of coffee, a smile or just something different. Not only are the brewed coffees great but the fancy cup selection are nice treats when I am out for a sunny afternoon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Been_there_seent_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wonderful coffee and in a nice setting”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Step in and you'll see a great local coffee place. They carry Balzac coffee which is great. Service is marvellous and place has a nice feel to it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schulich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love This Place!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Cute little shop with a seat in the window, the coffee is delicious---if you order a large to stay, it comes in what seems like a soup bowl, LOVE it...the staff are very friendly, and the baked goods are bomb!
I hope this place sticks around!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie2960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Latte and Service with a Smile”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I've been to the Barrie Bean Counter on Dunlop twice now. The latte was even better the second time around. I was surprised to be remembered from our first visit more than a week ago. Service is bright, cheerful and attentive. I bought the Atwood beans and have been brewing them at home, very good coffee and it comes from an Ontario roasting company. Barrie Bean Counter is a local small biz, opened just this January. It's a small space, so you could miss it on the street, it is worth finding!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barrie Bean Counter also viewed

 
Barrie, Ontario
 

Been to Barrie Bean Counter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing