We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and very affordable”
Review of Super 8 Barrie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Barrie
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Nice and very affordable”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I have stayed at the hotel twice and both times my experience has been nothing but exceptional. This hotel has it all, great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, and a good breakfast. My kids took full advantage of the pool and hot tub. I have stayed at other hotels in Barrie but Super 8 by far gives you the best value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ifrah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Ifrah Z,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review! We are grateful for your continued loyalty to the Super 8 Barrie and thrilled to know that you had an exceptional experience during your stay. We are continuously striving to provide all of our guests with excellent service, clean and comfortable rooms and a great hot breakfast! We are glad that your kids enjoyed our pool and hot tub and are looking forward to your next visit!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    434
    168
    55
    30
See reviews for
446
308
56
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brampton
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Super 8 Barrie was an outstanding stay. The staff was efficient and friendly, breakfast was excellent and the overall cleanliness of the rooms was great. I would definitely recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepaNama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Deepa Nama,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review! We are thrilled to know that you had an outstanding stay at the Super 8 Barrie. Our staff takes great pride in providing excellent service to our guests and we are continually striving to provide the best hot breakfast in Barrie. We look forward to seeing you again!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

It sufficed. I give it a 4 out 5 because the staff are friendly and polite. There was also no issue with guide dog which is a bonus. The breakfast was great (except they had no yogurt left @9am).
Forget swimming as the pool is way too small and the jacuzzi is warm.

Good for a getaway.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi tub only worth it if you plan to use it alone (as it is built for one).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. Our staff and I are glad that we could make your stay an enjoyable one! I can assure you that our Hot Tub has been used by as many as 4 guests at a time and that our swimming pool has been a great success with our guests. We look forward to accommodating you during your next visit to Barrie and hope you enjoy the new flat screen LCD TV that you will find in your room.

Sincerely,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed at the Super 8 in Barrie for 2 nights in one of their jacuzzi suites in early January of 2012. My stay was quite nice with no complaints and a few nice touches. Also it's worth noting that the information and pictures you see on their website are accurate.

POSITIVES:
-Hotel and rooms were clean and beds had comfortable linens. 4 pillows on bed.
-Free Wi-Fi
-Location is a 2 minute walk to 4 restaurants-- East Side Mario's, Jack Astors, Mucho Burrito (a great place), and South Street Burger. There are several other restaurants such as Cora's you can get to without going back onto highway 400. These are about a 15 minute walk (on a sidewalk) or a 3 minute drive away.
-Location is easy to get to, just off highway 400.
-There is a Chapters just behind the restaurant which has a Starbucks for anyone who needs a morning jolt.
-The breakfast at the hotel is from 6-10 am and had waffles, bacon, eggs, and breakfast sausages the days I was there (midweek).
-While I had little interaction with the staff other then check-in and out everything ran smoothly and they allowed us to have a late checkout on our final day. (Normal checkout is 11 am).
-Coffee pot provided in room.
-free parking
-Room had separate shampoo and conditioner. (Not the terrible 2 in 1's some places have).
-The front desk had complimentary cookies, suckers, and newspapers.

NEGATIVES: (To be fair I'm being VERY picky.)
-The breakfast had a small bowl of fruit, most of which was unappealing. There was also no yogurt. In addition the coffee at the breakfast was quite watery, but that may have been an isolated thing.
-The blanket on the bed was standard sized but I found it small for two people and there was no additional one in the closet. (Again I'm being picky).
-The only sink was in the bathroom.
-No robes.


WORTH KNOWING:
-The "jacuzzi suite" said it had a "two person jetted tub" but I was confused as to whether this would be in the main room or in the bathroom and whether it would really be big enough for two people. The jacuzzi was in the main room itself which was great because you can watch TV from the tub. It was considerably larger than a normal tub, but would have been tight for two people. It was however luxurious for one person. There is also a full size shower (but no tub) in the bathroom.
-The indoor pool was quite tiny but was not overly busy during our stay.
-Overall the property strikes me as a great place for families to stay, especially with the complimentary breakfast.
-This super 8 is apparently a "Pride of Super 8" property which supposedly means it meets higher standards than other Super 8's.

Room Tip: If you only need one bed the Jacuzzi suites are not much more expensive than a two queen room and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear reshee,

Thank you for writing a great review! I am glad that you enjoyed staying in one of our jacuzzi suites. We pride ourselves on our clean and comfortable accommodations and we are pleased that you enjoyed our extensive selection of in-room amenities. We have recently upgraded our televisions to Flat Screen LCD TVS and have added more fresh fruits and a variety of yogurts to our breakfast menu. Looking forward to your next visit.

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Cowichan, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2012

During my stay from 21 Dec to 27 Dec 2011, I couldn't have had any better service. All staff were friendly, efficient, courteous, and helpful. Rooms were modern, clean and well cared for. I was most impressed by the breakfast provided , a great way to start the day. Also the staff responsible for breakfast were most cheerful at an early hour. I believe their names were April and Heather. These ladies are great representatives of Super 8 and their positive interactions with all guests was good to see. Overall great service and great value. Will no doubt stay here again on upcoming trips to Barrie.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear John341,

I would like to thank you for spending a week with us at the Super 8 Barrie and for leaving such a great review. We are honoured to have such great guests. I am glad that our efforts to make you feel at home were a success and that you enjoyed the hospitality extended to you by our staff. I am also glad that you enjoyed our modern and clean rooms and would like to let you know that we have added brand new flat screen TVs in all of our guest rooms. April and Heather have read your review and are grateful for you kind words. We all hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at the Super 8 over the Thanksgiving weekend (October 8, 2011). We had a 2 Queen room, which was very clean, nice decor and really, really comfortable beds! There was lots of room for our family of 4 including a baby. The washroom was clean with lots of towels and toiletries. The room included a coffee maker and refridgerator.

The staff were very friendly and quick to help out whenever we needed it. The hotel offers a free continental breakfast, which included pastries, breads, waffle maker, pre-made eggs, cereals and juices, milk, coffee, tea. Good location as it was close to the highway, restaurants and stores.

The only downfall was the pool. The hotel seemed brand new, put the pool was old, outdated and had lots of cracked tiles. It felt like the hotel had been built around an old pool. The jacuzzi was also very small with cracked interior. The water for both pools seemed a bit murky.

Overall, we had a great stay and would definatly stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear joannatodd,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed our comfortable and clean accommodations and the use of our in-room amenities such as the coffee-maker and fridge. We have recently added flat screen televisions to all of our guest rooms and would love for you to visit us again. I am glad that you found our complimentary hot breakfast to be tasteful. You are right about the relative young age of our hotel, as our property, pool and hot tub are approximately 4 1/2 years old. Next time you're in Barrie, I would love to show you the extensive pool and spa maintenance systems that we have have in place from Ecolab and the large investment we make in order to ensure that our pool and hot tub and always performing at optimal levels for our valued guests. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I have stayed in this Super 8 twice already and I have to say it is the most pleasurable stay I have had in years. first of all the staff at this hotel is amazingly friendly and caring...everyone will more than happy to talk to you and answer questions. I didn't have much knowledge about Barrie before visiting but the staff guided me to some amazing places within Barrie, including their beach, which is only about a 5 minute drive from the hotel. which brings me to my second point which is the location. it is located in the most convenient place that anyone can imagine; there is a Walmart right across the road; an LCBO right next to it; a Chapters right behind it. also, there are various options to eat wonderful meals from the many restaurants around this Super 8. Speaking of food, their morning breakfast is one of the best...it is definitely worth waking up in the morning to have their fresh made waffles and eggs.

Overall this was a wonderful experience and i definitely plan on going back many many times to visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chandni_luthra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear chandni_luthra,

Thank you for your wonderful comments! Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional customer service and making our guests feel at home. We are glad that our hospitality exceeded your expectations. At Super 8 Barrie, we are continuously working with surrounding restaurants to provide our guests with the best discounts possible. We also strive to provide our guests with the best possible variety of hot breakfast items. We look forward to having you here again!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
3.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Barrie On Bayfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Barrie

Property: Super 8 Barrie
Address: 441 Bryne Dr | Ontario, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6C8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Barrie
#2 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Barrie is one of the city's newest hotel properties. We are located in the newly developed south end of Barrie and within walking distance to major restaurants, coffee shops, banks and retail outlets! Our 82-room, 4-storey hotel property includes a variety of guest rooms and suites to suite your needs. Spend a night in one of our Traditional Rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen-size beds. If you're looking to treat yourself, you can spend a night in one of our Superior, Jacuzzi or Family Suites for an additional $10. Our Executive King Suites include a king-size bed, fireplace with sitting area, pull-out sofa bed, jacuzzi tub and wet bar! All of our rooms come fully-equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and brand new 32" flat screen LED TVs. All of our guests receive a free SuperStart Hot Buffet Breakfast with either cheddar cheese omelettes or scrambled eggs, sausages, Belgian Waffles and a variety of cereals, breads, muffins, yogurt, fruits and juices. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby 24-7! We also have a pool, hot tub and 24-hour fitness centre! Our Business Centre is available 24-7 for guests and we also have faxing, scanning and copying services available! Our guests also enjoy access to free high-speed wireless internet throughout our hotel! We are 100% smoke-free and pet-friendly! We look forward to hosting you during your next visit to Barrie! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Barrie Hotel Barrie
Super Eight Barrie
Barrie Super 8
Barrie Super Eight
Super 8 Barrie Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing