We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reservation on Mothers Day” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michael & Marion's

Michael & Marion's
Ranked #28 of 499 Restaurants in Barrie
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: City Center
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Reservation on Mothers Day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Was seated with little wait. Service was good but very disappointed that a table with 5 was given only one tray to share of both starters and desserts included in the Prix Fix. We had to share the same amount the table for 2's were receiving. Hard to believe they could oversight this as it appears to be a cheap tactic in a supposed "upper scale" experience. This experience will make returning a second thought as I'm sure they know better being in business this long.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    25
    11
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great classics and very good wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Good place for a romantic dinner in Barrie.
Great classics, nice presentation, constancy and always very interesting wine products.
The owner is very ''connoisseur'', unpretentious and friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gilles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ate Here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

In a nut shell, I would not go back I found the dinner and ambience not worth the price they charge.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HiMiler M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie,Ontario
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

A group of friends decided to have a Xmas dinner at this restaurant on Bayfield St in Barrie. It is an old house turned Restaurant. The serving staff were very pleasant and helpful. The food was excellent and good value for the money. It is a cozy environment but intimate enough for two or a group. Parking can be scarce but not much of a walk if you have to park down the street.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmvale, Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delightful, and delicious, wedding reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have told everyone who asks about the wedding we attended over the weekend that it was the best food I have ever had at a wedding, and the private room for this intimate reception was ideal.

The meal started with passed appetizers of Spanakopita, Moroccan chicken in phyllo pastry, and pork spring rolls (not the large oily spring rolls of fast food, but the small well-filled crispy type). All were delicious.

We were able to select from 3 appetizers,

Caesar salad,
soup of the day (bacon/corn/potato chowder), or
a beautifully plated house salad.

And then from 3 entrees

chicken stuffed with lobster,
trout, or
a 10 ounce steak.

My steak was perfectly cooked to the medium rare I requested, and everyone else raved about their meals, whichever main they picked.

Would recommend the venue to anyone planning a special gathering, and plan to be repeat visitors’ to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnywithachance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael & Marion's also viewed

 

Been to Michael & Marion's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing