We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising find for a Mother's Day celebration”
Review of Michael & Marion's

Michael & Marion's
Ranked #19 of 509 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Center
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Surprising find for a Mother's Day celebration”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were on our way to cottage country. However, I had forgotten to book a luncheon to celebrate Mother's Day. I quickly found Michael & Marions' on the internet. I telephoned them and they were very accommodating in getting us a table for five on such short notice. When we arrived, the family was immediately escorted to our table in the bar section. As we walked through the dining room, I noticed that all the tables were occupied. The wait staff was very pleasant and helpful. The menu had a good and varied selection of appetizers and main dishes. The food was quite tasty and the portions adequate. The ambiance in the dining room was one of casual elegance while the bar area was more casual but surprisingly quiet and relaxed. The family was very pleased with my last minute selection for a Mother's Day luncheon and asked that we return in the future to sample some of the other delicious items listed on the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zenon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    28
    13
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Reservation on Mothers Day”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Was seated with little wait. Service was good but very disappointed that a table with 5 was given only one tray to share of both starters and desserts included in the Prix Fix. We had to share the same amount the table for 2's were receiving. Hard to believe they could oversight this as it appears to be a cheap tactic in a supposed "upper scale" experience. This experience will make returning a second thought as I'm sure they know better being in business this long.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great classics and very good wine”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Good place for a romantic dinner in Barrie.
Great classics, nice presentation, constancy and always very interesting wine products.
The owner is very ''connoisseur'', unpretentious and friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gilles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ate Here”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

In a nut shell, I would not go back I found the dinner and ambience not worth the price they charge.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HiMiler M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie,Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

A group of friends decided to have a Xmas dinner at this restaurant on Bayfield St in Barrie. It is an old house turned Restaurant. The serving staff were very pleasant and helpful. The food was excellent and good value for the money. It is a cozy environment but intimate enough for two or a group. Parking can be scarce but not much of a walk if you have to park down the street.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael & Marion's also viewed

 

Been to Michael & Marion's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing