We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure Bliss, love & Connectedness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spicers Sangoma Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spicers Sangoma Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure Bliss, love & Connectedness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I prayed for the perfect weekend away with my husband and was blessed with Sangoma.
From pure water to tantalizing food, to something as small as soap to bathe. I have been able to soak up the finest details in all I have seen & experienced.
Fine leaves molded in stone pave my way as I walk. I let the cows talk to me!
The birds & music sing to my soul,my heart sings with gratitude for a weekend so blissful.
One huge thanks to Michael & Zenga you guys are truly amazing, inspirational & BLOODY AWESOME!!! Good on you for creating a sanctuary so peaceful.
Sad to leave & look forward to coming back.
Love Yael & Mark x

Room Tip: All the rooms at Sangoma look amazing. We stayed in the Stone suite and enjoyed every moment in ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
214
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

If you are looking for the ultimate escape – look no further. Sangoma is the perfect blend of relaxation, intimacy and luxury. The hosts Michael and Zenga welcome you in like family and Zenga prepares the most delicious, healthy and wholesome meals.
We stayed in the secluded sanctuary of the Bush Suite. There is an open rain shower in the bathroom surrounded by glass walls that look out into the national park, this creates the feeling you are showering within the national park, it is so beautiful. We watched the sun rise from our private balcony and relaxed in our two person bath tub which again looks into the national park from a series of louvered windows, which let the nicest breeze in as you sit in a hot bath.
On Saturday after a morning relaxing around the pool my partner proposed to me in the most amazing setting within the national park (Michael and Zenga helped him with the location), I could not have imagined a more perfect place to have this life changing moment occur. Then to return back to a Kahuna massage at Sangoma which was an out of body experience that everyone must try once in their lives! For me Sangoma was heaven, it’s everything for couples or singles who just need a place to re-centre themselves, re-connect and feed their souls. It’s a unique, beautiful place that as soon as it’s time to leave you’re already planning your next visit back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I went to Sangoma for our 10th wedding anniversary and had the most wonderful weekend! Matt and I have come back completely refreshed and can't wait to return to Sangoma again soon.

Michael and Zenga offer the warmest hospitality, out-of-this world amazing (and healthy) food and absolutely luxurious surroundings (not to mention fabulous doggy kisses from Punda and cuddles from the sleek supermodel cat, Chaka!).

You can't go many places where you are told "you can have as many baths as you like", and "come to dinner in your PJ's if you feel like it" - so we felt very spoilt.

Also a highlight was Jay's kahuna massage - I am recommending that to everyone!

Sangoma is a treat in every way!
Nic & Matt xx

Room Tip: The bush suite is very private with a huge window in front of the shower that makes you feel you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

A tranquil, beautiful and indulgent oasis with 2 of the most welcoming of hosts. Thank you Michael and Zenga.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

My wife and I went to Sangoma as part of our 10th wedding anniversary celebration. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Michael and Zenga went out of their way to make us feel welcome, without being over-the-top…their hospitality was sincere. It was like staying with good friends or family without the intrusion. The food was unbelievable - lots of it; breakfast was sensational, particularly the home-made cereal! The pets were also really friendly - Punda made us feel really welcome, and the cats certainly entertained us. The history of the site was really interesting too - Michael and Zegna showed us how much Australia has changed for the better. We’ll be back…with friends or ourselves. Thanks again Zenga and Michael!

Room Tip: All rooms (suites) were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south coast, NSW
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

What a coup!
Sangoma has real life changing kahuna massage, rather than the typical day spa light, silly massage found in every beautiful hotel around the world. And it's not just any kahuna......Jay is the big kahuna!!!
What a powerful, beautiful, incredible, empathic woman. Even my novice partner found it cathartic.
This is no ordinary massage.
Part dance, song, sacred ritual and profound bodywork.
You will feel changed.... And as if sangoma wasn't perfect enough!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imalwayspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Back at Sangoma & stayed in the new Chief's Suite. One word only - BEAUTIFUL. Your own little retreat, inside a retreat. The new Chief's Suite has its own plunge pool & the extra space allows you to escape even further. As always, Michael & Zenga are wonderful hosts and the food is first class all the way. The new massage on offer is amazing. I had never heard of Ka-Huna massage before but I can truly say it was an experience not to be forgotten. If you haven't been before, Sangoma is a special way to treat yourself & your partner to a luxurious weekend away so close to Sydney.

Room Tip: All rooms face east, with views towards the city. Staying for New Year's Eve gives distant view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowen Mountain
20.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
19.8 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
20.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
21.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
19.0 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Sangoma Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Sangoma Retreat

Property: Spicers Sangoma Retreat
Address: 70 Grandview Lane, Bowen Mountain, New South Wales 2753, Australia (Formerly Sangoma Retreat)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Bowen Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bowen Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spicers Sangoma Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocooned by the natural serenity of the Blue Mountains of New South Wales, a mere hour from Sydney, you'll find Spicers Sangoma Retreat. Aptly named after the Zulu word for healer, Sangoma is a place where you'll discover complete rejuvenation and true reconnection. As an eco-certified retreat, Spicers Sangoma Retreat features sauna facilities, infinity lap pool, open plan lounge and 5 suites that capture the beauty of the natural surrounds, making it an ideal setting for luxurious escapes, romantic getaways, intimate celebrations and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Spicers Sangoma Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing