We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly fabulous and unforgettable experience where we felt immediately welcomed like old friends and at the same time, complete”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spicers Sangoma Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A truly fabulous and unforgettable experience where we felt immediately welcomed like old friends and at the same time, complete”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

My wife and I arrived at Sangoma Retreat tired and a little stressed like so many others juggling busy lives and family commitments.

When we left, we felt recharged, relaxed and reconnected having luxuriated in all that Sangoma has to offer.

Our incredible hosts, Michael and Zenga were so gracious and welcoming to us during our visit, treating us like old friends rather than paying guests.

We stayed in the pool suite which was fantastic, with sweeping views into the valley outside with the fireplace and huge bath inside as well as the numerous other small luxurious touches that made our stay so special.

Michael and Zenga are consummate professionals with Michael front of house and Zenga ruling the kitchen cooking the most fantastic and unique creations for every meal.

We have just arrived home and are already planning our next visit to Sangoma Retreat.

Adrian and Kirrily

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitchAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
218
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

My husband and I just returned from our second visit to Sangoma. This time we went with incredibly high expectations, after our last wonderful weekend there, and the pressure was on a little, as we had encouraged 2 other couples to join us for the weekend. Our high expectations were fulfilled, and it was just, if not more fabulous than on our last visit. Michael and Zenga are incredible hosts, and have created a magical, luxurious, pampering retreat. Their attention to detail is exquisite, and the food is incredible! We arranged an additional massage so we could both indulge, and thank goodness we did, as the kahuna massage by Jae was quite extraordinary, like nothing either of us had ever experienced before. It was a truly spiritual, nurturing, full body and mind experience which is hard to explain in words. All I can say is, make sure you arrange to have one when you go, dont miss out. We had a truly amazing weekend with our friends and plan to make it a yearly tradition. Thankyou Michael and Zenga for creating this sanctuary and sharing it with us.

Room Tip: all suites are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaAlexR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I think it is testament to Michael and Zenga that the reviews on here are so overwhelmingly positive.

Having just returned from a beautiful weekend at Sangoma I can safely say I have never felt so inclined to write a review on Trip Advisor and share our wonderful experience.

This is one place where you will never feel guilty for doing little other than enjoying the surroundings, view, food and and company of your hosts.

Thank you so much for giving us the most relaxing, special weekend!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuniorCornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at Sangoma to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary . What a wonderful stay we had . We stayed in the Chief's suite and loved it . The food was wonderful and Michael and Zenga were excellent hosts . The attention to detail in the rooms and the pride these chaps have in their retreat is what makes it . Sheer bliss. Just bloody marvellous .Congratulations Michael & Zenga.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzieal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My husband and I third visit to Sangoma and what can I say to give this exquisite place the justice it deserves!

It is our favorite holiday destination. The rooms are amazingly luxurious, romantic yet homey. This was our second stay in the bush suite and it's gotta be my favorite.
The main house is gorgeous with it's sophisticated yet quirky interior that just sparkles during the evening dinners!

Thanks to the very talented zenga! The food is the most delicious you'll honestly ever eat! Things I never thought I'd eat I've fallen in lOve with.

Michael has this amazing ability to make you feel like old family members coming together for a catch up. Along with princess punda n prince Chaka and prince griffin (their adorable pet dog and cats) adds to the family like experience.
And with all this love you still have time to chill, and rejuvenate in the many quiet spaces available.

I would deffinently recommend Sangoma to everyone who are food lovers and want a genuine weekend getaway which ticks all the right boxes!

Can not wait for my fourth visit!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelBalemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

As a group of four we recently spent a weekend at Sangoma Retreat.
We booked it as it appealed as a luxury stay, close to Sydney, with a focus on food and relaxation.

It was all that and much more.

I understand Sangoma is South African for Witch Doctor / Healer. I think my definition would be “inspiration”.

From the wonderful architecture and layout of the retreat, to the incredible furnishings and artwork that adorned the walls and filled the rooms, you couldn’t but be impressed and inspired by the use of color, texture and light.

Special thanks to Zenga, whose genuine passion for top quality, beautiful food made the meals an absolute highlight and inspired a non-foodie to celebrate his use of natural and healthy ingredients.

Michael’s humor and warmth, and love of what of he does is infectious and you cannot help but be moved by it.

Whilst there is plenty of space to escape, relax and have alone-time, we found ourselves drawn into their world of design, music, humor, wonderful food and of course, their loving pets (as much a part of the retreat as the hosts themselves).

Somewhere over the course of the weekend it felt like it changed from being guests at a beautiful retreat, to being with new friends, who just happened to have a fabulous home.

I applaud the commitment of hosts, Michael and Zenga, to follow their dreams, and to share their many passions with their guests.

I look forward to our next visit.

Cheers Aaron

Room Tip: Pool Suite was fantastic, beautifully appointed and close to the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron_and_Row
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I prayed for the perfect weekend away with my husband and was blessed with Sangoma.
From pure water to tantalizing food, to something as small as soap to bathe. I have been able to soak up the finest details in all I have seen & experienced.
Fine leaves molded in stone pave my way as I walk. I let the cows talk to me!
The birds & music sing to my soul,my heart sings with gratitude for a weekend so blissful.
One huge thanks to Michael & Zenga you guys are truly amazing, inspirational & BLOODY AWESOME!!! Good on you for creating a sanctuary so peaceful.
Sad to leave & look forward to coming back.
Love Yael & Mark x

Room Tip: All the rooms at Sangoma look amazing. We stayed in the Stone suite and enjoyed every moment in ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowen Mountain
19.9 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
20.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
21.3 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
20.5 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Sangoma Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Sangoma Retreat

Property: Spicers Sangoma Retreat
Address: 70 Grandview Lane, Bowen Mountain, New South Wales 2753, Australia (Formerly Sangoma Retreat)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Bowen Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bowen Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spicers Sangoma Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocooned by the natural serenity of the Blue Mountains of New South Wales, a mere hour from Sydney, you'll find Spicers Sangoma Retreat. Aptly named after the Zulu word for healer, Sangoma is a place where you'll discover complete rejuvenation and true reconnection. As an eco-certified retreat, Spicers Sangoma Retreat features sauna facilities, infinity lap pool, open plan lounge and 5 suites that capture the beauty of the natural surrounds, making it an ideal setting for luxurious escapes, romantic getaways, intimate celebrations and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Spicers Sangoma Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing