We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome weekend away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spicers Sangoma Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Awesome weekend away!”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This place is absolutely stunning. From the tranquil location to the beautifully designed suites, there is nothing in this place that doesn't add to a sense of relaxation. And the amazing massage was the icing on the cake.

We were blown away at the hospitality of Mike and Zenga and at the amazing quality of the food Zenga prepared. His food was akin to that served at the best restaurants in the city, and was very creative and interesting.

My partner and I had such a fantastic time, and really enjoyed talking to the other couples who were staying that weekend. We were really happy to see how gay-friendly the entire retreat was and felt completely comfortable there. We're already planning our next trip later in the year.

Well done, Mike and Zenga! Thank you for such a great weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APV2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Owner at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Wow guys ,i responded yesterday and today it gone .We are so grateful for your lovely tripadviser review .You were a total pleasure to be with ,you are undoubtably the handsomest sweetest gay couple we have ever had the honor of hosting .Thank you for your generous praise and come back soon .!!!
L
Z&Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
229
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This place is brilliant. Great food, amazing hosts, stunning location.

We stayed in the pool suite. It has a huge balcony with views all the way to Sydney. The suite has a beautiful bath and a huge showerhead that gives the sensation of rain.

The food was another highlight. Every meal was a taste sensation.

Kurrajong village was not far from Sangoma - but apart from that there was very little else around (this is a good thing because you don't really want to leave Sangoma).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Wow thank you guys ,so unexpected and a totally lovely surprise.
We really appreciate your review , and we totally enjoyed your company .Perfect guests ! Thanks once again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Michael and Zenga have created the most wonderful getaway so close to Sydney. Everything has been thought of and planned so well from the design, art pieces and menu. Within a short time of arriving we were relaxing in the pool and letting our city worries behind us. The reviews were what brought us here and we were more than impressed. The best breakfast we have had was a Zenga creation. Each meal was a pleasant surprise. We will be back and hopefully not too far in the future. Thank you to Pundh (their gorgeous dog), Michael and Zenga for the best weekend.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Owner at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Thank you sweet people ,we much appreciate your super kind comments and hope you come back real soon !Thank you once again ,it was our pleasure to serve you !
LOfL Z @mIKE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

From the first warm welcome by Michael and the beautiful Punda to farewell hugs from both Michael & Zenga, this was a magical experience!
Our Pool Suite was delightful - luxurious (the double Starke bath beneath a tinkling chandelier) and quirky with an attention to detail that meant every need was catered for. And we loved the artwork, sculptures & carefully placed artefacts and stones throughout the 10 acre property!
A wall of windows opened to a private balcony and a stunning vista of bush & birdlife and the luxurious lap pool was only steps from our suite.
The package included a Ka Huna massage and after meeting the lovely Jaye we booked another - sheer bliss and one of the highlights of our stay!!!
Another highlight was the food - Zenga's cooking is healthy, creative, sustaining and above all delicious - as unique as our hosts and as welcoming. Our Saturday evening feast was introduced with a vibrant double rainbow in the sky over Richmond - after the massage & the wonderful day we had enjoyed this seemed very appropriate!!
We were reluctant to leave on the Sunday following an enormous and scrumptious brunch, so we kept going for one more dip in the pool but finally we had to say our goodbyes, more relaxed than we would have thought possible in just two days, and vowing to come back as soon as possible. Thank you, Michael & Zenga for making our anniversary so special!!!

Liz & Ashley @ Pool Suite - 14-16 December 2012

Room Tip: The Pool Suite is closest to the pool - but still really private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Owner at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Guys ,so sorry we have been so tardy in our response to your generosity and kindness .Thanks so much for a great great review ,we dont feel deserving of such high praise ,considering the joy it gives us to make people like yourselves happy .Thanks !Z@Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Michael and Zenga you have created the most awesome place. The whole experience of Sangoma stays with you for a long time. Not only were we in awe of the relaxed setting, the attention to detail in the decor but also the brilliant meals. We were very lucky to be away with some of our dearest friends so we new we would enjoy our time, but to have topped it off with this perfect place is a memory for a long time.
Thank you so much and I hope that we can return again to enjoy Zenga's cooking and Michael's fantastic hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing and so unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kforrest62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
So sorry for my tardy reply to your generous and kind review .We really appreciate it and hope you guys come back real soon !!!!!
lol
Z@Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2012

It's rare to go to away for a weekend and come back rating every part of the experience as amazing. In fact I quote Kate as saying 'It was the best weekend experience the two of us have ever had together' - very fitting for a 10 year anniversary.

It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both Michael and Zenga (with a notable mention to Griffin and Punda). What you offer is truly unique – your love, passion, souls and sincerity were very much felt and we can't wait to return, so let us know when's good in the new year.

For the future punters, all I can say is dive in whole heartedly because like us you will experience hospitality at its finest.

Dave and Kate

Room Tip: You won't go wrong with any choice, they're all unique, very private, and full of nature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoSkinnyMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Owner at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Simply put ....we are touched moved and inspired by your incredibly generous review .Thank you so much .Please consider looking at booking the Tent treehouse for your next visit ,we know its going to ROCK YOUR WORLD !!!!!!!
LOL

Z,Pod Poen and Griff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Before visiting Sangoma, I had read 89 reviews that all rated the location 'excellent'.........I was sceptical, wondering how one place could be rated so highly!! Well, they were correct, this place is just out of this world!!! The welcome we recieved, the fooooood, the hosts, the rooms, the peace, the ambience, everything was 100% perfect.

I cannot recommend it enough, we are going back next year!~!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Owner at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you so much ,it was an honor to be of service to two such fine irish lovelies .....hope your wedding is everything your hearts desire ..........have a blast and come back soon a happily married couple ! lol
The boys .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowen Mountain
19.9 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
21.3 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
20.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
20.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
570 reviews
20.5 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Sangoma Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Sangoma Retreat

Property: Spicers Sangoma Retreat
Address: 70 Grandview Lane, Bowen Mountain, New South Wales 2753, Australia (Formerly Sangoma Retreat)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Bowen Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bowen Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spicers Sangoma Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocooned by the natural serenity of the Blue Mountains of New South Wales, a mere hour from Sydney, you'll find Spicers Sangoma Retreat. Aptly named after the Zulu word for healer, Sangoma is a place where you'll discover complete rejuvenation and true reconnection. As an eco-certified retreat, Spicers Sangoma Retreat features sauna facilities, infinity lap pool, open plan lounge and 5 suites that capture the beauty of the natural surrounds, making it an ideal setting for luxurious escapes, romantic getaways, intimate celebrations and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Spicers Sangoma Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing