We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay of my life!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spicers Sangoma Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Best stay of my life!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Thank you so much to Michael and Zenga for creating such an amazing home away from home. They have put their heart and souls into this place and it clearly shows through.

The entire stay was absolutely perfect. Michael is an amazing host and is a real people person, instantly making you feel at home and putting you at easy. The entire property is immaculately maintained, and the main house is beautifully designed and decorated.

We stayed in the Tent suite, which is a beautiful concept. As Michael says, "You will never forget staying in a tent." It was the best tent in the world, complete with a chandelier, 5 star amenities and a spectacular view over a cliff face.

Zenga has spent a lot of time designing an amazing culinary experience with 2 course breakfasts and 3 course dinners. The food was absolutely amazing, and very healthy too.

A special thanks to the wonderful chef, Sam and Zip, our fantastic waiter. They went above and beyond what you would ever expect to make their guests feel welcome. You can tell they really enjoy their jobs and Sangoma

Thank you so much for having us Michael, Zenga, Sam, Zip and of course Pundha the lovely puppy

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen_Gareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Owner at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for generous praise and especially your mention of our fantastic team ,we read your review out to them and they were both chuffed !Cheers and looking forward to your anniversary !Z@Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
229
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Husband and I stayed for a weekend and what a treat! I concur with all that has previously been said. We stayed in the Stone Suite which was beautiful but all the suites are lovely, I particularly loved the fireplace in the room and the bath. The food was great although I was a bit concerned on the first night when we were informed no sugar, fat or any of the good stuff is used in the food!!! We needn’t have worried – everything was delicious and I can be quite fussy!! Particular mention has to go to Sunday brunch – what a feast! Every single thing was delicious and I wanted the recipe for everything!!

There were 2 couples who got engaged the weekend we were staying, which was really special.

We look forward to returning in the summer and getting a different experience again, with being able to swim in the inviting pool!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms from what we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auscnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Owner at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review .We are very happy that you were here to share the joy of our 3 rd time returnees who finally got engaged as well as the other wonderful couple who did the same . We know we could charge much more for what we offer here but want to be the place for everybody who need a break from the relentless stresses of modern like . thanks for giving us a chance to try and make a difference to you too !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My partner and I booked 2 nights in the stunning pool suite last week and loved every second of it. From the moment we walked in we were wowed with everything not only about the property but with the whole experience. The owners Michael and Zenga offer an experience like no other and we cant thank them enough for sharing Sangoma with us. Unlike other luxury retreats which although located in stunning locations and decorated beautifully, you still feels like a consumer being charged with everything you touch. Sangoma is a totally different experience. Its like invited into a family's luxury retreat and they host your stay incredibly well and without being intrusive, instead of simply providing friendly but mechanical service from behind a reception desk. Breakfast and dinners are included in the accomodation packages and not only do you get the fine dining experience of quality food but quantity as well so your never feeling anything but satisfied. It is evident that Michael and Zenga have put their hearts and souls into the place and love what they do and you really do feel that. The pictures on their website do not do the property any justice, a truly stunning place!! We couldnt fault anything about our stay even if we tried!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peta_Lachlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Owner at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
thanks guys for not thinking twice on giving us an opportunity to prove we are not just a holiday retreat .......we loved your company !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

All the previous reviewers have said it all !!!!!Besides which, I genuinely believe that no words could ever do justice to this magical oasis that has been created by these two talented, professional ,dedicated and at the same time warm and loveable hosts!
So.......this will not be a review but rather a HUGE THANK YOU to our new friends Michael and Zenga for providing us with the opportunity to share their dream.
We have just celebrated our 45th Wedding Anniversary at Sangoma and it has been one of the most memorable ever and truly one of life's blessings that we will treasure always!
We salute you both!!!!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Owner at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
thank you for celebration all those years of marriage with us guys !You are an inspiration !Thanks for the review !Z@Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

From the moment Michael and the enthusiastic Ridgeback, Pundah met us at the gate, we felt as if we were being welcomed into one of our friends' homes. And that is exactly what happens when you visit Samgoma. Michael and Zenga have built a beautiful home on an exquisite property and they welcome guests with genuine warmth and pride for what they have created. It's the kind of hospitality you only experience when the hosts have truly put their hearts and souls into the place and want to share it with their friends.

We stayed in the incredible Tent Suite and for those who want a totally unique experience, I can't recommend it highly enough! The feel of the cool mountain breeze on our faces and the afternoon sun on our bodies while we soaked in the tub overlooking the beautiful valley is a memory we will have with us forever.

The food was nothing short of incredible! Zenga and Sam do such an amazing job creating delicious, healthy meals that delighted the taste buds with every bite. They both take huge pride in describing each course to their guests and are most definitely the friendliest chefs I've ever met! We were lucky enough to stay 3 nights, which meant we had the place to ourselves for the last day. The boys surprised us with a romantic dinner in our own suite where we tucked into delicious smoked trout while snuggled in front of the fire - a real treat!

Sangoma is the perfect place to retreat from the world and feed your soul. If you want a completely unique experience, I highly recommend you put your trust in Michael and Zenga and let them take you on the Sangoma journey.

Thank you guys, for creating such a beautiful space and sharing it with the world. We will absolutely be back!

Kate & Dan

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuscan_light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Sangoma took us on a spiritual journey from the moment we drove up the windy driveway. And we emerged aware, inspired, renewed and with total sense of clarity and calm after two magical days. Michael and Zenga welcomed us with open arms into their magnificent home and family and we are forever touched. Two amazing people who have carved something special out of the mountains and ingrained their gorgeous personalities into all that you see, eat and touch at Sangoma. What a special place on earth. It truly is spectacular! The food absolutely blew us away - wholesome, delicious and magically creative! The bush suite was absolute luxury and then some. From the bath to the views, there was nothing missing.

We have left feeling enriched and inspired and with a sense of calm that only Sangoma can bring. We know we will be back, very soon!

Thank you beautiful Michael and Zenga for realising your dream and sharing it all with us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Labrahams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is the only place I have stayed at around the world where you feel like you a visiting family as opposed to paying a business for accommodation. This is of course on most part due to the owners and staff.

My partner and I came to relax from ongoing health issues (my partner) and the weekend provided the getaway that we needed, mostly due to the care that we received from Michael and Zenga. Even though we didn't leave the room much, and you don't need to as they are all amazing (especially the Pool Suite which we stayed in).

We couldn't make dinner one night so they gave us a takeaway container so we didnt miss out. It was like visiting mum!

And you don't want to miss out on any of the meals as they are all amazing. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbiencfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowen Mountain
19.9 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
21.3 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
20.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
20.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
582 reviews
20.5 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Sangoma Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Sangoma Retreat

Property: Spicers Sangoma Retreat
Address: 70 Grandview Lane, Bowen Mountain, New South Wales 2753, Australia (Formerly Sangoma Retreat)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Bowen Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bowen Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spicers Sangoma Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocooned by the natural serenity of the Blue Mountains of New South Wales, a mere hour from Sydney, you'll find Spicers Sangoma Retreat. Aptly named after the Zulu word for healer, Sangoma is a place where you'll discover complete rejuvenation and true reconnection. As an eco-certified retreat, Spicers Sangoma Retreat features sauna facilities, infinity lap pool, open plan lounge and 5 suites that capture the beauty of the natural surrounds, making it an ideal setting for luxurious escapes, romantic getaways, intimate celebrations and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Spicers Sangoma Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing