We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spicers Sangoma Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I surprised my parter with a trip to Sangoma Retreat the weekend before Christmas. It was, without a shadow of a doubt, the most fantastic weekend escape we have been on. Indeed, as we were leaving on Sunday afternoon we rebooked ourselves in for February.

A complete escape from city life, Sangoma Retreat was the epitome of tree-change escapes. We enjoyed the ambiance with unique and delicious food, excellent wine and the finest hospitality.

We stayed in the bespoke Stone Suite which was unforgettable. The architecture, finishes and privacy were all first class. To top off a fantastic escape we got engaged while we were there. I could not imagine a more luxurious place to have spent our time.

Thank you Zenga and Michael; and special mentions for the lovely Pundah and Griffin!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Spicers Sangoma Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband surprised me with a weekend away at Sangoma Retreat.... It was nothing short of delightful!! A beautiful location, comfortable accommodation with all that we needed - nothing was forgotten. All this AND the most amazing food served by our gracious hosts. The massages were the best we have ever had. The weekend was was perfect in every way... just what we needed after a busy year, thank you!

Room Tip: All of the accommodation is special in it's own way
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sangoma for a weekend to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Arriving on Friday afternoon we were greeted by Michael (co owner) and Zip, along with Punda their Rhodesian Ridgeback then given a tour of the grounds and our suite (aptly named Pool Suite, one of 5 or 6 totally private, bespoke and luxurious individual guest houses.

Gorgeous four poster bed, glorious bath overlooking the massive balcony and breathtaking views of the lower Blue Mountains and across to the city in the far distance.


Immense attention to detail means that everything has been thought of and the art pieces are both thought provoking and highly individual, collected by owners Michael and Zenga during their extensive worldwide travels.

It's clear Sangoma has been a labour of love for these charming, extremely hospitable owners. The grounds are beautifully landscaped yet retain authenticity and respect for the surroundings. The main living/dining space is both inviting and sophisticated.

Self-taught chef Zenga is totally passionate about his food and the love and care he puts into selecting and presenting the finest fresh, local produce results in delicious fare that would not be put of place in a top restaurant. Inspired by renowned chef and food writer Yotam Ottolenghi the food Zenga cooks is incredibly flavorsome and incorporates complex yet delicious flavours. It is also very healthy!

On our second day I experienced the most sublime Ka Huna (Hawaiian) massage leaving me feeling utterly relaxed. Michael and Zenga had only recently completed construction of the massage tent so we were sone of the first to experience a massage in it. The sound of running water courtesy of the nearby waterfall and pond added to the experience.

Visiting Zenga is a completely sensual experience. All your senses are indulged - leaving you completely relaxed and refreshed. Only an hour out of Sydney makes it a perfect escape for an unforgettable experience!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Illawongtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Loved it. Remote, unique and nurturing. A special place for people who want their senses stimulated in a non traditional way. There's no "vanilla" here. The hosts are brilliant and add that extra special magic to a weekend of pure relaxation. Food is colourful and creative, massage is one like you have never had before. We did a hike and grabbed a coffee at the closest village, but you don't really need to leave this bush paradise. Your soul will thank you. Worth every cent.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Duckeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed in the Chief's Suite for 4 nights to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary and to recover after an overseas trip. The villas are much closer together than we expected, but we had no problems with noise from other guests. The retreat is in a very peaceful setting, where the only noise is from nature, we slept very well. Not all the windows have blinds, so if the early morning light bothers you, I'd recommend bringing a sleep mask. We really enjoyed the food, which was very healthy. However, if you cannot eat very spicy food, this may not be the place for you. Our suite was very comfortable, and beautifully furnished. We did have an issue with an unpleasant smell coming from the plumbing, and couldn't open the toilet window to air the room. The can of WD40 we were given to unstick the window didn't help. The retreat swimming pool is a highlight, it's heated, and is the perfect length for doing laps. At the moment, the retreat doesn't offer the option to deviate from their set meal times and package. However, while we were there, they were building a separate suite to accommodate private dining and massage. This may offer guests more flexibility and privacy if they prefer not to mix with other guests. Finally, the central lounge room at the retreat is a lovely spot to relax in for a few hours while enjoying the view.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fmfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I'm not sure I can put into words what an amazing experience you have staying at Sangoma. The warmest of welcomes, the stunning "rooms" (the furnishings, the views, etc), the eye catching art, the beautiful pool, the staff, the food (my mouth is watering just thinking about it).

Sangoma has to be experienced to be believed. Michael and Zenga have created a magical place and Sam and Zip bring their own magic to your stay.

We stayed in the pool suite which was simply stunning. We also saw the tent suite which would be quite awesome to stay in.

I can honestly say that this is the best place I have ever stayed. Thank you Michael, Zenga, Sam and Zip!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonMissB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Owner at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you kindly for such a wonderful surprise review !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked Sangoma for our 3rd wedding anniversary..
And now we have decided to do it every year..!!
This place is heaven on earth ..from the moment we arrived we felt loved and were so warmly welcomed..
Michael,Zenga,Sam and Zip make you feel like you are part of their family ..
Whilst there's always someone to help and chat if you want..there is extreme privacy and tranquility too..

The massages just add to the whole feeling of wellness..My husband and I stayed in the chief suite..and if you think the pics online look amazing..the real thing is even better!!
Zenga and his team prepared the most exquisite meals..very healthy but soooo yummy!!
And you can tell they are all proud of what they do..and so they should be!

I miss their gorgeous dog Pundha already..

You will feel like you"ve been transported to a magical island..

Spoil yourself!!

We are already planning our next visit..

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rubeena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowen Mountain
19.9 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
20.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
21.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
20.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
20.5 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Sangoma Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Sangoma Retreat

Address: 70 Grandview Lane, Bowen Mountain, New South Wales 2753, Australia (Formerly Sangoma Retreat)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Bowen Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bowen Mountain
Price Range: £642 - £809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spicers Sangoma Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocooned by the natural serenity of the Blue Mountains of New South Wales, a mere hour from Sydney, you'll find Spicers Sangoma Retreat. Aptly named after the Zulu word for healer, Sangoma is a place where you'll discover complete rejuvenation and true reconnection. As an eco-certified retreat, Spicers Sangoma Retreat features sauna facilities, infinity lap pool, open plan lounge and 5 suites that capture the beauty of the natural surrounds, making it an ideal setting for luxurious escapes, romantic getaways, intimate celebrations and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Spicers Sangoma Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing