We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect luxury weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spicers Sangoma Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary at Sangoma Retreat on the weekend and it was an amazing experience. We chose to stay in the tent suite as we enjoy glamping. It was very luxurious and private overlooking the trees. Being able to have a bath and shower practically in the outdoors was very special. Michael and Zenger have created an amazing retreat and take great pride in what they offer. The food is a really important part of the experience and the flavours are amazing. The Hawaiin massage in the new massage tent was really relaxing and added to the total experience. I would recommend Sangoma as a place to celebrate your special occasion or just to have a relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: We loved the tent suite as it's quite unique and it's the most private with views over the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

The suites & resort decor are amazing, African themed with unique artefacts, out of this world. We particularly enjoyed showering and bathing practically in the out doors with uninterrupted views of the blue mountains. With the whole side of the suite opening onto a huge balcony, so awesome and totally relaxing!

We were taken care of by The boys, zip, Matt, zenga & Michael. fabulous service, good fun, worldly and great food & wine.

There isn't a menu to choose from, so expect nice surprises. The breakfasts are too huge for me, as sometimes three courses! But one of the seed, yoghurt, fruit & cacao concoctions was healthy, inventive & delicious.

Definitely a highlight of our honeymoon and would highly recommend.

Thanks loads guys for a stand out fun, relaxing experience xx

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank laurapainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I surprised my parter with a trip to Sangoma Retreat the weekend before Christmas. It was, without a shadow of a doubt, the most fantastic weekend escape we have been on. Indeed, as we were leaving on Sunday afternoon we rebooked ourselves in for February.

A complete escape from city life, Sangoma Retreat was the epitome of tree-change escapes. We enjoyed the ambiance with unique and delicious food, excellent wine and the finest hospitality.

We stayed in the bespoke Stone Suite which was unforgettable. The architecture, finishes and privacy were all first class. To top off a fantastic escape we got engaged while we were there. I could not imagine a more luxurious place to have spent our time.

Thank you Zenga and Michael; and special mentions for the lovely Pundah and Griffin!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband surprised me with a weekend away at Sangoma Retreat.... It was nothing short of delightful!! A beautiful location, comfortable accommodation with all that we needed - nothing was forgotten. All this AND the most amazing food served by our gracious hosts. The massages were the best we have ever had. The weekend was was perfect in every way... just what we needed after a busy year, thank you!

Room Tip: All of the accommodation is special in it's own way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sangoma for a weekend to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Arriving on Friday afternoon we were greeted by Michael (co owner) and Zip, along with Punda their Rhodesian Ridgeback then given a tour of the grounds and our suite (aptly named Pool Suite, one of 5 or 6 totally private, bespoke and luxurious individual guest houses.

Gorgeous four poster bed, glorious bath overlooking the massive balcony and breathtaking views of the lower Blue Mountains and across to the city in the far distance.


Immense attention to detail means that everything has been thought of and the art pieces are both thought provoking and highly individual, collected by owners Michael and Zenga during their extensive worldwide travels.

It's clear Sangoma has been a labour of love for these charming, extremely hospitable owners. The grounds are beautifully landscaped yet retain authenticity and respect for the surroundings. The main living/dining space is both inviting and sophisticated.

Self-taught chef Zenga is totally passionate about his food and the love and care he puts into selecting and presenting the finest fresh, local produce results in delicious fare that would not be put of place in a top restaurant. Inspired by renowned chef and food writer Yotam Ottolenghi the food Zenga cooks is incredibly flavorsome and incorporates complex yet delicious flavours. It is also very healthy!

On our second day I experienced the most sublime Ka Huna (Hawaiian) massage leaving me feeling utterly relaxed. Michael and Zenga had only recently completed construction of the massage tent so we were sone of the first to experience a massage in it. The sound of running water courtesy of the nearby waterfall and pond added to the experience.

Visiting Zenga is a completely sensual experience. All your senses are indulged - leaving you completely relaxed and refreshed. Only an hour out of Sydney makes it a perfect escape for an unforgettable experience!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Illawongtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Loved it. Remote, unique and nurturing. A special place for people who want their senses stimulated in a non traditional way. There's no "vanilla" here. The hosts are brilliant and add that extra special magic to a weekend of pure relaxation. Food is colourful and creative, massage is one like you have never had before. We did a hike and grabbed a coffee at the closest village, but you don't really need to leave this bush paradise. Your soul will thank you. Worth every cent.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Duckeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed in the Chief's Suite for 4 nights to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary and to recover after an overseas trip. The villas are much closer together than we expected, but we had no problems with noise from other guests. The retreat is in a very peaceful setting, where the only noise is from nature, we slept very well. Not all the windows have blinds, so if the early morning light bothers you, I'd recommend bringing a sleep mask. We really enjoyed the food, which was very healthy. However, if you cannot eat very spicy food, this may not be the place for you. Our suite was very comfortable, and beautifully furnished. We did have an issue with an unpleasant smell coming from the plumbing, and couldn't open the toilet window to air the room. The can of WD40 we were given to unstick the window didn't help. The retreat swimming pool is a highlight, it's heated, and is the perfect length for doing laps. At the moment, the retreat doesn't offer the option to deviate from their set meal times and package. However, while we were there, they were building a separate suite to accommodate private dining and massage. This may offer guests more flexibility and privacy if they prefer not to mix with other guests. Finally, the central lounge room at the retreat is a lovely spot to relax in for a few hours while enjoying the view.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fmfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowen Mountain
20.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
1,011 reviews
19.9 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
21.3 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
21.2 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
10.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hawkesbury Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Sangoma Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Sangoma Retreat

Address: 70 Grandview Lane, Bowen Mountain, New South Wales 2753, Australia (Formerly Sangoma Retreat)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Bowen Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bowen Mountain
Price Range: £651 - £786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spicers Sangoma Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocooned by the natural serenity of the Blue Mountains of New South Wales, a mere hour from Sydney, you'll find Spicers Sangoma Retreat. Aptly named after the Zulu word for healer, Sangoma is a place where you'll discover complete rejuvenation and true reconnection. As an eco-certified retreat, Spicers Sangoma Retreat features sauna facilities, infinity lap pool, open plan lounge and 5 suites that capture the beauty of the natural surrounds, making it an ideal setting for luxurious escapes, romantic getaways, intimate celebrations and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Spicers Sangoma Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing