We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spicers Sangoma Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

No surprises that this retreat is a Trip Advisor award winner.

The hosts were absolutely fantastic, the food wonderful (great idea to have a brunch on departure date rather than breakfast), the retreat designed for privacy yet with great views (especially from the pool suite), the location- amazing and a pleasant one hour drive from the lower North Shore of Sydney.the interior design rather eclectic but you really notice the artwork. The only downside being no underfloor heating in the suite

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOMISydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Owner at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi Guys,
Thanks so much for writing the review. We really appreciate it and we know how busy everyone is these days.
Cheers,
Michael and Zenga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

The weekend went a beautiful pace. Michael and Zenga have created Sangoma with passion; passion for beauty, passion for food and passion for each other. Thought has gone into everything from the architecture, aspect of the sun, the breezes, the gardens and the art and music. The separate suites combine total privacy with openness, bush views and nature.
Three highlights for us from many include exquisite food allowing mindful eating, soaking in a bath with a glass of wine, listening to the bellbirds and the timelessness of the weekend. Thanks to Michael, Zenga, Sam and Zip for a very special time.
Cally and Justin

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cally w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Owner at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks Guys,
We really appreciate your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Regards,
Michael and Zenga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Forget about the busy streets, dogging traffic and pollution of the city, escape to Bowen Mountain leaving your hectic life behind embracing the crisp mountain air, the charm tranquil elegance of Sangoma Retreat where you will be captivated by their creativity, architecture, humour, and exceptional service while enjoying an unforgettable culinary experience from the Master Cheif himself Zenga with his dedicated front of house partner Michael ensuring our stay was first class from the moment we arrived till our hesitant departure.
We celebrated our 23rd wedding anniversary in none other in our opinion the most romantic, seductive, secluded accommodation "Tent Suite" we renamed it "Sex on stilts" with an open outdoor sitting area, where you can grab your favourite book & wine taking in the ambiance of the slow combustion fire with sounds of the natural bush wildlife to set the mood for a fantastic weekend of pure relaxation and indulgence.
Without a doubt the most exciting part of our weekend stay was the surprise our taste buds would endure at breakfast, dinner & brunch it was creatively prepared with passion & respect for fine quality fresh produce with an element of class connecting with different regions & characteristics of simple yet sophisticated enjoyable food leaving a lasting impression.
Thank you boys, we love you all Zip, Zenga, Micheal, assistant chief (forgotten your name sorry) Punda & kitty? See you in the very near future, thanks for our unique & satisfying memories
Frank & Fran xxx

Room Tip: If you want a taste of 5 star camping with a hot tub that sits on the edge of a cliff falling 90 met...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frantasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Owner at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much guys ,you were a total pleasure to host ,your enthusiasm ,cariama and knowledge were an inspiration to us all here .Cant wait for your return !Thanks for a great review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I don't think our weekend at Sangoma could have been more perfect. We arrived to the wonderful welcome of Michael and Zip and were shown around our Suite. It was the most amazing place I have every stayed in and I would have been happy to live there for the rest of my life. The weather was perfect, the hospitality unbeatable and the food divine. We loved the fact that there was no menu, Zenga clearly loves to create amazing meals and the culinary adventure he took us on was a highlight of the weekend. Thank you all for sharing our very special weekend and we hope to come back and visit soon. Catherine and Andy

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Owner at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much guys ,you were a total pleasure to host ,your enthusiasm ,charisma and knowledge were an inspiration to us all here .Cant wait for your return !Thanks for a great review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

When my SO told me she had booked a weekend away at an eco-friendly resort in the Blue Mountains, my thoughts immediately went to roughing it in a draughty log cabin and eating organic lentils out of a can. Fortunately, she has far better taste than that and, little did i know I was about to receive one of the most pleasant shocks of my life, following our arrival at the gates of Sangoma, located in Bowen Mountain, NSW.

Winding up the driveway, no clue was given as to the hedonism that awaited us. Greeted by the co-owner Michael and his effervescent assistant Zip, we immediately felt a welcoming calm as our bags were dispatched to the waiting quad for the quick trip to our suite.

Now this is not your typical resort; Sangoma provides couples an oasis to spend quality time together, a respite from the frenetic pace of modern day life and a time to chill out together. It is designated child free so as to provide grown-ups with an opportunity to reconnect and rejuvenate.

The property consists of the Main house, which commands an uninterrupted view to the City on the horizon some 70 kilometres away, and discreetly positioned around the 10 Ha site are 5 “suites”....however suites is a somewhat understated term – it’s like saying the Louvre is a building with paintings. The suites are also architect designed and impeccably constructed with a stylish blend of Industrial chic, stone and locally hewn timbers melded to achieve an edgy eco-driven harmony. But the decor is much more than just beautifully chosen art in a rustic environment – it also paints the picture of the felds of Africa meeting the Aussie bush, with artifacts from Africa beautifully juxtaposed with iconic Australian pieces by Brett Whiteley, et al.

We stayed in the Chief’s Suite, a 2 storey statement of design and hedonistic splendour. French champagne awaited us, tempting us briefly from poring over the opulence of our accommodation, utterly stylish and modern in its execution in an evocatively primitive location.
The next surprise was that dinner and breakfast was also included in our package – be still my beating heart!

Zenga, the other co-owner is in charge of the kitchen. When glimpsed across the pass, he bears an uncanny resemblance to Heston Blumenthal - an omen re the food perhaps? The dining arrangements are not unlike Tetsuya’s where there is no menu, instead a set 3 course breakfast and dinner menu based around locally sourced produce. The food is cross between modern middle east Ottolenghi flavours meets the sub continent. Spicy, creative, engaging, noisy and cheeky......Zenga makes worshiping at his temple of culinary delights almost a religious experience.

But if one looks a little deeper, Sangoma is more than just a stylish edifice; it’s also a romantic tale of two particularly talented individuals who have pooled their skills, love, hopes and dreams to create what I believe is the ultimate weekend getaway.

And the dichotomy for me is they are also more than happy to open their doors to guests; sharing an intimate part of themselves with other like-minded souls....bless you both!

So if your life has been taken hostage by the banal, or if time has stolen your quality of life, then repair to Sangoma – both your soul and soul partner will thank you for it.

Cheers Mary & Brad

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AtomicXR6T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Owner at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Mary and Brad , we were bowled over by your generous beautifully written succinct review , I immediately posted it on both my Facebook pages and payed for it to be sent viral . I wrote you a big thank you under the review and though that it would be seen by more folks that care and know what you are actually talking about . It did not occur to me that you might not be on face book and apologies for that oversight !
Thank you both from the bottom of our hearts !!!!!!
please come back soon !
love the boys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our experience at Sangoma Retreat surpassed all our expectations. We stayed in the Chief Suite with all the modern luxuries you would expect at a 5 star resort. Michael is a perfect host, from welcoming us on arrive to looking after all our needs during our stay. A gourmet feast was prepared for us at meal times by Zenga, who's pride and passion for fresh and healthy food is experienced in every dish you taste at Sangoma. They have a great wine selection which complements the cuisine. I would highly recommend this retreat for a relaxing and intimate weekend away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We were so impressed with Sangoma, we will be returning on a regular basis. Thank you for a fantastic time Zenga & Michael, and we look forward to our next visit (oh yes.. we will stay in the Chief Suite again)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delwinkriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Owner at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much guys ,you were a total pleasure to host ,your enthusiasm ,charisma and knowledge were an inspiration to us all here .Cant wait for your return !Thanks for a great review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My wife an I spent our babymoon at Sangoma, and it is just as described. Recommended by our good friend Georgina at Wilderness Australia. Our Stay was Monday to Thursday and the fabulous Zip and Sam looked after us. They wouldn't be out of place in a Tarantino film. The perfect mix of warmth, welcome, cheek, story and sarcasm. That is the joy of Sangoma, there is so much going on under the surface, you can choose to be peaceful and have the quietest break of you life or if you like, or you can pick the brains and wit of these boys or of Michael and Zenga (whomever is hosting you at the time) and be thoroughly entertained.
Our only concern in going was not having a menu. You don't need a menu. The food is amazing (thank you Sam) and not having a choice is liberating. Get amoungst it. Thank you Sam and Zip for hosting the perfect peaceful party.
Much love Andrew & Jules

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wazzanix99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sang0ma, Owner at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

thank you from the bottom of our hearts . We are proud of our staff and are so pleased to hear you enjoyed their service to you ! thank you! Zenga and Michael !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowen Mountain
19.9 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
20.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
954 reviews
21.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
20.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
588 reviews
20.5 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Sangoma Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Sangoma Retreat

Address: 70 Grandview Lane, Bowen Mountain, New South Wales 2753, Australia (Formerly Sangoma Retreat)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Bowen Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bowen Mountain
Price Range: £683 - £832 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spicers Sangoma Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocooned by the natural serenity of the Blue Mountains of New South Wales, a mere hour from Sydney, you'll find Spicers Sangoma Retreat. Aptly named after the Zulu word for healer, Sangoma is a place where you'll discover complete rejuvenation and true reconnection. As an eco-certified retreat, Spicers Sangoma Retreat features sauna facilities, infinity lap pool, open plan lounge and 5 suites that capture the beauty of the natural surrounds, making it an ideal setting for luxurious escapes, romantic getaways, intimate celebrations and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Spicers Sangoma Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing